We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bear Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wantage
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Booked two nights with breakfast and stayed in room 31 which is at the rear in the outside apartments. Obviously just refurbished and very nice and very clean with a super shower. A comfortable bed with tea and coffee facilities. Very enjoyable. Breakfast was excellent the full English being superb. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Don't know what the rooms are like in the main building. Those at the rear are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyboyat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    47
    57
    27
    16
See reviews for
41
51
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I'm rather at a loss as to the other reviews here. I always stay at the Bear when I'm business nearby, as it's slap bang in the middle of a nice little town, with plenty of food & drink options on the doorstep. The rooms are clean yet small, staff are friendly, there's a good pub and restaurant, and - very important for me - breakfast is excellent. Ok so the rooms are small and dated compared to an out-of-town chain hotel; but with this much character for £60 a night, who needs that?

Room Tip: I'm not telling you which are the best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMasterGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed for one night for an awards ceremony at Williams F1 HQ. Rooms are pretty standard and although fitted with the usual Tea and coffee and TV etc they aren't all that thrilling but then what would you expect from an old coaching house? Does exactly what it says.

The main reason for a 5 star review is the people - in particular the lady who runs it. She was fantastic and even gave us a lift to the event for no charge in her own car. That wins it for me everytime. Service like that is unheard of these days and she deserves 5 stars. Well done!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PartyKing_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Oh dear, I have never had to write a review. A rather expensive hotel for a rural market town £88 for the night inc, breakfast which i didn't stay for! Although the rather small room was clean, the house keeping was ok. There appeared to be a problem with the local taxi companies which didn't help matters. I think they have 'black listed' the Williams center due to customers refusing to pay expensive fairs.This is not the Hotels responsability, however they hid the fact!!!
they made our taxi booking. Finally I felt the the high cost of the hotel was that I was paying for the 'wedges' to hold the fire doors open!!!!!!!!! Good luck anyone, fires do occur but hopefully not during your stay. And the staff were very poorly presented!

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ieverett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wantage hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

It’s sometimes difficult to score accommodation as it is dependent on what you want from it. We stayed here for one night and wanted good clean accommodation with a nice breakfast and that is exactly what we got so there you have it. I base my 5 stars on that basis. The hotel was conveniently situated in the centre of the town. £65 for a double room with breakfast is in my book good value so we were happy. I would be hard pushed to find fault inside the hotel. The staff were nice, friendly and helpful. We would defiantly use this place again. The front of the hotel looks onto the main square, its nice in daytime but once you have see it, well you have seen it so go for an inward facing room as the market place in the square seems to attract drunks, and groups of young adults practicing foul language later on, but that is hardly the fault of the hotel. The local police were on the case which was good to see and did provide some free entertainment and reassured us greatly that the town was safe.
If the management read these reviews I would suggest they get the rear entrance sorted as the cobbled surface is dangerous, get better lighting there and stop allowing people to obstruct the rear pathway with their cars. All in all a very good stay at a good price.

Room Tip: Inward facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kandaharG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights to attend a wedding nearby, but skipped out for the third night after finding a much better place. The receptionist was okay but not helpful when we needed more hangers and a fan for the warm room. We stayed in the back of the hotel as requested for the quiet - but surprise, the large, raucous kitchen with many open windows was across from our room. When we complained fairly late at night, we were told that the restaurant was closing soon. However the clanging cleanup and loud voices went on till much later. The room was small and passable, with a newish bathroom, but the walls are thin and the sounds from neighboring rooms and the hallway are noticeable. The breakfast was fine, nothing special, although the waitress is a trip!

Room Tip: In the back but not across from the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Although I've never stayed as a guest in this hotel, I have visited the restaurant many times, and have never been disappointed. The restaurant has now been called simply '26' mainly because there is no room 26 in this hotel!
This eatery is open to the general public, not just the guests. The food is quite simply exquisite. Each course has been freshly prepared and presented in such a professional manner. Every time I've visited here, the restaurant has been full, which in my mind speaks for itself.
The main reason for this superb food is quite simply down to the professionalism of the chefs. The staff where equally efficient. It's so nice to pay a reasonable price and enjoy such wonderful food and with a quite varied menu.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeartwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wantage
3.2 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
4.9 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crab & Boar
Crab & Boar
#1 of 2 in Chieveley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
8.3 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#3 of 4 in Faringdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Hotel

Property: Bear Hotel
Address: Market Place, Wantage OX12 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Vale of White Horse > Wantage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wantage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Wantage, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing