We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a change”
Review of Star Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Star Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wantage
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a change”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have family living within a mile of this pub and so we have known it for some 10 years. Its recent new owners, who are locals too, have given it a great feel and have put in a chef who can really cook. Good straight tasty stuff. I wish them great success and it is nice to be able to walk to a good restaurant. Wine list is good too.
They also cope well with small portions for the under 5's. The change is a jump from a 2 star Star to a 5 star Star!
Have a look at the lovely village church up the road. It is small, quiet and ideal for a bit of meditation. We married off our son there and later christened the grandchidren there too.

Room Tip: Did not stay so cannot help with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    43
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
64
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salies de Bearn
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have visited this village pub before in the past when staying with family in this lovely village. They told me there were new owners and there was a vast improvement. We had lunch and I thought we were in a top class French restaurant. Excellent food, very pleasant service and reasonably priced. Later in the day we went back after watching the village tug of war team lose to another local village team! I noticed that the carpet was no longer on the floor, instead the wooden floor boards had been revealed - far better than the food encrusted floor covering previously seen. Thank you Caron and good luck with your venture. I look forward to the next time.

Room Tip: I imagine it is worth booking a table in advance over the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great food - helpful & cheery staff - great ambiance - fairly priced - Perfect!

I have never bothered to write a revue before but the experience was so good and there are new owners I thought it was the least I could do. Food was delicious, quick to arrive, and presented beautifully. Staff were plentiful, helpful and cheery. Booze was fairly priced and a good choice. Great atmosphere as well! The Star Inn just gets on with providing great food in a great atmosphere at a price that is good value for money.

So if you are looking for pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy good food and not pay through the nose for the experience, I could not recommend it more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBFel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Upon entering Sparsholt it is very clear that you have just entered a village of outstanding beauty which is in good keeping with the local people and visitors of this fine realm. We arrived at the Star Inn as 4 experienced food conoisseurs ordering 4 different 3 course meals. The staff and new owners showed warmth and commitment to high standards, the time leading upto and between courses could not have been timed better, the food arrived at perfect temperatures, tastes, textures and presentation. The pricing is set just right, affordable for those special dinning occasions where confidence in the experience is dependable and rewarding. The setup is ideal for freinds, family or couples looking for something a little special. This will be a great spot whatever the weather, blizzards excluded of course.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LashingLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

What a fantastic way to spend a sunny afternoon in Oxfordshire., food was beautifully presented Nd incredibly reasonable. Well done to the new owners for turning the pub into such a success in such a short period of time since they acquired the pub.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

After many years of neglect, this lovely pub is in good hands at last. The bar area and dining room have been given a makeover, and are now bright, unpretentious and welcoming. We ate here on Friday night and had a properly delicious meal, then came back for brunch on Sunday. A mouthwatering menu was a welcome break from the usual Sunday roast. Fabulous eggs benedict! Perhaps best of all, it is now a great place to come for a pint, read the papers and catch up on a bit of village news.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We ate at The Star on Friday evening, the service was very friendly and helpful, and the food was a real treat, very tasty and excellent value for money. We will definitely return and wouldn't hesitate in recommending The Star as a great place to eat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wantage
5.9 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
336 reviews
8.0 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
1,103 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Queens Arms
The Queens Arms
#1 of 1 in East Garston
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Faringdon
144 reviews
7.6 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
276 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 10 in Wantage
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn

Property: Star Inn
Address: Watery Lane | Sparsholt, Wantage OX12 9PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Vale of White Horse > Wantage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wantage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Star Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Wantage
Star Inn Wantage, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing