We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay...can't wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Blue Boar Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay...can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Me and my sister booked a twin room here for 2 nights on a Sunday/Monday night in October. First impressions were great and didn't disappoint for the entire stay. The guy who checked us in took us to our room only to find that housekeeping hadn't set the room as a twin, so he gave us another room for free! That room was amazing, huge oak beams in the vaulted ceiling. The rooms were fantastic, modern with a traditional twist, very comfy! The bar and restaurant were also great, lovely space and very friendly, food was really nice, so nice we ate there on both nights! In the bar area there were lovely large leather sofas in front of a open fireplace, ideal to work our way through the cocktail list!!!! We loved it here and will definitely plan to go back again. Fully recommend a visit here to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muggs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    87
    36
    32
    21
See reviews for
40
95
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thanet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed just one night in the middle of a trip through several counties during September 2013.
Our room was pleasant and well appointed, it was at the back of the hotel so not overlooking the busy main road at the front. Biggest drawback was no onsite parking. We were advised to park in Waitrose carpark which was five minutes walk away, unfortunately due to the very wet and rainy evening my husband did not notice that the area he parked in was for disabled badge holders...so we were faced with a fine unfortunately, the bays were not individually marked so easy to miss that it was for disabled badge holders.
We ate in the restaurant at Blue Boar. The food was good and enjoyable, breakfast was the same.
Nice hotel, excellent location...but watch out for parking restrictions !!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our room was quite clean and nice but the "triple" we requested was a double bed and a fold-out couch...not quite what we were expecting. There's no A/C, and we were there on one of the hottest days of the summer. The had one fan in the room but it wasn't very powerful. We had to sleep with the windows open in the hopes of catching a breeze, so we also had to deal with all of the pub/bar goings-on as it was a Saturday night. I'm sure it's quite nice on a weeknight in October, though. Didn't get a chance to try the included breakfast as we were running late the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I had a breakfast meeting here - fairly simple, pain aux chocolat and espresso.
Both were very good and the value was outstanding.
The seating is comfortable and the staff are friendly and unobtrusive.
Great place to drop in for a coffee or a snack.

Room Tip: no idea, didn't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were going to a party in nearby Ramsden and it was coincidentally my husbands birthday, so I booked back in August thinking it would be quite special. Well you would think that if you went by the website...... I can honestly say that this was by far the worst value for money I have ever had. For £150 I got a small room. no towels, no curtains, no soft furnishings at all - absolutely nothing like the website, I have stayed in better student accommodation.

All this I may have accepted at a pinch but the room was on the ground floor bang next to a recycling bin for glass, 'Overlooking' would be a generous description - more accurately would be to say it was the room was practically part of your not so lovely beer garden, strewn with empty and not so empty glasses and plates, containing lots of noisy tipsy people leaning on and smoking outside my window - which opened just far enough to corral the smoke in but not let it out. The proximity to those in the ‘beer garden’ is so that you can smell customers perfume and hear all their conversation – good if you’re in MI5 spying on them, crap if you want any kind of privacy.

How you can market this hotel as anything other than a very below par motel type place, is beyond the understanding of any sane person. If this is truly the result of a luxurious refurbishment then you have been utterly diddled, and it would only reflect Cotswolds or Oxford if you had lost all of your senses. Absolutely beyond awful. I did not stay – I called around for an hour until I found a far better room for half the money on a little guesthouse around the corner - recommended to another hotelier who said I wasn't the first caller from The Blue Boar looking for to move.

I feel rather uncomfortable writing this, but I cannot imagine a situation where anyone in their right mind would stay at this hotel for any kind of pleasure, it may be functional as some sort of stopover if working in the area, provided you aren’t on the ground floor – but is so far removed from what it’s marketed at and the price point it’s set at that I imagine the majority of people have an issue with it. Your manager, offered me some money off the room but I’m afraid even if he offered it for free I wouldn’t stay at The Blue Boar. I travel substantially mainly for work, and I have never left a hotel because it was so under par, but was galvanised into it by Room 17 at The Blue Boar.

I highly recommend the Corncroft Guest House, in Witney. Beautiful 4 poster bed, beautiful large warren like house, fantastic host and facilities

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DakarSoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Witney hotels

Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed Saturday night and expected some noise given that Witney is a busy town on a weekend. What made things much worse is that the hotel appears to care little for the comfort of their guests and is more geared to keeping the bar takings ticking over. Our room was un-occupiable before midnight because it sat over the rear bar (not even the main bar) and the music was SO loud that it was actually unpleasant to sit and wait for it to end. In the night and even with the windows closed, the air-conditioning units on the flat roof below were so loud that they were very audible in the room as they went through their cooling cycles. As well as the noise you can also feel a low rumble of vibration throughout the night from the same aircon units. The final gripe is that the guest corridor is not secure from bar customers; indeed the wcs are on the same corridor so noise outside the room door is also an issue. This establishment needs to work out if it wants to be a hotel or a nightclub. It's currently failing in the former.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room! There are no such rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedsEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well situated, clean and the decor is great. But! For £100 a night, you would expect a good nights sleep, hard sprung mattress, a green fire exit light on all the time in the room, no air con (for £100 a night?) so you open the window which overlooks a noisy and smokey beer courtyard.....and breakfast-overcooked poached eggs (two days in a row) resulting in poor egg benedict....it's a shame

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liamkavanagh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
0.7 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
820 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fleece
The Fleece
#5 of 7 in Witney
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,756 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Court Hotel
Old Court Hotel
#7 of 7 in Witney
213 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Boar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Boar Hotel

Property: The Blue Boar Hotel
Address: 28 Market Square, Witney OX28 6BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Boar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Boar in Witney is a stylish restaurant, bar and rooms, combining historic character with modern comfort and design. Open all day every day for food and drink, the Blue Boar is at the heart of the town, providing the ideal place to eat, drink, and relax. Featuring a modern Mediterranean-inspired restaurant menu, an extensive range of drinks, wines, local real ales and cocktails, as well as a cafe area overlooking the courtyard, the Blue Boar also offers complimentary wi-fi throughout. With 20 luxury en-suite bedrooms, complete with iPod docking stations, flatscreen televisions and designer toiletries, the rooms also feature locally-made Witney blankets. Available for private hire is the Bosworth Suite, an elegant function room ideal for weddings, conferences, business meetings or events, with a completely tailored package to suit individual requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Blue Boar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Boar Witney Hotel Witney
Marlborough Hotel Witney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing