We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal”
Review of The Witney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Witney Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Witney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2012

A comfortable room, an EXCELLENT breakfast, a welcoming, helpful, and exceptionally understanding owner, a beautiful position on the church green. The price was very reasonable too, I thought.

For lunch and dinner there's the Fleece next door (OK beer, good cooking, but quite expensive) or there are lots of other restaurants nearby, such as the Suwanna (good Thai cooking, not expensive) on the other side of the green.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 224 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2012

Enjoyed my stay at the Witney hotel greatly. In contrast to some of the other reviews, I believe it offered all that can be expected of a B&B. The interior was homely and its set in a scenic location right on the church green. A Bus stop to Oxford is close by and takes around 30min. I was there on business but would have been just as satisfied if I were there for pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusl_adm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Stayed October 2011.

Lovely B&B in the centre of Witney with around 8 bedroms.
Pleasant staff, clean and tidy with interesting decor.
Breakfast was fine, a choice of cooked breakfasts with various fruit and cereals, a sign of a good B&B there was no scrimping on baked beans and they weren't a value range.
Well located, pubs and restaurants within a minute from the B&B.
Parking is an issue in Witney - speak to the owners to confirm where is fine and where will get you a fine.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

What a lovely location overlooking the Church Green and a few minutes walk to shops etc Good bus service to Oxford only 2minutes away.We have stayed here before find the bathrooms on the small side but clean.Breakfast quite good not a great deal of choice however the cooked breakfast is done to order and served hot on hot plates so most enjoyable.This is only a very small hotel they dont do evening meals however a lovely pub just next door serves excellent food also many restaurants in walking distance.We have an old friend in the area and visit a couple of times a year and we would return.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front enjoy lovely view over the green however the pub is next door and is very bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barbarasbistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

The Witney Hotel is a brilliant location on the edge of the Church Green and two minutes from the shops. The surrounding countryside is lovely. However, the hotel room was a tad grubby, it felt like it could do with a good clean. Kettle was dirty and not plugged in, which meant grovelling on the floor to find a socket. Light switch was dirty too. Shower room was small, but perfectly clean and the shower itself was good. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were pleasant, though obviously very busy.Maybe I was just unlucky, being a solo traveller and only staying for one night.

Room Tip: Don't let this put you off, it is an excellent location and the Fleece next door has excellent f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude59_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Most of the comment about this hotel is deserved, but we found our host to be quite brusque and not really bothered about us. There is no information in the room regarding points of interest or where to eat etc. The bathroom wasn't spotless and although the breakfast was excellent and the girl serving was extremely pleasant, we felt not particularly welcomed. The parting was equally brusque and peremptory. I don't like to be negative, but I have written this as this hotel was such a different experience from all our other accommodation during our tour of this area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greenman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed here many times. When staying in Witney I'd always choose to stay here as first choice.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbiedoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Witney hotels
0.6 mi away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
886 reviews
3.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,392 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fleece
The Fleece
#5 of 7 in Witney
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Blue Boar Hotel
The Blue Boar Hotel
#6 of 7 in Witney
289 reviews
2.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Court Hotel
Old Court Hotel
#7 of 7 in Witney
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Witney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Witney Hotel

Address: 7 Church Green, Witney OX28 4AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Witney
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Witney
Price Range: $111 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Witney Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guesthouse is a listed 17th century build and sits on historic Church Green near to the town centre. We have the advantage of an exclusive position near the lively centre whilst maintaining a pleasant and peaceful environment. Witney offers the best shopping experience in the region with huge choice and a weekly market. The shops are within easy reach of our Guesthouse plus have free parking. An abundance of restaurants and coffee shops are a short stroll away. The Guesthouse has a shared communal lounge with free coffee and hot chocolate machine facilities as well as fresh homemade cakes for you to help yourself to! Books and games are also provided. A shared fridge is available too. Newspapers are delivered weekly and are free for you to browse. We hope to provide you with comfortable accommodation in a traditional setting with excellent service. Our rooms are well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, colour televisions and en suite shower/bathrooms. Our breakfast boasts locally sourced, fresh ingredients as well as specialty handmade sausages. As of October 2014 we took over The Witney. We are a friendly, family team with 30 years in the hospitality trade and we look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Witney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing