We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms poor and service lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Spread Eagle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rooms poor and service lacking”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Booked 2 single rooms to attend a wedding (not hosted at the hotel). One of the rooms was ok - although not worth the £65 charged. The other was quite bad with peeling wallpaper, creaky floors and a damp smell.
Had some lunch in the restaurant. Food was not good and very overpriced. Breakfast the following morning was rather chaotic - and the staff seemed more than a little frazzled. The food once again was not up to expectations.

The Spread Eagle really has a lot of potential which it currently has a lot of work to do to achieve.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK-James72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear hotel guest.

Thank you very much for your comments.

It would be very helpful for myself and the staff at The Spread Eagle if you could contact us directly concerning the issues you had on your stay with us, as I can get these areas fixed for future guests.

As for the restaurant I am very concerned that the food was not up to your high standards. I would be interested to hear what dishes you had and what the problems were. again if you could respond to me directly. I have also spent alot of time comparing prices for food items around the surrounding area so that The Spread Eagle is certainly not over priced and in-line with the other local restaurants in the area.

I trust that you understand the complexity of a breakfast service. The Spread eagle offers a cooked breakfast as part of its room rate. We do struggle with weekend breakfasts from time to time, I will happy admit too, every weekend we do place extra staff on for the service both front and back of house, but as you can image it does get hard when all the hotel guests arrive for breakfast at the same time. Potentially we have to cook and serve over 70 breakfast in just over 45 minutes.

Sometimes we do let our guests down for that we are very sorry, but it is only with feed back from customers like yourself that we can learn and fix our mistakes.

Your review has been addressed in our weekly management meeting and been addressed with all the departments of The Spread Eagle.

Once again if you would like to raise your concerns with me I would be delighted.

Thank you again for your comments, they have been a great help.


Yours sincerely

David Hodson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    150
    103
    87
    58
See reviews for
87
244
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We were attending a friend's wedding which was very well planned and organised. The meal was very good and the service friendly and efficient. After having been at the pinewood in Slough where we had a great time we headed to this good venue where we had nice food and service at a decent price.

Room Tip: The new refurbished room are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VittorioLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at The Spreadeagle as a stop over ready to go to the airport the next morning. The only room left was a suite and it was perfect. Plenty of space and opened onto a graden. The bed was comfortable and I couldn't have wished for more. The staff were hospitable and did everything to make our stay comfortable. Being able to walk out onto the town centre with all the lovely little shops was an extra bonus and there were great places to eat there too. I will go back there on a regular basis and use the Loyalty Card which seems like an offer too good to be true. Breakfast was cooked to perfection and served in a friendly and helpful manner. I have already found several people who will be wanting to stay there on a Friday or Sunday. Brilliant.

Room Tip: The Guilgood Suite was amazing. Lounge with two settees and bedroom with bathroom and all facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RevKateMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerThame, General Manager at The Spread Eagle Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure looking after you during your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

David Hodson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My company does business in Haddenham and unfortunately there are not a lot of options in the area. I've tried the Spread Eagle and some others in the area.
The pros of the Spread Eagle:
1) the location. It was fabulous to walk out the door of the hotel and fine numerous restauarant and shops. Thame really is a lovely town.
2) The food. A wonderful served breakfast is served in the restaurant each morning. There is a choice of several entrees as well as a continental breakfast bar. Also did dinner there once and tried some quirky English dishes such as "Bubble and Squeak" and "Poor Knights of Windsor (aka French toast). The food definately has a gourmet touch.
3) the quirky oldness of it. It a way, it's neat to say that you have stayed in a place so old.

The cons unfortunately outweight the pros:
1) Rooms are extremely tiny for the price. There was not a proper dresser to store my clothes (just a standing closet with only a few hangers). In additon, there was hardly room on the floor for the suitcase.
2) An ironing board was not included in the room
3) The lighting was extremely bad (very dark, could hardly read at night)
4) The window in my room was broken - had tape on it and had to prop it open with a trashcan
5) My East facing window had a very thin whispy curtain so the blazing sun woke me up a 5:30am
6) My matress was lopsided (the right side was 1 inch lower than the left)
7) the fire alarm went off 2x (false alarm) during my first day - - once while I was taking a nap recovering from jet lag and the other time while I was in the bath. It was very loud and highly annoying.
8) the halls are small and mazelike and there are lots of stairs and no elevators.
9) rooms facing the street get noise from the pubs - on the weekends, they play music until late at night.
10) I coudln't get the internet connection to work
11) desk in my room was made of a plywood plank

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thame hotels

1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary and was thoroughly impressed. Had a very tasty meal in the new restaurant with some very good cocktails. All staff went out of there way to make the occasion special for us and we will definitely be returning soon

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinamarie105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have stayed here several times when visiting the Oxford area on business and even thougn there have been some minor niggles would always return. The hotel is fine when not busy but when wedding parties are staying there avoid it, as you will wait a lifetime for meals. Avoid the rooms overlooking the main road at the weekends as the local street fights will keep you awake!
Plusses are the location in Thame as there is a good choice of eating houses and pubs; the best being the 'James Figg' almost next door which serves good pub grub whith an excellent chioce of real ales and beers.
VFM? Not really but that's the UK hotel scene in general.

Room Tip: Aviod the rooms at the front and those where the floor has more than a 1 in 10 incline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickerleg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed in the long annex wing which pleasantly looks out on an equally long walled garden. These Oxfordshire town buildings seem to have very deep hinterlands behind their facades ! Room was clean and its facilities (built in radios etc) were datedly modernistic - it must have been cutting edge in the early 60s. nevertheless this gave the room some charm for the nostalgic. The restaurant/breakfast room in the main 18th century-looking inn was full of beams (mostly unauthentic) which contrasted with the super-modern bistro furniture which was really naff and had the aesthetics of a Drug-Baron's wife. Breakfast itself was pretty good - let down by 'streaky bacon' - It was the first time I'd been served this leanless fayre in a hotel in the last 40 years. Fresh fruit juice, muesli and pastries all well-presented and tasty. Staff very friendly and helpful but a bit absent-minded in getting the basics sorted like delivering the tea and coffee without prompting. Thame is a lovely little place with a couple of decent pubs and restaurants. Thai restaurant doubling as real ale pub is a great success with locals and was pretty busy. Food was good and Brakspeare's ale lovely too. Italian restaurant close to hotel also very nice Italian quality with helpful Polish staff. The ancient pub opposite the Spread Eagle is contrastingly crowded with authentic beams that look pre 16th century. A proper-looking drinkers' pub despite menu of South African bush-meat. Great range of real ales and exotic beers from Belgium and beyond. Would recommend the Spread Eagle for a visit to this great town and probably for Oxford to as accommodation and access to that fair city are overwhelmingly complicated. Get the bus from Thame instead. I will !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiodeJaneiroWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thame
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thame
51 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Lambert Hotel
The Lambert Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lewknor
594 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
649 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Property: The Spread Eagle Hotel
Address: 16-17 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 2BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spread Eagle Hotel Thame, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing