We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent good value Chinese”
Review of Peking Dynasty

Peking Dynasty
Ranked #18 of 48 Restaurants in Wantage
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent good value Chinese”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The all you can get chinese buffet from Sunday to Thursday is excellent. For around £15 you get a huge choice of starters, mains and it includes crispy duck pancakes. The food is quick to arrive, always hot and you can eat as much as you like. It inlcudes king prawns, squid and the usual meats all of which are very well cooked. Soft drinks are a little on the pricey side and sometimes I have suffered with the "MDS" head but apart from that very good indeed.

Staff are always very polite and courteous. Highly recommended. also does takeway food and on Friday/Saturdays they have an a la carte menu which is delicious.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bagpusslwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Takeaway service is excellant”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Food arrived quickly, hot and as expected if you'd been sitting down in their restaurant - would recommend

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wantage71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Very yummy food. Nice small restaurant. Nice friendly service.My wife and I randomly selected restaurant and very good quality food indeed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank delroy_mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Variable!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I've given an average rating as I have had mixed experiances from terrible to very good. I have worked out as much that I think the quality of the food is seriously dire during the week (different chef/each as much as you like menu??) and have no complaints when I've had takeaways at the weekend. So hubby and I still eat there but only at the weekends and we have always enjoyed the food that way. Very small restaurant so you don't you have much privacy when you converse. Rather amusing at Valentines with the hand cut paper hearts stuck all over the windows- tacky but sweet and funny.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank buzz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Meal”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Our three boys (7,5,3 yrs) asked if we could go out for a Chinese meal. We hadn't done this before so it was quite a test.
Peking Dynasty was perfect for us. The service was impeccable and totally child-friendly.
The fixed price menu is great but there is a danger of over-ordering. I would advise ordering less than you think you will need, the portions are very generous.
This would be a great place to go with a big crowd as then you could try lots of different dishes.
Everything we had was delicious, maybe it's not exactly how you would eat in the Far East but it was pretty close and our children loved it all.
We are planning to go back with the extended family to try some more dishes. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peking Dynasty also viewed

Wantage, Vale of White Horse
Wantage, Vale of White Horse
 
Wantage, Vale of White Horse
Wantage, Vale of White Horse
 

Been to Peking Dynasty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing