We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Witney, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
ShirleyP5...
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What fantastic accommodation and what an excellent host/owner.
Firstly, the accommodation. In a beautiful village location, it was well appointed, spotlessly clean, loads of space and very well equipped. The welcome pack was a lovely touch.
Peter couldn't have been any more helpful. He had very promptly answered enquiries before our arrival and he gave a thorough overview of the accommodation and when we first got there. He also gave us some really good tips on local places to eat and visit, which is always a great bonus when you are visiting a new area.
We were a party of 5- 4 adults and a two year old, who really enjoyed the space in the cottage, with his favourite place being the hearth, where he would lie flat out and watch the TV (fire not in use of course!!!).
Can't recommend highly enough- thank you Peter.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2017
Thank you very much for such a lovely review Shirley. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Peter & Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegandLiz
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent week at Witney”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Witney. The accommodation was comfortable and roomy with separate lounge and large kitchen/dining. Everything was well presented and clean. All mod cons were there and a very generous welcome pack was greatly appreciated. We were welcomed by our friendly host and shown through and how everything worked. Peter was available for any questions but did not intrude on our privacy. The area is very quiet and close to all the tourist places we wanted to visit. A must to consider if visiting Oxford. You do need a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, spacious and location
Liked least: nothing to complain about
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudineM...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great stay at a lovely cottage”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A beautiful cottage with everything you would require for a self-catering holiday. Peter and Annette, the owners, are lovely people, very warm and kind. Their own house is just beside the cottage with gardens and paddocks that kids especially would love. Peter is a very friendly man and invited our kids to see the animals he kept - chickens, guineas pigs, tortoises & doves. The kids had a joyful time and so did we.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 2 bathrooms and a tumble dryer
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mervyn T
1 review
“Fantastic hosts, accomodations and location!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed with Peter and Annette for 10 days in July 2015 to attend our son's Oxford graduation and tour the area. Surprised and pleased to arrive to a starter breakfast basket of fresh eggs, milk, bread and jam. Location was ideal for travel to London via train from closeby Hanborough station. Hanborough (4 miles distance) also has food shops and great "Off the Hook" fish & chip shop. Peter shared with us tips on alternative route into Oxford which was quicker with less traffic. Home has all amenities we wanted- washer and dryer, dishwasher and full kitchen facilities, TV and wifi.Close to Bleinheim Palace, Whitney and Oxford. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M
1 review
“Great family friendly cottage”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights in October and we couldn't have been happier. It is a lovely cottage that is fully equipped with everything you could need. It even has a selection of toddler plates/cutlery, toys and DVDs, Peter was extremely welcoming and even showed our 16 month old round his garden and how to collect eggs from his hens. The welcome package was a lovely touch and the eggs were gorgeous. A great base to explore the Cotswolds and Oxford from.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff D
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“High Quality, Friendly, Well located”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Owners arranged for us to be met by a family member on our arrival and shown the cottage (They were away on our arrival). A welcome pack of essential food items was supplied. The cottage is spacious, clean, with all the facilities you require. We had a very enjoyable week, meeting the Owners on their return.

I would recommend this cottage to anybody, and will most likely return myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: friendliness of the Owners
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colgo59
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The holiday was super the barn its self was so homely and welcoming we have both said that we would love to go back one day. The host was very helpful and friendly and the welcome basket was a really nice touch.

Once again thank you for letting us stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming feel
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing