We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spread Eagle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary and was thoroughly impressed. Had a very tasty meal in the new restaurant with some very good cocktails. All staff went out of there way to make the occasion special for us and we will definitely be returning soon

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinamarie105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 557 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

I have stayed here several times when visiting the Oxford area on business and even thougn there have been some minor niggles would always return. The hotel is fine when not busy but when wedding parties are staying there avoid it, as you will wait a lifetime for meals. Avoid the rooms overlooking the main road at the weekends as the local street fights will keep you awake!
Plusses are the location in Thame as there is a good choice of eating houses and pubs; the best being the 'James Figg' almost next door which serves good pub grub whith an excellent chioce of real ales and beers.
VFM? Not really but that's the UK hotel scene in general.

Room Tip: Aviod the rooms at the front and those where the floor has more than a 1 in 10 incline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nickerleg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed in the long annex wing which pleasantly looks out on an equally long walled garden. These Oxfordshire town buildings seem to have very deep hinterlands behind their facades ! Room was clean and its facilities (built in radios etc) were datedly modernistic - it must have been cutting edge in the early 60s. nevertheless this gave the room some charm for the nostalgic. The restaurant/breakfast room in the main 18th century-looking inn was full of beams (mostly unauthentic) which contrasted with the super-modern bistro furniture which was really naff and had the aesthetics of a Drug-Baron's wife. Breakfast itself was pretty good - let down by 'streaky bacon' - It was the first time I'd been served this leanless fayre in a hotel in the last 40 years. Fresh fruit juice, muesli and pastries all well-presented and tasty. Staff very friendly and helpful but a bit absent-minded in getting the basics sorted like delivering the tea and coffee without prompting. Thame is a lovely little place with a couple of decent pubs and restaurants. Thai restaurant doubling as real ale pub is a great success with locals and was pretty busy. Food was good and Brakspeare's ale lovely too. Italian restaurant close to hotel also very nice Italian quality with helpful Polish staff. The ancient pub opposite the Spread Eagle is contrastingly crowded with authentic beams that look pre 16th century. A proper-looking drinkers' pub despite menu of South African bush-meat. Great range of real ales and exotic beers from Belgium and beyond. Would recommend the Spread Eagle for a visit to this great town and probably for Oxford to as accommodation and access to that fair city are overwhelmingly complicated. Get the bus from Thame instead. I will !!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiodeJaneiroWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We spent two days at this hotel on business and it was fantastic. We really liked the restaurant with it's cool chairs and mini bloody Mary bar. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wienman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Friendly Staff, room nice and big and clean, only a short walk to shops/town food was Lovely kids where made very welcome too, would go back again, a nice stress free stay thank you :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is undoubtedly the worst hotel at which I have had the misfortune to stay. We had booked a ‘newly refurbished’ garden room at £95 per night. When we arrived at about 5.30pm, we were given directions to our room with no offer of assistance. This route led us along a subterranean corridor in which there was an unmade cot, two used breakfast trays and then immediately outside our room 5 folding beds. Apart from being unsightly these clearly represented a fire hazard.
When we entered the room we were immediately aware of a musty smell of damp. We returned to reception - noticing two damp patches on the wall of the corridor - and told the receptionist of the smell. She did not seem surprised, and when asked about the folding beds/cot merely replied “We have nowhere else to put them”!
She offered us two alternative rooms; the first was next to our original room; this also smelt but not quite as badly (because the window had been propped open) and then a ‘un-refurbished’ room at the front of the hotel which had broken secondary glazing and was so small it was difficult to pass the bottom of the bed.
When we refused both we were offered the Hayloft suite. We were shown to the room and given the key. This is the room that is featured on The Spread Eagle’s web site (http://www.spreadeaglethame.co.uk) under ‘Bedroom Tour’. On the site it looks interesting; if too garish for my taste. But do not be deceived!
The first problem was that the room smelt of drains. After some investigation we realised that this was because the bath’s u-trap was not attached to the waste pipe and an unrestrained sewage smell permeated the room. This problem was caused because the ‘free standing’ bath is actually light plastic and is not attached to the floor (another health hazard!) and had obviously been moved by the previous occupant/ cleaner dislodging it from the piping.
Further examination of the room resulted in finding that there was a thick layer of dust on the shower head, the toilet seat was loose, the bathroom extractors were thick with the build up of dirt, the ‘sanitary disposal bin’ was full!; there were gaps in the ceiling, there was a layer of ‘fluff’ under the bed and a thick layer of dust on the window sills and skirting boards; the pillows were so badly stained that it is difficult to do justice to their appalling state.
There was exposed electrical wiring (i.e. without conduit) which I believe is illegal. The most amazing, however, was that the ‘laptop sized safe’, which the hotel extols, was not attached to anything (floor/wall) and could easily be lifted and carried away!!
We reported these issues to reception and asked to speak to the duty manager. We were told that no-ne was available and that nothing could be done until the next morning! I said that we could not stay with the smell and I would go and fix the problem myself (it was not difficult) and did so.
Just as I had done this Simon arrived and introduced himself as the Duty Manager. I showed him the problems and in his own words he said the room was “disgusting”. He was pleasant and helpful (he even tried to tighten the toilet seat; but it was too broken). I told him that I would take pictures of everything (waste pipe already recorded on ‘phone) and he agreed that I should (I have this ‘rouges gallery’ on my computer). He said he would contact the general manager, Mr David Hodson, and arrange for him to meet with us the next morning at 9am, to discuss the problems.
We had a fitful night sleep given the dust, filth, stained pillows and the still lingering drain smell.
We waited in reception until 9am but Mr Hodson never appeared. I asked for the receptionist to contact him. She initially said she did not have a number for him but after consulting someone she rang and said there was no reply. I asked to speak with someone of import and Kerry, the banqueting manager, arrived. She was very pleasant and we showed her the problems; she too was appalled. I told I would not pay for the night; to which she agreed. I asked for a written apology from Mr Hodson, which she said she would ensure I received. I have received nothing.!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RooDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We chose this hotel as a last minute decision for a weekend away, as my partner had stayed here before and knew that they had Garden rooms which were very relaxing and that the hotel was a fair one. Sadly - what was meant to be a weekend to de-stress from a particularly hard week at work, turned into one of the worst nights we had ever experienced in a hotel - no, make that THE worst ever.

We arrived to find that despite booking a garden room overlooking the garden for a relaxing weekend, we had been booked into a small room overlooking a brick alleyway and the fire escape. We were also over the bar - more of the relevance of that later - and the room opened straight out onto the stairs down to the restaurant and bar.

We complained about the change, but were told that we had been "upgraded" because the garden rooms weren't refurbished and this was one of their "superior" rooms and therefore "much better" We requested that we be put back in a Garden room as the room wasn't suitable and we were told that it wasn't possible as they were now fully booked and all the rooms were occupied.

We decided that we had no choice as we didn't want to go home and it was too late to book anywhere else, so we moved into the room. Whilst the room was indeed refurbished (to a rather dubious style) it was small with a tiny gap between the huge wooden bed and the end wall and we frequently banged into it when trying to move around the room (picture attached). The huge...we think 37".... TV (picture attached) dominated the dressing table and hence there was no dressing table, it also partially blocked the mirror on the wall. The bathroom had a step (picture attached), which was badly positioned, hence we were forever tripping up and down it. The bedside tables had such huge lamps on (plus the telephones) that they were useless and you could bearly fit a book on it (picture attached). The lighting was appalling - it was delivered via energy saving lightbulbs in the bedside lamps and was so low level that you couldn't read by it...the lighting in the bathrooms was the same. There were no net curtains on the huge window, so anyone wandering up and down the brick alley outside could see in, so you had to be careful when changing clothes or have the curtains drawn all the time, risking not being able to see what you were doing. The Wi-Fi didn't work and, it turned out later that the TV could barely receive a signal over the Freeview and kept breaking up. The only clear channels were BBC 1 & 2 and a couple of shopping channels. When we complained about the TV, we were told that there was nothing they could do until the night manager came at 10:00, but by then it wasn't really worth worrying about. The tea and coffee making items with the kettle were in the wardrobe (picture) and due to the lack of any surface space, there was nowhere to put it but in the wardrobe and that meant an impromptu steam for your clothes as well as having to leave the wardrobe doors open in an already small room whilst you made the tea (picture included).

It gets worse - accepting all this, we went down to the restaurant and had a great meal and returned to our rooms looking forward to the "good nights rest" that " is guaranteed" that they advertise in their literature for the hotel. Little did we know that there was a wedding booked in and it went on in the bar from 10:00 until 3.30 in the morning and was followed until well after 5am by wedding guests running around the hotel, banging on doors, running up the stairs and exchanging alcohol and god knows what else. We literally did not sleep and complained to the night manager, who apologised and said he would never have put us in that room as it was right over the bar and would be the noisiest room in the hotel. He was very sympathetic and agreed that we would not be charged for the room, which was something, but as we did not get any sleep at all (and we couldn't even watch TV to pass the time!), this was little consolation as the rest of our weekend was ruined and we returned home, not doing any of the things we planned.

I appreciate that we didn't pay for the room, but as it was so awful anyway and the lack of sleep meant we had to abandon our weekend, this was little consolation. The staff were as helpful as they could be under the circumstances and the food in the restaurant was great, but the hotel needs to pay some serious attention to their booking systems and also review the size of furniture put in their rooms.

Room Tip: Call in advance, after you've made your booking to ensure you have booked what you asked for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littleowl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thame
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thame
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Thame Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
23.6 mi away
Pinewood Hotel
Pinewood Hotel
#13 of 21 in Slough
528 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spread Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spread Eagle Hotel

Address: 16-17 Cornmarket, Thame OX9 2BW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Price Range: $144 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spread Eagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Spread Eagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spread Eagle Hotel Thame, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing