We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food, great value.”
Review of The Spread Eagle

The Spread Eagle
Reserve with OpenTable
The Spread Eagle is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 35 Restaurants in Thame
Price range: $6 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Hotel, Restaurant, weddings, wedding parties, wedding reception, christmas parties, meetings, events, afternoon tea, sunday lunches, private dinners, bedrooms, accommodation , Thame, oxfordshire, friendly, professional, dedicated,
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Consistently good food, great value.”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have eaten at the Spread Eagle a number of time as a family and have not been disappointed . The staff are very helpful even with things not related to the food (in this case having to print some paperwork for me, saving me a long trip to an internet bar). My wife has a special diet, and they have always done their best to accommodate her requests.
The food is great and for about £20 a head including drinks and coffee ext. you can't go wrong.
The first time the sunday roast beef was perfect, and the next time I tried their duck which was equally good.
Thame is a very pretty mkt town with a traditional mkt place, well worth a visit and nice to know there is a proper restaurant also. Something lacking in most small towns these days.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allan771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    47
    26
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice atomsphere”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went there on a Tuesday night and it was not at all busy. The service was attentive and the food was good. The whitebait was tasty and the crispy lamb was just that..crispy!
Had a good time overall and the atmosphere was relaxing and unhurried(mid week)
Cost about £30 a head including wine.
Toilet access not the easiest if you are uncertain on your feet, so beware if that is the case.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chelskiBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“gorgeous”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

we went here ad hoc last saturday and had the set menu for £15.50 it was unbeleivable. we had cauliflower and stilton soup it was gorgeous with really crunchie croutons then i had the steak with fries and hollandaise sauce i asked for rare and it was cooked to perfection and the home made hollandaise was rich and creamy sumptious hubby had cod on savoy cabbage and sauce viarge equally scummy judging by the ohss and arrs and i had the coconut pannacotta with mango salsa asnd hubby had the brie grapes chutney it was all served as the a la carte is and it was fantastic value for money will be going here alot the staff are really lovely and so helpful a really great dinning experiance

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacbrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The restaurant was of a standard that one would expect of a fast food chain. We only had a small snack of the light lunch menu. We had to wait 45 mins for the food whilst only two other tables in the restaurant. The food arrived cold, the sandwiches were on the wrong type of bread, the soup was the wrong type (as they ran out but didn't advise- just served) and the portion sizes were very small and mini burgers tasteless.

I would advise you not to eat here but go and find a decent restaurant where the staff actually care!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good service under pressure”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Went for lunch during the Thame Food Festival on Saturday. It was amazingly busy - they were having to turn people away. I thought the service would suffer but no; absolutely spot on even though they were obviously under pressure. Love white tablecloths and silver service. Bread and olives to share was delicious. Had the crab linguine with chilli and ginger. It was OK but I could barely taste any chilli or ginger. At £10 it was a tad on the expensive side but worth it for the marvelous service and lovely decor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MazdaGirlBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spread Eagle also viewed

Thame, Oxfordshire
Thame, Oxfordshire
 
Thame, Oxfordshire
Thame, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Spread Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing