We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oxford Witney Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Fleece(Witney)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Swan & Minster Mill(Minster Lovell)
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Macdonald Bear Hotel(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
$143
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Hotel(Charlbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveler rating
254
368
210
75
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
368
210
75
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour pillarssteam roomwowcher dealleisure facilitiesclarins toiletriesleisure clubcourse dinnerswimming pooltrouser pressno liftgood sizepark and rideshort breakpleasant staymain roadsecret escapeslovely hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
728 - 733 of 959 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

From the outside the hotel looks good, and the front bar and reception are welcoming and pleasant. That's pretty much as good as it gets. The rooms were badly fitted - my TV had been fitted on a slant to accommodate the slope of the roof and had very few channels that worked. The flimsy sink and bath were on a pump, so sometimes there was a delay when you turned on the taps, other times nothing happened at all. To get the shower to work I had to turn the bath taps on first to get the pump working, then switch it quickly to the shower. I had to leave the showerhead in the bath as it dripped 24/7.

The gym was tiny and very poorly equipped, the pool was nice however. The internet access just shouldn't have been advertised, it was terrible, not even able to download normal emails.

Breakfast was okay, nice food but on day two I was not offered the menu breakfast or tea/coffee, despite being taken to my table by the waiter (and it was quiet). The evening restaurant wasn't anything special but the prices were extravagant, thankfully there's a Lidl's within walking distance.

For the price it was the worst place I've stayed for a while.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uksupafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Hotel is well situated for the Cotswolds, Oxford and other interesting locations. Stay was on business this time, room was of a good size, only downside was noise from outside air conditioning units early in the morning.
Food was excellent served by very pleasant staff, although the greeting at breakfast was not as warm, but the selection available was first class.

Staff on the whole were very welcoming, and the small conference room was well set out and adequate.

Certainly would return on a pleasure visit

Room Tip: Not sure how noisy front facing rooms would be,or those by the bar, especially in the summer
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

It was a last minute decision having received a promotional email and not having plans for the Bank Holiday weekend it sounded a tempting offer. We stayed at another Four Pillars hotel in Oxford last year and were pleased with the experience so I made the booking and opted for the upgraded room for an extra £25 per night. I didn't read the reviews until after I had booked and when I did I considered cancelling and rang the hotel to find out more. Thankfully we decided to take a chance and were very pleased we did.

Yes you can find fault with the hotel but overall it was fantastic value for money and we had a couple of lovely days in the Cotswolds. The room was extremely spacious and nicely situated on the top floor with views over the fields at the back of the building. Lots of extras including drinks tray and snacks, bath robes, quality toiletries, free wi-fi and a huge bed. The only comment I would make is that the pillows were poor quality and it would have been nice to have had a bed sheet as the quilt proved to be a little too warm. Mattress was old fashion large spring type and although it was quite comfortable, a decent quality mattress topper would have made the world of difference.

3 course evening meals were included in the deal and there was a reasonable selection to choose from, although we thought the wine was a little pricey and not best quality. Also included were the breakfasts which had everything you could have wished for.

The leisure facilities are adequate and I managed to have a refreshing swim, bubble and steam before breakfast each day.

On a final note thank you to all the staff who helped make our stay an enjoyable one

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for the room upgrade, it's worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is ideally situated just off the A40 and was certainly sold out the weekend we were there. It is an ideal basis for exploring both Oxford, The Cotswolds and even, if you are so inclined visiting Bicester Outlet Village. Although I personally think that that is still a rip-off aimed at our overseas visitors.

The Hotel is well kept and very clean although the public rooms are limited in space. The staff try hard to please and just occasionally I found this a bit wearing, although rather this than a take it or leave it attitude, which is certainly not present here.

The food in the restaurant is excellent, being well presented and very reasonably priced. If you are not on BBEM then there are 3 Tariffs depending on the number of courses you opt for. The price of the wine however is certainly OTT a bottle of Wither Hills SB being more than 4x what I pay for it at home; but this seems to becoming the trend these days. It's also somewhat interesting that there is a different bar menu to the restaurant menu, however if you want you can order bar food to be served in the restaurant so why not just include it on the restaurant menu. After all it is coming from the same kitchens. Breakfast is the usual cold + hot buffet which seems to be standard in most English hotels + there is a limited additional breakfast menu if you so wish. Whilst the food was good the buffet did suffer from sometimes being out on the hot plates too long before replenishing. It appeared that a lot was put out (e.g., fried eggs) and then left so that it became 'overdone'. Surely it is not beyond the kitchens to put out less and just keep an eye on it.

We travel for a number of weekends and I am beginning to find that, if you book via a discount Internet provider you seem to be given rooms that seem as far away as possible and up as many flights as possible. Beware this hotel is over 3 floors and has no lift. OK if you just have an overnighter, not so good if you have a full suitcase.

Our room (or should I say attic) was small and under the eaves, if you got up in the night beware banging your head! However, once again, it was very clean as was the bathroom
All in all I would probably stay again as long as it was not in a room under the eaves.

Room Tip: Make sure you know which floor your room is on and avoid rooms 73 to 79 as these are the 'attic' rooms
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozymandias69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Four people traveling together, a couple and two single women, we desired two rooms: one double and one twin-bedded room. Arriving later in the evening, the hotel was sold out of twins but told us they had three doubles left to sell. They offered us a small but appreciated discount to take three rooms. The rooms were comfortably sized by British standards (which are smaller than typical American,) and mine was on the top floor in the back--very quiet. My cousin's room was next to an exit door on the ground floor and noticed the noise at times, but she was otherwise satisfied, as were the couple traveling with us. We ate a tasty meal in the restaurant that night, and the breakfast was typical English and satisfactory, nothing special. There was no lift (elevator) to the second floor, and no AC (which might have been a problem if it had been a warm night.) Would I stay there again? Yes, but not on a hot day nor near a noisy exit door.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews