We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to the road and a five minute walk to the Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oxford Witney Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed at the Witney Four Pillars during a conference.The hotel was located great for driving in with ample secure parking spaces.The check in was smooth.The Reception staff was very helpful to take time to find information about local attractions requested. The room was spacious, comfortable.There was plenty of good quality tea and coffee to use.
The restaurant was busy. Breakfast was average but plenty. Lunch and Dinner were good.The staff were rushed because of the number of they had to serve on the night of the conference dinner.My only disappointment was the tea was over brewed even in the UK.
The Witney lake is a five minute walk from the hotel.A nice place to relax.
Try to avoid peak time if you aim to come or return through Oxford .The buses are a 10 minute walk from the hotel if you want to catch one see the city of Spires

Room Tip: Ty the First floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

800 - 806 of 911 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

came to this hotel in early december for a christmas party, the food was very average the turkey was dry the soup wasnt seasoned and tasted of nothing! bought in bread rolls and the table full of so many glasses/decorations barley enough room to move!
the bar servie was terrible only one member of staff serving on the bar in a room of approx 70 people! it was madness had to wait about 15-20 minuets to be served because the bar maid was clearing up a broken glass! then the coke machien broke and was told i had to go to the main bar to collect my coke, seems like the staffing needs some attention definatly on the bar,area, i left dissapionted, shame because its a beautifull hotel, just needs some tlc

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Arrived early, so didn't expect to be able to check in. Arrived to a young man cleaning the reception doors who held the door for us and greeted us, followed by a warm welcome from the lovely receptionist and members of staff greeting us all the way to our room which was a very nice start! The receptionist allowed us to check into our room early which was great! Our room was a good size, nice bed, bathroom, large TV, Tea and coffee making facilities, trouser press, fan and a safe. The hotel has free wi-fi in the rooms and also has lots of TV channels which made a change from the usual 5 channels in most hotels! Did not use the restaurant to eat dinner, however breakfast was great with ample choice from traditional full english, to fresh fruits, yoghurts, cheese, pastries, cerials and toast. Staff in the restaurant also very polite. Swimming pool very nice, not massive but certainly big enough. Steam room and sauna very nice! I think they also have a gym, but i did not see or visit this as i was there to rest hehe! Town centre is in walking distance however reception did not hesitate to book us a taxi directly from the hotel. Lots of nice shops you would usually find such as Next, Debenhams, New Look, Boots, Argos and many many more! Hotel was decorated with christmas decorations and looked lovely in recpetion and the restaurant especially! To wrap this review up this hotel was lovely, with fantastic polite and helpful staff, spotlessly clean throughout the hotel, warm and welcoming and would definatly return!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahAdams89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The hotel was perfect, easy to find and accessible to oxford and the surronding areas. I stay in lots of hotels for business and leisure - this was a wee find. The staff were good efficient and helpful.
The rooms were comfortable and the pool area was small however there was a steam room and sauna

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jschidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We vsited in November booking 4 bedrooms and a dinner for 15 for a family reunion, As a family we range in age from 8 months to 71 and they were most helpful and the service for such a large party in the dining room was really good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 65plusonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Together with a group of friends we "endured" a Christmas Dinner / Disco at Witney Four Pillars last night. What a rip off! The food was 1-Star, tastless, miniscule, reheated and astonishingly awful for what is meant to be a 4-Star Hotel. They cant even boil a kettle to make a decent cup of tea! Drinks at rip-off prices. Designated drivers free non-alchoholic drinks limited to one person per group of 10 people.(most cars carry a max of 5 people). And to finish off? A Christmas Disco that never played a single Christmas track!
Definitely never on my Christmas list ever again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Woxhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had never been to Oxford so this was in a prime location for the park and ride to Oxford and surounding area.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Unfortunately our room was at the front by the bar area, which was not a problem in itself, but there was a function on and most of the people decided to congregate outside which happened to be outside out window. When the noise got too bad a midnight, we complained to the Night Manager who was excellent and moved us immediately. In all fairness we should have been warned when we checked in and the manager was very apologetic about it, but problem resolved instantly.
Overall room was comfortable and value for money. Food good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: DO NOT BOOK ROOM 1 unless you are part of the functions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaSS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
3.5 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,421 reviews
2.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,920 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fleece
The Fleece
#5 of 7 in Witney
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Blue Boar Hotel
The Blue Boar Hotel
#6 of 7 in Witney
301 reviews
6.6 mi away
Travelodge Burford Cotswolds
11.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Witney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Witney Hotel

Address: Olney House Ducklington Lane, Witney OX28 4EX, England (Formerly Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range: $75 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Witney Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not accept pets at the hotel as described in hotel policies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oxford Witney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Witney 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing