We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, not awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oxford Witney Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Not great, not awful”
Reviewed November 27, 2007

I stayed here on business with a group of colleagues.

The hotel is modern and pretty soulless, on a big roundabout on the outskirts of Witney (a rather charming small town) making a car essential.

Having said that I was pleasantly surprised by how quiet my room was - ask for one at the back overlooking the allotments if that matters to you too !

The service was very hit and miss - some staff lovely, others simply dreadful !

Food - average. Rooms - average. Overall, it was a very average experience !

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank DW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    316
    181
    55
    41
See reviews for
118
370
29
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yellow belly
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2007

My Daughter and myself stayed at this hotel on Sunday 18th November 2007 and from the arrival to leaving this morning we could not fault the hotel.The two ladies on reception were extremly helpful,the room was very clean,bathroom spotless.The breakfast choce was excellent and hot.All the staff very friendly.I used the swimming pool and steam room ,again very good.We will certainly stay at this hotel again,thank you.

Stayed November 2004
Helpful?
Thank ruthy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2007

We had a couple of nights here - our room was in need of a new mattress but was otherwise clean and comfortable. There was plenty of food available for breakfast but they struggled to keep it all hot. Bar prices were steep!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank totally_impartial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

I stayed here for just one night on business at the end of July. Conveniently located on the outskirts of Witney, my first impressions of the hotel were of a tidy, well kept and professionally run establishment and this was confirmed throughout my stay. Check-in was quick, efficient and friendly. My room was a double; not that big, but clean and well presented with a host of extras, including room service, indicating to me an above average 3-star. Only downside was that on the hot evening with no air conditioning, I had to leave the window open which let in quite a bit of noise from the nearby busy A40 (if I visit again, I shall insist on a room on other side of hotel). The public areas were of a high standard with a very pleasant spacious patio area. The restaurant was good with a wide selection of food and drink at reasonable prices (cheapest wine was £11.95 per bottle). Whilst the service was very friendly, it was a little slow. There was plenty of free parking. The hotel has a leisure centre with swimming pool which I did not use. I would definitely stay here again.


  • Liked — Very clean and well equippped room for a 3-star, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Can be noisy if you are in a room facing the busy A40 road
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Old_Waspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

A large group of us (23 in total) stayed here for a birthday celebration. The hotel was what you would expect of a 3* - good sized clean rooms, restaurant, bar and the usual (hair dryer, iron, digital TV (although limited channels)).

The bar served a good enough selection of sandwiches and larger meals. The restaurant had six or seven main meals with only one vegetarian option (but the staff were happy to prepare this without the parmesan cheese when requested). Breakfast was also good - you could help yourself to cereal, rolls or hot food (bacon, eggs, potatoes etc) with plentiful tea, coffee and toast.

To help work off all the food we used the pool followed by the sauna and steam room. I didn't use the gym although this seemed good enough.

A big positive were the staff who were friendly and attentive throughout the stay.

The only real negative was that there isn't a lift so if you have anyone with mobility problems you will need to request a downstairs room.

The hotel is on the outskirts of Witney but it's only a 10 minute walk away.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — No lift!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SasCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

we have just returned from our trip to the cotswolds and oxford. This hotel is excellent value for money for two night stay we had dinner b and b for £49 per room per night.The food was great value not a massive choice on the menu but most tastes catered for and a good selection of medium priced wines.
T he food presentation was carefully and skilfully put together with slick service from the maitre d who was very good at his job.

The leisure centre is small but clean and efficient we had the pool to ourselves and the jacuzzi was hot and welcoming.
The friendly staff make you feel very welcome and relaxed.
The hotels rooms are all non smoking but there are various places set aside both inside (until july07} and out for those who wished to smoke .
The location of the hotel is ideal for car users who want a 4 star hotel for a 3 star price close to oxford. Witney is lovely market town and plenty to see and do on a saturday morning.

  • Liked — value for money, great food, good leisure facility
  • Disliked — no lift but there was a porter somewhere.noisey disco ask for room well away from it.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tarazac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2006

We stayed for two nights on starting Friday 6th October 2006 in Room 77. When booking we were told we could not book for just one night, yet we knew other guests who had booked for the Saturday night only. There was a slight misunderstanding on arrival when they could not find our booking, but this was resolved quickly and courteously. The room was nice and comfortable with plenty of space. Handy to have your own ironing board! There was plenty of space in the bathroom to put personal items and the only downside was the shower which was adequate but not very powerful. The menu was limited but the food was nice and fresh. The breakfast was plentiful with a good choice of cereals, fruit, rolls, yoghurts and cooked bacon, eggs, etc. In the main the staff were efficient and friendly. The duty manager was very helpful and I noted that the both the duty and restaurant managers kept a watchful eye to ensure guest's needs were quickly attended to. Overall we had a pleasant stay and were very impressed by the warm welcome and friendly staff. We would definately stay again.

  • Liked — Clean and well presented
  • Disliked — Shower could have been more powerful
  • Tips/Secrets — If spending the day in the town the park and ride in Oxford is worth using.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank weekender007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witney
3.5 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,225 reviews
2.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,760 reviews
11.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Blue Boar Hotel
The Blue Boar Hotel
#6 of 7 in Witney
247 reviews
8.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
285 reviews
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Witney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Witney Hotel

Property: Oxford Witney Hotel
Address: Olney House Ducklington Lane, Witney OX28 4EX, England (Formerly Oxford Witney Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Witney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Witney Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do not accept pets at the hotel as described in hotel policies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Oxford Witney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Witney 4 Pillars Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing