We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quirky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Spread Eagle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely, quirky hotel”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Was apprehensive about staying here after reading some of the reviews on this page BUT we were really happy with our overnight stop at this lovely, hotel. All the staff we encountered, receptionists, bar and restaurant staff were very welcoming and always had a smile - service by all was brilliant. Our xmas present voucher included a standard 3 course meal together with a full English breakfast - both meals were fabulous and excellent value. The restaurant was wonderfully decorated - the high wing back seats very comfy and elegant.
True - our room needed updating especially the bathroom (shower was not very powerful!) but it was clean and warm and from talking with the receptionist we understand there is an ongoing programme of room refurbishments so am sure this and other rooms will be as stunning as the rest of the hotel. We loved that there were mugs for tea and coffee not tea-cups and with biscuits! Shopping in the town was a delight - would definitely recommend stopping at this hotel - would love to return.

Room Tip: Dependent on how important it is to have an updated room - discuss same with the receptionist. At t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    154
    106
    91
    59
See reviews for
89
254
15
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
herts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This is an Excellent hotel. The staff at this hotel are really brilliant and always with a smile. The food is very good and hotel very clean. We ate dinner here and was really surprised at the quality of the food. Breakfast was very good and extremely hot with a great deal of choice.Booking to go back again already. The hotel has theme weekends and already taking bookings for November.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank topsyherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillingford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

When I asked the receptionist if room 3 was the worst room in the hotel she thought not, it was a standard room.
OK the positives; a good size and warm. From there it goes down hill fast. The room had not been decorated in 40 years, the carpet was chocolate brown and threadbare, the furniture treacle coloured pine, scuffed and original from the 1970s. The bathroom had wallpaper coming away from the walls. The bath/ shower screen was cracked and the edges of the frame covered on lime scale and dirt, the gold taps, bits missing and barely functioning.
The manager was not available, the assistant manager agreed with the receptionist that room 3 was a standard room and the other standard rooms were the same. You have been warned.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol - UK
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Stayed here earlier in the month on a Travelzoo deal and I thought this was good value. Hotel was clean, our room was very nice, facing onto the main road but we didn't hear any traffic noise. I liked the restaurant and the bar, was a bit quirky and different. We had the set meal for dinner and the food was really good. Also, had breakfast in the morning and it was ok (my black pudding could have cut rocks though!), plenty of choice - cereal, fruit, etc. Staff were really friendly especially Graham who opened up the bar for us when we came back from the other pubs in the high street! All in all it was a good little break and I would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartieBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We were down in Thame for a wedding nearby and the whole party was booked in to this hotel. On arrival we were told that there would be a car parking charge which would be refunded as non-alcoholic drinks vouchers. The place itself looks as if it is in the process of revamping itself. It has a modern bar with the local beers on tap but the room itself just felt as if it needed a lick of paint and a new carpet. The room location was not ideal as it was right next to the main staircase and corridor to the other rooms, with the hotel being old and the doors and walls being thin meant every time someone walked past we were disturbed. The staff there were friendly and accommodating even going to the extent of keeping the bar open longer for us. Overall a pleasant stay but would recommend asking for a room away from the main walkways or staircase.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank robert_franks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Better than we imagined it would be! Arrived lunchtime - there is parking round the back! Ended up staying for lunch - chef kindly made us tuna sandwiches even though not on the menu! Hotel full of atmosphere/ambience - real quirky! Our room was nice - very small bathroom - great shower - no hair dryer and rather small bed! Restaurant was lovely - great tasty fresh food and fantastic service. Delicious breakfast next morning, thoroughly enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We went with friends to a Frank Sinitra Tribute night, and a three course meal. it was an enjoyable evening and very good value, will go again soon. although we didnt buy drinks in the Bars, It looked very Friendly and inviting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuart-harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thame
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Thame Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thame
59 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
616 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Thame Lambert Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Property: The Spread Eagle Hotel
Address: 16-17 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 2BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spread Eagle Hotel Thame, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing