We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What I would say is the food was lovely!!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oxford Witney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oxford Witney Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Redditch
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What I would say is the food was lovely!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the 16trh August for 2 nights as a treat for my daughter’s A level results.

We booked through Superbreak for 2 nights Bed, Breakfast & Dinner, 2 rooms , 4 people so obviously paid up front. As it turned out 1 of our guests could not go so there were only 3 of us. When we checked out we only had drinks to pay for as meals had already been paid for in advance so before I paid the bill I asked if there was any chance of having a credit against the account for just the dinners that were not taken by out 4th guest we were told they couldn’t do that as we had paid Superbreak not them but obviously Superbreak paid the hotel!. I was very disappointed with his if we had of know we could have insisted on an extra 3 course meal at each sitting.

Apart from that I have to say we had a nice stay, the hotel was clean, the rooms were nice, there was heating and a fan (which we did use) the bathroom was adequate, the pool was small but nice and relaxing. Our double room was on the back of the hotel which overlooked the allotments which was quite pleasant, our daughter’s twin room was on the front of the hotel so no nice view just the car park.

There was a wedding on the Saturday night so the bar was overrun with wedding guests so we stayed in the restaurant then went to our rooms.

What I would say is the food was lovely!!!!

Room Tip: At the back overlooking the allotments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betsyclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    296
    173
    52
    37
See reviews for
111
336
29
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A big disappointment. This hotel needs someone at the helm who knows what they are doing. Some of the staff were pleasant enough but there was an atmosphere of just not caring. Food in the restaurant wad under par for the price, beds were like wobbly trampolines.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrispy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The staff were helpful, the facilities fine - Brasserie, Bar and Leisure Facilities. Nice atmosphere with good service. Excellent gym / pool / spa / sauna facilities. Clean and good value. Will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Having stayed at the Four Pillars Tortworth Court we knew that we should not expect the same ambiance even though both are rated as 4* but what a disappointment. A modern hotel that needs dressing up. While the room was big enough the interior design is drab and dated. No decent lounge to sit in and have a quiet drink, you share it with any event going on (in this case a wedding reception which meant it was noisy and packed).
The restaurant is advertised as something special but apart from a wall of wine, nothing to write home about. We did not use the spa but it looks much like that in many hotels.
The food was good, no complaints and the staff were all pleasant and very helpful. The hotel itself is a useful place to travel around the area and into Oxford.
Rated as 4* (the spa usually adds a * to the rating) we would only rate it as 2* (without the spa, 3* with the spa). Four Pillars need to improve this hotel but even then Tortworth Court will always outshine it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MovingArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

After reading a few reports on Trip Advisor I was a bit sceptical but all in all this hotel was good.
We booked a long weekend which cost £270 for three nights bed and breakfast. The staff were very helpful, hotel room was a good size and comfy. The leisure centre was free to use and we used the pool every day, a good size pool with Jacuzzi area. Breakfast was a help yourself buffet, one of the best I have had at a hotel, lots of choice on the hot plate as well as cereal and fruit etc. There a four things on the negative side which other people have commented on.
We stayed in room 64 which faced the road, and I can see in the summer with the window open this being quite noisy, the shower was pretty useless not much pressure so with had to bath, and the extractor fan runs on far to long once the lights are turned off and there is no lift so you have to carry your bags up the stairs which could be a problem with some people. But all in all I would definitely use this hotel again

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pete_laws231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Had Sunday lunch there for a family celebration , we took our own cake and had members of our family from 70+ to 4 years .
We were shown our seat and allowed time to settled, service was pleasant and polite , the young waitress had obvious support by a senior member of staff , the drinks were brought promptly , water was brought in their own bottles with the logo on it ( the children liked this)
The starter was self service , soup or salad , the soup was lovely and the salad looked varied and fresh. Plenty of bread rolls of many varieties.
The carvery was lovely , with Beef , Pork and Turkey - would like to have had some crackling but there there didn't appear to be any
The veg was fresh and had a nice bit to it.
Puddings were gorgeous and we mostly went for profiteroles , but some of us had sticky toffee pudding which was yum!
We were given a knife so we could cut our cake , the waitress staff were pleasant and efficient.
We had a lovely time and the food

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

i was to a dinner party and i cannot say how good i felt, good music and last but not least the food was tasty and very well presented showing some hard work and dedicated chefs . TRULY FABULOUS !!!i will come back soon .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellyutr73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
3.5 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
2.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Witney Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
10.5 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
11.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Witney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Witney Hotel

Property: Oxford Witney Hotel
Address: Olney House Ducklington Lane, Witney OX28 4EX, England (Formerly Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Witney Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not accept pets at the hotel as described in hotel policies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Oxford Witney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Witney 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing