We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of The Fleece

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fleece
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Some friends and I went for dinner at The Fleece not knowing quite what to expect. We are all very particular, critical diners, so you can imagine our joy when our evening turned out to be rated excellent by us all. The atmosphere was 'buzzing' and the young staff were incredibly helpful and cheerful. It became apparent that they worked closely with the chefs as they knew about various cuts of meat and what ingredients were used in other dishes. When we paid and added a well deserved tip we were informed that all gratuities were shared with the kitchen staff, which was good to know as the food was superb. The menu was imaginative with great combinations and it was extremely well prepared and cooked as well as being nicely presented. The cost of the meal and wine reflected the high standard and I can't wait to return for another culinary experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 409 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were attracted to this hotel because of the "in the best 20 pubs in England" advertising. (Phoney Baloney)

We stayed here for 3 nights and our recommendation is that you "DONT BOOK".

I'll now provide some details why, they are not complete because it would take too long to read.

When we arrived we were allocated room 4. We requested a change and were allocated room 9. The bed wasn't made, we went downstairs and reported his, the manageress assured us it was and we didn't know how the beds were prepared. We persisted that we wanted some sheets, got two single sheets (no double sheets available)and we then made up the double bed with the single sheets. The next morning the manageress apologised and said she had been
informed that ours was the only room that hadn't been made up the day before.

We reported that the fan in our bathroom didn't work. The bathroom doesn't have any windows and therefore without the fan the smells from the toilet and the steam from the shower has only one place to go, into the bedroom. The manageress advised us that we didn't know how to turn the fan on. The next morning when the housemaid checked it out it was established that the fan was broken and needed to be repaired. It was still broken when we checked out.

There is no bar fridge in the room and no safe. The room has one sash window that can be opened and looks out onto a small portion of the rooftop. The window closes under its own weight so you have to have something to prop it up. We didn't. There is no soap holder in the shower so hold on to the soap tightly.

The night we arrived we had the "AMAZING" roast, that's how it's described on the blackboard menu. We are seasoned travellers and rate it probably the worst roast we'd ever had, anyway, for the record, 1 out of 10. I could describe the details but I'd prefer to forget it.

The breakfast ingredients were very good. However, my wife ordered soft poached eggs and they were hard, tried again the next morning, same again and then gave up. I had the same battle with trying to get a hot coffee instead of luke warm coffee, and failed. All complemented with unfriendly service (except for the housekeeper who is and was the friendliest staff member)

This is an average English pub with excellent reviews.We can't work out why, I'll resist being cynical.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelbalaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had booked a table for the early bird early evening menu, to be certain of a table I called in at lunchtime to book, I was told this would not be needed as there would be tables to spare. We arrived at 6pm and were shown to a table and given the menu but it was not the special menu. we challenged the staff about this and they said their supplier had let them down so the menu we had booked for was not available. They did give us both a drink on the house to compensate but this was not what we were looking for. An hour or so later when we past the Fleece the sign was still outside advertising the the menu they were unable to provide. This is not the first time we have been let down by the Fleece and whereby the food if you are lucky enough to get it is very good the structure and the running of a restaurant needs to be looked at. Would I try again? I don't think so, generally the food is very good but quite expensive and the noise from the bar is not pleasant if you are out for a quiet dinner

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PapaFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Sunny Sunday, lovely pub, lovely location, fab food and great staff. Although it was very was busy, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The Sunday roasts were delicious, worth every penny. Beautifully-cooked meat and scrumptious Yorkshire puds and roasties! Plenty of veggies too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephbWitney_Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Down for a wedding, so spent 2 nights here and ate on the first night. No problems. Staff really friendly, especially Claire :-) ate the liver, which was awesome. Also great place to sit on the green and have a cold beer. Loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very pleasant gastro pub on the green in central Whitney . Live music ( very good ) and BBQ outside when we arrived, table for 6 pre booked which was a good move due to Bank Holiday weekend. Great choice of different dishes though the majority went for the Sunday roasts which were superb, also plenty of extra gravy and veg offered. As it was so busy we had a long wait for our food - this was quickly sorted by the most helpful staff who offer impeccable service from arriving to leaving. Would recommend a meal here no problem

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank martin1967ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

End up in witney after walking out of Eynsham Hall Hotel (see other review). Ended up staying a few doors down from the Fleece at The Winey Hotel, which was expensive and dirty. Stepping out of the Witney hotel we saw a large pink pig staue outside the door of the Fleece (now figure that one out) so we approached.

A small perfectly formed contemporary gastro pub in ites tenth year by all accounts. Well the welcome could not have been warmer and the food delicious and Hana our waitress was gorgeous. Attractive yes, but helpful, patient and interesting......shes a keeper, give her a raise.

I was gutted top doscover they did rooms and they looke dso much nicer than the Witney Hotel (don't stay there stay here). They have a Free Green Room seating 30 for events too.

If ever in the area and its likely deffo staying and I hope Hana is serving!

Room Tip: Did not stay in rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank frostymij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
0.6 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
888 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,395 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blue Boar Hotel
The Blue Boar Hotel
#6 of 7 in Witney
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,880 reviews
7.1 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,687 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Court Hotel
Old Court Hotel
#7 of 7 in Witney
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece

Address: 11 Church Green, Witney OX28 4AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range: $83 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Fleece 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Fleece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece Hotel Witney
Fleece Hotel Witney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing