We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we were looking for.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Old Lane Cottage

The spacious and light master bedroom with views to open fields
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The spacious and light master bedroom with views to open fields
approaching the annexe down the long gravel drive. Parking for guests in front of annexe views of the fields from the bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
The spacious and light master bedroom with views to open fields
approaching the annexe down the long gravel drive. Parking for guests in front of annexe
views of the fields from the bedroom
the lounge/ diner
the spacious and light double bedroom
modern, quality bathroom
over 1 acre of gardens
an English country Garden
The main house in the Snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Thame, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ray Y
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Just what we were looking for.”
Reviewed October 16, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We booked Old Lane Cottage, because of the location, and we liked the look of the property from the photographs posted on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed .
Right from our arrival Jonathan made us feel very welcome.
Old Lane Cottage is a warm and very comfortable base to explore the area, and is decorated to a high standard, and is also fully equipped, and as expected everything works as it should. It is also very clean and well presented
I suppose the real question is would we stay at this property again if returning to the area ? The answer is a definite yes, without hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie P
1 review
“Lovely private location”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location away from the main town of Thame. Quiet and peaceful setting within the owners large garden. Sydney the dog welcomes you first, Jonathan and Tais are equally as welcoming!
Very spacious bright and cheery bedroom. Sofa bed was comfy too.
Ample room for 3 adults.
Wish we'd had better weather to enjoy the countryside more but still managed to see several NT properties and gardens, as well as Bletchley, so it didn't dampen a lovely holiday too much.
Beautiful part of the country with great thatched properties everywhere, even right next door! Thoroughly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noreen C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing great location”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a relaxing few days in Old Lane Cottage. The property has all you require for a comfortable stay, well equipped kitchen, comfortable spacious main bedroom with a comfortable bed settee. We enjoyed the fresh flowers and bottle of wine which greeted us on our arrival! Location was great for exploring the beautiful countryside you are just a short "hop" to Oxford or London and so many other places of interest. A nice local pub is literally across the road with fine ales and enjoyable food most days of week-further away but not far ( 5 mins in car ) you have the market town of Thame which again has great shopping and options for eating. Nearby in Long Credon Eastington we can recommend the Mole and Chicken a country pub restaurant with a great menu. Jonathan and Tais the owners are very helpful and available if needed. We would certainly recommend this property and will if in area again return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
thank you Noreen for your kind review. We enjoyed having you and your family to stay and would love to welcome you again

best wishes

Tais and Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Q4257XQan...
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Quaint, lovely, somewhat rustic”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The family renting the garage apartment is just fantastic. The views across the fields is nice and their yard is filled with climbing roses and other flowers. We had just left a B&B that was refurbished with all high-end so we were a bit let down at first by the interior. But it's quaint charm and the friendly owners made up for some of what the apartment lacked. The things we didn't like were; bed wasn't comfortable with a very thin mattress and the Wi-Fi was really unreliable.
We would stay here again. We loved having a full kitchen and a washing machine. It's close to Thame where there are many wonderful restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2017
thank you Anna for your reviews. We're glad we enjoyed your stay. We are lucky to live in such a quiet and beautiful place. Thanks for the feedback about the mattress. Its not very old but a few people have said they didn't find comfortable so we have just ordered a new top end mattress. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to England and we really hope to see you and Bob again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect spot for the area we had wanted to visit”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Thame was as good as we expected, nice places to eat every one very friendly, Blechley was the visit we wanted most, being national trust members was perfect but hard to fit them all in a week and to have a relax too

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2017
Thank you Stan for the review. We were really pleased that you had a great time
Best wishes from Jonathan and Tais
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markdavie...
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great improvements, nice stay”
Reviewed February 11, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I stayed at Old Lane Cottage for a month while I was working locally. First, the Jonathan and Tais are really nice hosts. They are there when you need them and they leave you to enjoy the accommodation when you don't. Because I was there for a while, fresh bed linen and towels were provided routinely.

As others noted, the annex is not the thatched house but you get a great view of the house and the gardens which are very pretty. A number of improvements since other reviews. Jonathan installed a new wifi which worked great on my phone. There is a brand new sofa / bed in the lounge too which is so much more comfortable that the previous sofa. I slept well and the kitchen was nicely kitted out for anything ranging from a small breakfast to a larger dinner (double oven, microwave, fridge freezer, kettle, coffee pot, etc).

Being January it was chilly outside and the annex stayed warm and a welcome home from home after a long day.

Towersey has a great pub just a short walk away. Great food and friendly locals (there is a "men's night" at the pub every Friday around 7). Thame is a busy market town about 5 minutes drive away with lots of little shops for my wife to explore when she visited.

The M40 motorway is 15 minutes away and takes you to London or the midlands. London is 45 minutes away by train so this is a great base for travels.

Overall very nice stay in a great location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2017
thank you Mark for your kind review. We appreciate the feedback and are glad you liked the new sofa. best wishes

Jonathan and Tais
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2016
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the plug in the baisn would not stay down. I ordered a new one which was fitted as soon as it arrived. Again apologies that the toilet seat moved. I did come and repair this as soon as you told me and it is now solidly in place. Unfortunately 2 light bulbs had gone. I replaced one but had difficulty removing the fitting for the other. This was one of many lights in the room so I hope it wasn't too much of a problem. I hope that your house move went well. Best wishes. Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing