We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation and food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spread Eagle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Sale, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great accommodation and food”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed for two nights in the 'Hayloft' room, which was the epitome of luxury. A spacious room, containing an ornate, king-sized bed, a lush chaise longue and arm chair. The bathroom was also luxurious (and larger than some hotel rooms I've stayed in); featuring a lavish, claw-foot bath tub, and a modern shower.

I felt very spoilt to stay in this room. There is also free wifi throughout.

The restaurant was also quite lavishly appointed, with some extravagantly large, throne-like chairs, and a great ambience. The service was good, the staff were friendly and efficient. The food was well presented and delicious.

I would happily return.

Room Tip: The Hayloft is the 'top of the range', and other rooms with names (rather than numbers) are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    154
    106
    91
    59
See reviews for
89
255
15
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Family lunch ruined by poor service. The staff didn't seem to know what they were doing. Food was good when it eventually arrived although some dishes were missing and lukewarm. Very disappointing experience and won't go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyA-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thame hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding - April 11th and 12th. We were sent a selection of choices but chose here as it appeared to be one of the nicest; we stayed with our daughter and granddaughter who is 7 months. Initially when first booking we were prepared to take a moses basket for her but as she has grown so much recently revised this and the request for a cot was placed and confirmed by e.mail on the 10th April.

On arrival we were pleased with our choice; the public areas are very pleasant, smart and a bit quirky, as was Reception. We then went to our rooms. We had paid £100 per room per night, not cheap by any means and oh what a dissapointment. The furniture is dated and drab, the carpet was stained and threadbare. The French doors and windows were mouldy and dirty. The bathroom was also from the 70's, with mould around the base of the shower screen. The bed was clean. Our daughters room was better however, although not far so.

We had mentioined the cot at Reception - he said he wasn't aware but would get on to it. My daughter checked at 8 pm, no cot, she checked again at 8.45 no cot. We went to our room at 9.15, spoke to the Receptionist who said that the 2 cots in the hotel were being used so he had sent Housekeeping to see if there was another!! He then said "Not being a parent myself, I'm unsure as to how important a cot is??" Lord Above! We explained just how important a cot is....he said he would continue to check..2 hours later a cot was found from another hotel. No apology..

Next day we waited 25 minutes for breakfast, I was then told the chef couldn't make the Hollandaise sauce as he had run out of the vinegar......Sainsbury's is next door - go there. Other friends staying had walked out of the restaurant the night before as they were so disatisfied by the food - and service.

My daughter had to shower in cool water one day and then cold the following day, she mentioned this to Reception. When we passed through later she was told that Housekeeping had checked and it ran hot after 10 or 20 seconds....right someone is going very wrong here. A guest says they can't get hot water, apologise profusely, say you will ensure it's repaired but do not say they were wrong. Appalling behaviour from a receptionist.

All in all I would recommend that ther staff are given lessons in customer service, they were surly and unfriendly. I would also recommend that the owners either update the rooms or charge a price that reflects the interior of this sad sad place. I am so disappointed, it was not a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't have room 34
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizc365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here in March for a wedding. We paid a little extra - £120 - for a 'Newly refurbished Luxury Double' - thank goodness it was only one night!
The room was quite nice though not what I would call luxury. The lighting was poor and the room was cold.
We had a small garden but there was old doors and windows out there.
The real issue was the bathroom, it hadn't been updated since perhaps the 60-70's, certainly not the contemporary bathroom we were expecting as indicated on our booking. We asked at reception if there had been a mistake but no, we were in the Luxury Double!!
There was black mould on the window sill and very little water pressure, certainly not enough to wash my hair. The toiletries were not very nice (fortunately I had my own) and the towels were scatchy.
The breakfast was quite nice, though very slow in coming, we actually asked if we had been forgotten...
The bar is nice and the barman on duty was quite accomodating.
I emailed the hotel with my comments but have had no response from them.
I would absolutely NOT recommend this hotel to anyone - save your money and stay at The Travel Lodge!!

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHolidays006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I sympathise with little market town hotels like this, mostly all a bit old and tired and probably not enough business to generate enough income to do anything about it. That's the story here in my humble opinion.

Arrival was a bit strange, you walk in to a bar (sounds like the opeining to a joke :-)) at the front door, the bar's unnocupied and you stand for 3 or 4 minutes waiting and wondering. Then someone tells you (because the bar remained unnocupied) that reception is further though, to the left, back outside, 30 yards up and on the left. Anyway, we found it and check in thereafter was brisk and efficient. Room 3 was spacious enough, double bed, 2 comfortable chairs, a desk with another chair, so certainly no complaints on room size. On the face of it, it was clean enough, just a bit tired and worn. The bathroom was the same, spacious enough, just a bit shabby. Different story in the morning though, I had to shower in moderatley cold water, not what you want on a cold April morning. The bed was comfortable enough and the room was quiet enough.
We hadn't booked breakfast and declined the offer at £12.50pp, I though that extremely high for a small hotel. That said, we did dine in the hotel the previous evening and the quality of food was fine and the prices acceptable.

On a plus side, the staff were all cheery and pleasant.

Overall, we chose this place because it was ranked number 1 of 2 in Thame. It's not a metropolis so you don't have any other choice. It was fine for one night, you just have to align your expectations to where you are going but I wouldn't want to stay much longer.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms at the back are probably all quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyet92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, middx
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We were in Thame for a family weeding and the spread eagle was the hotel all the family and guests were staying. At £95 a night a high expectation was set. I must say I am slightly disappointed as the room we stayed in was dirty, and was in drastic need of some maintenance as the walls had large cracks running along them. The shower was terrible some of our fellow guests could not get hot water. I would not recommend this hotel but on talking to a few locals I believe it's the best of a bad bunch - the local travel in may be a better idea.
Breakfast was nice enough but when it got busy service was very slow and we had to wait around 20 mins for our food to arrive.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leachy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I arrived at this hotel by chance having been unable to get to the premier inn that my company had booked for me due to the M40 being blocked solid for hours, (who do companies think that PIs are good value?). It was about 21.00 so really last minute stuff! I was offered a choice of rooms and took room 24 which involves a long walk from reception around the horse-shoe shaped building. This was brilliant fun as the corridor follows all kinds of twists and turns with changes of levels as you should expect in such an old building. The room was clean, comfortable & welcoming. It was not sterile and faceless... if you want something like that which seems all brand new, go to a PI. If you want cosiness, come to the Spread Eagle. Breakfast was included, and there was a good choice, fast service and very welcoming. I will happily return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandwichwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thame
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Thame Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thame
60 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
621 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Thame Lambert Hotel
23.6 mi away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#13 of 21 in Slough
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Property: The Spread Eagle Hotel
Address: 16-17 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 2BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spread Eagle Hotel Thame, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing