We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
121
107
49
38
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
107
49
38
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork belly scotch egg mini bar high street visiting witney warm night central location breakfast was included lovely room stayed for one night cooked to perfection comfy bed full english a lovely stay both nights main building waitrose
Filter
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 346 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed at the Blue Boar for one night on 24 july. I was allocated room 18 in the annexe (the bathroom is adapted for disabled). The room is 'minimalist' no carpet, no curtain and bare furnishing with an ironing board standing proudly in the corner where a light could be, so nothing to absorb the noise. As it was adapted for disabled it was a challenging shave bent double! The kettle didn't fit under the tap either.
The service for the meal was friendly and the food fine, but then it was time to retire and i was hoping for a good sleep. The area outside was pretty full with guests (quite rightly), enjoying the warm night but the noise just echoed around and stopped around 12.30. That was not too bad except the recyclers turned up at 6.30 and the bins were (yes you guessed) right outside the window. Not the best planning.
The relief manager was very apologetic and I am not one given to complaining but quite frankly for £100 B&B I would rather find a Travelodge! I sensed a staff shortage and the detail was missing in many ways. Nice looking building in the centre of Witney but a fair walk from the recommended parking place. So glad it was only one night. Beware Room 18!

Room tip: Avoid room 18, very noisy and the bin storage is just outside the window
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank white_eagle100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Witney for two nights visiting family. Witney is a small historic town with modern amenities. It was the hottest two days of the summer so far and people sitting out eating and drinking late into the balmy evening gave the town a continental feel. The Blue Boar is as central as you can get, an old building with character that has been renovated and refitted to a high standard. The front bar and lounge is a pleasant meeting and chatting area with soft chairs and the restaurant has an agreeable ambiance. Nevertheless this is a hotel that is likely to please in part and disappoint in part. Our room was adequately sized with a massive 7 foot double bed but furniture was minimalist with no drawer units at all and would have been quite insufficient for storing more than two nights' stay of clothing. Our room overlooked the courtyard where thudding music continued through Saturday night. Our window was not double glazed probably due to listed building status and the shutters did little to reduce the noise.

Breakfast was good but understaffed. The first morning the chef was frequently shouting "service" but meals were not being delivered to the tables promptly. As a consequence my wife had to send her scrambled egg back as it was cold. Toast was also cold. Most hotels these days offer at least a buffet selection of cold items; it's more satisfactory than having to constantly flag down the waiter to call for orange juice or more butter and would be more efficient for this hotel.

As others have commented there are no car parking facilities at all. We parked overnight in the Waitrose car park but this is by no means adjacent and with today's over zealous private car park management companies, overstaying the 3 hour maximum might be risky. Witney is something of a 3G black spot and the hotel provides no wireless Internet in the rooms, an astonishing oversight.

Overall the Blue Boar provides a central location and some nice public areas but there is always going to be a risk of unacceptable noise. Value for money is always a relative thing - the Oxford area is expensive - but by comparison, if you shop around, you can get a London Hilton for around the same rate and that for me makes the Blue Boar unacceptable value for the standard on offer.

Room tip: Enquire about any special functions on and ask for a room away from the noise
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the blue Boar on Sat 13th July 2013. We had a wedding so checked in at 2pm quickly and did not return until 11pm. We had a room overlooking their bar/courtyard which was full with drinkers as it was a lovely summers evening. We found that the noise was unbearable even with our window closed and ear plugs in. This room should have had air con if the window needed to be closed due to the proximity of people in the court yard...seating was 1 meter from our bedroom window! Consequently a very poor and hot nights sleep and terrible value for money. At 730am I woke after 4 solid noisless hours sleep and entered the reception (public area) to check my work emails. I was rudely told that they were not open on Sundays until 8am. In our bathroom there only a few sheets of loo paper so ran out early hrs of the morning. No spare roll to be found. They clearly run this hotel on a budget. Beds and pillows very cheap and hard...not sure what the pillows were made from,. On the only positive note, the young girl who checked us in was delightful and the breakfast was excellent However if you want a good nights uninterrupted nights sleep do not even contemplate staying at this hotel. Sadly we booked late and had little option, unless of course you can sleep in the middle of a very noisy pub.
We would never contemplate returning or recommending the Blue Boar to any one.

Room tip: Do not get a room over looking the bar/court yard
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank person88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Three of us stayed here for one night in three rooms. The hotel has been well styled and there are nice touches in the bedrooms, like local blankets (did not need these!) and a good mini bar. The service was low key, but friendly. Food is great - the dinner was fantastic and the choice of well cooked but straightforward food was very popular with a teenager. The breakfasts are also good although each item is priced individually rather than on a 'help yourself' or all-in basis. An ordering of granola and yoghurt came with a small bowl of yoghurt, but enough granola for about 4 people! Having said that, it was all delicious and I highly recommend this place if you need to stay in Witney and want comfort, service and a bit of style. It was seriously hot while we were there and the rooms were very hot too. While we appreciate a hotel like this is not going to be air conditioned, some in-room fans would have been good.

Parking is a bit odd as when this was a different hotel, there was a car park and the sat nav takes to you to a back area that is now an outside bar/restaurant. You have to park in the public carpark a five minute walk away.

Room tip: If it is hot, have a room at the front. If not, ask for one at the back as they are quieter (unless it is the weekend and you are above the outside bar area)
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edinegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The rooms were minimalist, beds comfy ....clean ..
tip book your evening meal reservation on booking we didn't and we couldn't be accommodated . Although we could eat in beer garden which was fine.
Staff helpful and polite....
Food was beautiful , breakfast equally so .
We stayed in the disabled wet room ... Only gripe was alarm was on the wall behind pillows so didn't see it till next morning , so if you fall no way of reaching to alert people.... Maybe a pull cord as in bathroom.
Very pleasant stay would return....
It says free parking available but this is not at hotel it's a five min walk way in civic car park that is three hour only sty next to waitrose.... Not great if mobility is an issue....

Date of stay: June 2013
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank norkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews