We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, terrible restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oxford Witney Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice room, terrible restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Paid extra for upgraded room- very nice, free mini bottles of wine and Clarins toiletries. Nice pool and sauna/ steam room.
We normally avoid hotel restaurants, but were feeling tired so took the plunge.
Big mistake - food OK but service terrible, and staff rude and ill- trained.
Lots of pubs and restaurants nearby in town, so avoid hotel meal at all costs!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    308
    176
    53
    38
See reviews for
113
354
29
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I booked the dinner, stay and breakfast as a treat for our wedding anniversary.

The hotel kindly gave us a quiet room away from a wedding party, as requested on my booking form. Room was spotless and quite spacious, with two mini bottles of wine as well as bottled water waiting for us on arrival. There were tea/coffee making facilities in the room although no fridge. The free internet was adequate. Bathroom was nice and clean although the shower pressure was weak, as I think another reviewer may have commented. The bed was comfy with two types of pillow provided - firm and soft.

Witney lake is just a 5 minute walk away, and a beautiful place for a romantic walk or a morning/evening jog. The water was so clear, some people were even swimming there.

We took advantage of the offer's inclusive entry to the leisure club and used the jacuzzi, swimming pool and steam room - all v enjoyable. The gym looked reasonable with new equipment.

Dinner was pleasant although not mind-blowing. The portions were certainly healthy - we could barely manage deserts. Overall a 7.5/10 on the dinner. If booked separately its £25 a head for 3 courses, with several dishes incurring surcharges. A touch on the pricey side given the very average quality.

Breakfast was a feast with a huge range of good quality options available from traditional English, through to Continental, and fruit and yoghurt. Very satisfying!

We drove out into the Cotswolds after checking out. The hotel is well-placed for this.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Witney and would seriously consider returning.

Room Tip: As the hotel also hosts weddings, ask for a quiet room away from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isis109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I got a good deal online for DBB and stayed overnight on Sunday 29/7/2012. Everything about the hotel was superb. A point to note is that there is no lift, however upon asking, an assistant was able to carry my suitcase up the flight of stairs ( and take it back down the next morning). i had booked a twin room , for single occupancy, and was given a double room; it was spacious and very clean. I asked for more milk and this arrived promptly. The evening meal and breakfast were both well presented and delicious!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern
Level Contributor
264 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a BB and evening meal dinner staying on a sunday night. We have stayed here previously and it is a decent hotel, well positioned for Oxford, Witney and the Cotswolds. Our room was clean and tidy although the bed is a double on the smaller side, so if you like your leg and arm room as my wife does, you could be in for a restless night. The shower over the bath lacked any power and so if you have long hair, you may be in their a while! The evening meal was three course and the starter and pudding were both very good, the chicken livers in stilton and a light pastry was very good and a good size portion. I opted for a rib eye steak with hand cut chips (£6.50 supplement) and whilst the steak was nice and tender, the chips were probably the worst I have ever encountered and I just couldn't eat them, from comments we overheard from another dinner, I wasn't the only one unimpressed with the hand cut chips!

Breakfast was however pretty good, with a good choice available and the food and plates were hot. I used the gym, which was perfectly adequate, but did not use the other leisure facilities on this occasion. The bar area is fairly uninspiring, although there is a TV if you wanted to watch some sport and as the weather was nice, we were able to sit outside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pencroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights (Fri/Sat) attending a family wedding 5 miles away. Very well located, at the roundabout off the A40 Witney bypass, yet no noise from the road.
Very charming staff (Paula) who seemed to always be working on reception at all times.
Plenty of car parking space.
The hotel doesn't have any lifts, and we were in one of the 6 or so rooms that were in the roof space on the second floor, so was a bit of a slog upstairs with all of our wedding luggage.
The room itself was very nice, with a comfortable bed. Being in the roof, the bathroom was fantastically illuminated with natural light through the skylight - never any need to switch on the lights. Room is equipped with Air Conditioning, which once you master the symbols on the controls is very effective.
Downside was the main bedroom didn't have much natural light via the dormer window, and with only table lamps, and no light in the ceiling, once you moved away from the window, it was very difficult to read a broadsheet newspaper, eg when lying on the bed.
We didn't use any of the facilities such as gym, and we didn't use the restaurant for dinner, as we were being fed at our wedding venue.
However, we did have breakfast twice in the Brasserie. An excellent buffet-style Full English Breakfast; plenty of choice, plenty of supply, nothing had dried up or run out, and it was all very tasty. Plenty of tables, and not too close together. A good place to choose for a breakfast meeting. But if your table wasn't near the window, because of the lack of overhead lighting, I suspect that without supplementary candles on the table it might be hard to read the text on a dinner menu.
Sorry to go on about lighting, but it it's been a bugbear of mine around the world for decades that I don't always want romantic subdued lighting if it means I can't actually read what I'm trying to read.

Room Tip: Given that there is no Lift, if you're older and/or not very fit, and/or have heavier suitcases...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapple999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here ofr a couple of days visiting the area. the room was a litttle on the small size due to its sloping roof, but this was ofset by the huge bathroom fitted with a v-lux window in the roof which is always a good thing in a bathroom in my view.
the room was fitted with air con as well which i tend to like, large bed, very clean and comfy.
the on site spa and pool was good if a littel small but when i used it i was the only one there so not a problem.
I had an evening meal one day which was very good, the menu is a little limited but there should be something for everyone.
The breaksfasts were very good, excellent quality and well worth the extra few pounds.
Witney is only a £4 taxi ride away, and this seemed to have plenty of resturants and bars if you fancied it.

the staff were all very freindly and helpful which only added to the pleasure of the stay

Room Tip: Im not sure all the rooms had air con as i overheard some people talking about having hot rooms etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magoodliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked a Sunday night last minute to have a relaxing evening in a good location for work Monday morning. The room was great, bathroom,huge and shower lovely! Used the gym which is small but fine for a hotel, then sauna, steam room, swimming pool, all really nice! However, we didn't want to spend £50-60 plus for dinner so ate in the bar. We have stayed in Oxford Four Pillars before and the bar here was poor in comparison. The 'bar food' was overpriced and not very interesting! No atmosphere and felt very cheap, could have had a better experience in Wetherspoons for half the price! Really let the hotel down.

Room Tip: Top floor room has vaulted roof, bit dangerous if you walk around in the dark!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
3.5 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Witney Hotel
2.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
11.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
10.5 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Witney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Witney Hotel

Property: Oxford Witney Hotel
Address: Olney House Ducklington Lane, Witney OX28 4EX, England (Formerly Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Witney Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not accept pets at the hotel as described in hotel policies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Witney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Witney 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing