We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you'd expect and so much more”
Review of Hawthorn House

Hawthorn House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Witney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawthorn House
Ranked #8 of 15 Witney B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked into Hawthorn House for 2 nights (Fri,Sat) as we were in the area for a wedding and we wanted to be close to the venue at Caswell House.
Hawthorn House is located on the edge of Witney just opposite The Windrush Inn.
Our room, number 3 was in the front of the house. The large room was clean and very tastefully laid out and had a good sized double bed. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we'd ever slept in. The bathroom was a squeeze but had everything you'd want.
Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room overlooking the back garden. The full English, cooked to order, was so tasty. Delicious Bacon, Eggs (from the chickens kept at the bottom of the garden) Old Spot Pork Sausages filled with Black pudding, fresh Mushrooms and Tomatoes. All this with a choice of Cereals, juices and a selection of breads.
Our hostess, Alison was wonderful and most helpful. Booking Taxi's and tables at the local pub if requested.
We would certainly stay at Hawthorn House and pay Witney a visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinJBloomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 50 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

My partner bought me a weekend for my birthday in Witney so we could visit the Wychwood brewery which had been a dream for me for quite a while and met all my expectations of being a great experience. My partner chose for us to stay at Hawthorn house, the proprieter was very inviting and the room we were shown to was amazing with a wonderful view of the garden which they keep beautifully, beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was cereals, fruit and juices and full english or continental cooked to your liking, I don't like fried eggs and it was no problem for the owner to cook them differently to my liking. We came and went as we pleased and welcomed each time we returned. We were advised of interesting places to visit also lots of information on offer of local places to visit. We did make our own entertainment as so much to choose and do and locals were very pleasant to us, who made us feel very comfortable and accepted in their community. The New Inn was fab which we visited a couple of times also lots of other pubs in Witney, which there was lots lol, in fact there were none we wouldn't advise to visit at all. the weatherspoons was great for cheaper food and drink but opposite the weatherspoons was one of the oldest pubs in Witney which was wonderful and the food was home made and very tasty, reasonably priced and filling. If you want to visit a place with history and have a good night of an evening then Witney is the place to go. We will definately visit again without a doubt and definately stay at Hawthorn house where we were looked after and treated with the upmost respect. Thank you and sorry it took so long to review your place but better late than never. Hope to see you again soon. Someone complained in a previous review that the rooms were dated but this is a cottage feel room with a cottage garden, therefore decor was appropriate and we thought it was decorated to a 10/10 score. review by the Kings who visited in July 2012

Room Tip: Front and back of house views are amazing. All rooms are well equipped and clean with amazing bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent our first night of our 2 week holiday in England here. The room was large and very clean and we had an excellent night's sleep.... once I moved the ticking alarm clock into the bathroom. :)

We loved the area, Witney is a lovely place to visit and Hawthorn House is a very easy walk to the town centre which is perfect for having a meal and a couple of pints and walking home.

The breakfast consisted of local produce and was prepared fresh to order and was delicious.

The only thing that put us off was being asked to use the "anti-bac" before helping ourselves to juice, etc. at breakfast. I'm all for cleanliness but it was bit odd.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susy_mc_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison S, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2015

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you all again in the future
Many thanks, ALison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We've just stayed at Hawthorn House for two nights and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, the accomodation was very pleasant, especially the bedroom, spotlessly clean and with great views over the valley. Its in a great location for the very nice town of Witney and Oxford of course. We were met by Alison who was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble, her backroom staff were extremely able and assisted with luggage and directions to the attractions. We visited Blenheim Palace grounds where the Proms Concert was due to play, of course Alison knew a very nice taxi driver who took us there and picked us up afterwards. The gardens were excellent and picturesque with chickens at the bottom where I believe Alison gets her eggs for the breakfasts. All in all excellent value and will definately be staying again in the near future.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We just finished our second time staying at Hawthorn House. We love the town of Witney and the location of this B&B since it's nice to be able to walk into town, and there are many restaurants to choose from. Alison is an excellent hostess - the room is very comfortable, the breakfasts are great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in this comfortable, spotlessly clean and friendly B&B on the outskirts of Witney. Not only was Alison friendly but so were all the members of her family that we came into contact with. She gave us useful information about where to eat and a local hairdresser's (we were going to a wedding). The rooms were spacious with good bathrooms and we liked the view down the long garden. The cooked breakfast was delicious. We had a day's touring in the Cotswolds and would recommend this as a good base for the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gansonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

just had a couple of nights in Witney for a friends birthday. Never been there before and pleasantly surprised at what a nice little town it is, The B&B is on the outskirts but its only a 20 minute walk into the middle.

The owner was lovely and very friendly & helpful. The room was at rear (and by he description that the negative report was the same room). Twin, will a quiet view over the long garden. An old house with some character. Yes, it could be better, but could also be a lot worse. We had a very pleasant stay. The breakfast was terrific with lovely fresh local eggs, bacon, and wonderful old spot & black pudding sausages and an amazing home made lemon,lime & pineapple marmalade.

Would very happily stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faradaywarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Witney hotels
1.2 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
886 reviews
1.8 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,876 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Laurels Guest House
The Laurels Guest House
#9 of 15 in Witney
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Court Hotel
Old Court Hotel
#7 of 7 in Witney
225 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Blue Boar Hotel
The Blue Boar Hotel
#6 of 7 in Witney
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: 79 Burford Road, Witney OX28 6DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Witney
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing