We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blue Boar Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

went here as a large group for a mates birthday meal. everybody was served quickly with drinks and taking orders... food took longer then expected to be served. prices were ok. staff were very friendly. indoors and outdoors very nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    83
    35
    32
    21
See reviews for
39
91
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Boar, our room was small but very nicely presented and very clean. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff polite, friendly and helpful.
The only downside is the lack of car park! Parking in Witney is quite complicated...free, but complicated!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thespy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2017
We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel in Witney from the 7 to 8 July. On arrival we were unsure where to park, so my husband parked outside temporarily while I went in. Immediately a member of staff came outside and took our luggage inside and explained where we could park without charges. The luggage was in our room waiting for us. Our room was across a courtyard only a few steps away from the main hotel. Room lovely and modern, minimalist. Lovely shower room too. Only comment was the fire doors bang very noisily, but this was no fault of the hotel rather other guests not being quite as considerate as they could be. Breakfast was delicious. We would stay again. The town is lovely and the hotel should be proud of its staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandLDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2017
We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 for a two night break.

Firstly, the hotel is on Market Square which is in the heart of Witney, so the location is great.

The rooms are reasonably spacious with a comfortable bed. The hotel appears to have been refurbished within the last few years and completed to a high standard. The in-room facilities include an alarm clock with iPhone/iPod dock, flat screen TV with most of the UK freeview stations, free wi-fi, kettle/drinks (no mini bar).

The bathroom was also completed to a high standard with a rainfall effect shower (no detachable showerhead though). The main criticism of the bathroom was the noisy extractor fan.

The hotel also has room service which we used for breakfast (included in our price) and it arrived on time with good food.

The only real complaints we'd have was that the room was incredibly hot and the room could be noisy. The outside temperature was only about 16 degrees and the heating was off, but the room was uncomfortably warm. There is no air conditioning in the room and despite having the window open the room barely cooled down. The other disadvantage of having the window open was that it opens onto the hotel's outdoor dining section where people can smoke, so you get the noise and the smell.

The room was also noisy in the morning. The hotel did their glass recycling (in the couryard which I guess most rooms can hear) at around 8am-8:30am on a Sunday morning. Also, every door that's opened and every word that's said in the corridor reverbartes into the room.

That being said, these two points didn't take away from a thoroughly enjoyable and comfortable stay and we'd definitely consider staying here again. We paid £100 a night for bed and breakfast.

We also dined at the restaurant which cost £72 including service for two courses and a bottle of wine. The service was excellent and the food well presented in a lively restaurant with a great ambiance. The food itself didn't quite live up to the way it was presented taste-wise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2017
We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Needed somewhere to stay in Witney, and chooses the Blue Boar based on its mostly favourable TA reviews and was not disappointed. Attentive service, clean and well appointed rooms. The bed was comfortable, the shower more than adequate and the place was quiet overnight. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the waiting time reasonable given how busy they were. Didn't eat any other meals there so can't comment on the restaurant generally. Would stay again. Recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PDinham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2017
We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is one of the best places I have stayed in in England! We stayed for one night last week and I wish we could have stayed longer! From the moment we checked in till the moment we left, I have no complaints. The room was spacious, with plenty of storage space. Facilities were good - free wifi, iron and board, hair dryer, TV, i pod docking, full length mirror, alarm clock, lovely bathroom with bath and shower - and huge towels. The bed was 6 feet wide and we both slept really well.

Breakfast was the best breakfast I've had for years! My scrambled egg was cooked to perfection and my bacon lovely and crispy, as I requested. The coffee was wonderful too.

All of the staff, without exception were friendly yet professional. We only ate lunch here, but that was far better than your average pub lunch. My flatbread sarnie was to die for!

There's a lovely courtyard cafe area, with huge parasols and heaters. Our room overlooked this but there was no problem with noise, even with the window open.

This was our first visit, so I can't comment on the alterations, but it was modern, yet full of atmosphere and charm.

I would readily recommend this hotel - but be aware there is no parking and Witney parking regulations are a little confusing to say the least!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KillerQueen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2017
We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just back from 2 nights in The Blue Boar, we were staying in Whitney for a wedding (which was also absolutely wonderful). Our room was really spacious with nice modern gadgets (ipod dock), breakfast was delicious and the staff where very accommodating. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OISite, General Manager at The Blue Boar Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2017
We understand that this is a particularly historic review, but we thought that we would mention that The Blue Boar underwent another refurb which completed in March this year and, amongst other things, included the addition of air-conditioning to all rooms, improvements to the soundproofing and free wi-fi throughout the venue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Witney hotels
0.7 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#3 of 7 in Witney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fleece
The Fleece
#5 of 7 in Witney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.5 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Witney Hotel
3.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Court Hotel
Old Court Hotel
#7 of 7 in Witney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Boar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Boar Hotel

Property: The Blue Boar Hotel
Address: 28 Market Square, Witney OX28 6BH, England (Formerly Marlborough Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blue Boar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Boar in Witney is a stylish restaurant, bar and rooms, combining historic character with modern comfort and design. Open all day every day for food and drink, the Blue Boar is at the heart of the town, providing the ideal place to eat, drink, and relax. Featuring a modern Mediterranean-inspired restaurant menu, an extensive range of drinks, wines, local real ales and cocktails, as well as a cafe area overlooking the courtyard, the Blue Boar also offers complimentary wi-fi throughout. With 20 luxury en-suite bedrooms, complete with iPod docking stations, flatscreen televisions and designer toiletries, the rooms also feature locally-made Witney blankets. Available for private hire is the Bosworth Suite, an elegant function room ideal for weddings, conferences, business meetings or events, with a completely tailored package to suit individual requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Blue Boar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Boar Witney Hotel Witney
Marlborough Hotel Witney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing