We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but there must be better value available?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spread Eagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spread Eagle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OK but there must be better value available?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The Spread Eagle has the advantage of being located in the heart of Thame High Street and as such is a good base for the town and local area. Further it seems to be the only real hotel choice in Thame, so in this regard is able to name its room price with the only real challenger being the Travel lodge on the outskirts of the town.
The SE hotel itself steeped in history as a coaching Inn and as such has a great deal of character in its original buildings but at the rear it has been developed with modern rooms plus it has good car parking to the rear.
For my recent visit I was allocated a front bedroom facing on to the high street which was comfortable and adequate. However it with no ceiling light and one bed side bulb was blown, so the room was very dark and although it caused me no real problem, it would be an issue to any one requiring bright light...i.e. to put on make up.
Also apart from the fairly expensive room rate, to add insult to injury, you are then required to pay to park car overnight in their car park!
Staff helpful and friendly but the like the room rate, the food and drink are priced top end for what is fairly standard drinks and menu items.
In summary, good for an odd night but its an expensive experience, some may say, overpriced when considering value for money and exactly what you get for it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PODnPOOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    149
    101
    87
    58
See reviews for
86
240
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SE USA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

My customer booked this hotel for me and I am so glad they did. The hotel was very unique with its history. The rooms.......... although small to US standards were laid out well and were perfectly functional. Located in the heart of Thame was a big plus. Just a wonderful small town with history dating back to the Magna Carta. Stone streets and specialty shops made the atmosphere fantastic. The hotel check in was simple, the internet worked well and was included in my room rate. I hosted a dinner for 12 people in the restaurant and everyone was satisfied. A very enjoyable meal and drinks with my clients. I can not wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bosco125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last year. The hotel is in a good central location,
the room on the 2nd floor had a modern en-suite shower and was situated at the rear of the hotel overlooking the rear car park area. We had a good English breakfast and the service was excellent. Recommended and good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear away from the bar area, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our son's wedding was held here last Saturday; the staff were very helpful, food was excellent (very good sized portions) and the garden rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. The full breakfast was good and the coffee was strong which was needed after the late night! The bride and groom said that the staff at the hotel had been wonderful during the planning process so this was a very good choice of venue. Many thanks for making the wedding such a great day to remember.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hilary169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We went for afternoon tea as a group of ten. We had ordered champagne on arrival. We all received a glass poured by an in experienced waiter and we had to ask for our glasses to be topped up. The sandwiches arrived which did not exactly look appetizing, all squashed and flat. Instead of putting a variety of sandwiches on each plate placed around the table we had cheese and ham on one plate down one end of the table and egg mayonnaise and chicken and mayonnaise on another. Before we had even put a sandwich on our plate the waiter came round with a scone for each of us and that was placed on each individual plate giving as not much room for anything else. The scones were ok but the fairy cakes were just plain sponge not even a bit of icing on them. I feel this place does not deliver and the waiters and waitresses have not been trained properly. Very disappointing afternoon tea.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KenOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here the night before my brother's wedding at nearby Notley Abbey. Couldn't fault the room, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was lovely and the room had all the amenities you needed. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were very attentive and helpful. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: We had garden rooms which were lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polly423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for our Daughters wedding for two nights in October. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and the wedding coordinator, Amanda, worked her socks off. Our room was lovely, the Sir John Guildgood suite. Fish and chip supper highly recommended. Breakfast hot and substantive. As hiccups occurred a very hands on friendly manager was always on hand to help. We would definitely return for a weekend break to explore the lovely location.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms all lead onto gardens, great for small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilliano199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thame
4.9 mi away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#12 of 21 in Slough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Property: The Spread Eagle Hotel
Address: 16-17 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 2BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spread Eagle Hotel Thame, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing