We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elaichi Restaurant

Elaichi Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 47 Restaurants in Wantage
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed an extremely nice evening here yesterday the food was excellent the service second to none altogether a great experience. We will coming back soon well done.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stormylady53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    19
    6
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Elaichi Grove”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My family and I have been eating at the Elaichi for many years, the food is always good quality. The restaurant itself has a warm atmosphere, with very friendly and helpful staff members. Food is always at high standards and always has a lot of flavour. The ingredients used always seems fresh and well prepared. The Decor in the restaurant has a modern touch but fits in well with the theme of the food. No other indian restaurant compares to it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bethany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Indian food around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The elachi never fails with the food ordered. We have tried others in the area but nothing compares. Whenever we come to the elachi the food is great and service amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lozzie124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very average Indian restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having been to this restaurant may times when it first opened about 12 yrs.' ago, the food was amazing, my friends who I meet up with every 3 months or so, decided to try this restaurant as had not been in years, BAD Choice. I have to say it was not anywhere as good as it used to be, the atmosphere is not brilliant, cold bland décor, The menu sounds amazing, and some lovely different dishes compared to other Indian restaurant's but It did not live up to its description's, The pre dinner Poppadum's, and spices etc, did not match the standard, I have had in many restaurants. I agree with most other reviewers that every thing tasted the same, very jelly like sauces instead of rich and spicy sauces, and only just warm, plates cold, I was surprised at how bad it was , given that its still going after so many years, we would not go again unless I saw good reviews consistently.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Expensive & bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

On the two occasions that I've eaten here I have had bland, luke warm food at high prices. Meat covered in mildly spiced gravey instead of the anticipated blend of vegetables, sauce, and choice cuts. Presentation was good but that came at a price. £25 for 1 poppodum, 1 main, 1 rice and 2 drinks seemed a bit excessive.
On a positive note, it was clean, friendly and the ambiance was OK.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elaichi Restaurant also viewed

Wantage, Vale of White Horse
Wantage, Vale of White Horse
 
Wantage, Vale of White Horse
Wantage, Vale of White Horse
 

Been to Elaichi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing