We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Thame Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for work. The receptionist was really friendly and helpful. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed was really comfy, the shower in the morning was a good pressure and lovely and hot. There's no restaurant but a Burger King and little chef next door.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dolly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    84
    51
    25
    26
See reviews for
90
78
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Skelleftea, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The alternatives must be considered. This is one of the worst ever hotelnights. I will not book another Travellodge stay before taking a good look (smell) at it before. The air in the hall indicated molds, the room confirmed it. I don´t have allergies, I survived

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel itself was good however the sink in the bathroom was dirty and there was only one towel for two people. there also was a smell when we first entered the hotel room. However overall these issue were fixed and the stay was good an had good nights sleep

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Jonathon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2014

A comfortable and welcoming budget priced hotel - expect absolute convenience rather than 'all frills luxury' - staff most courteous and helpful, garage shop offers good range of essentials, including coffee and hot snacks.
VERY comfortable beds, hardly conducive to an early morning start!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have stayed here a few times and due to stay again soon. If you book early enough you will get a good price, otherwise you may as well stay at an independent hotel or B&B.
This is pretty standard fare for a Travelodge, so don't expect the "luxuries" of toiletries, hairdryer etc. Always a good idea to take extra coffees & biscuits too!
On my last visit I had to wait quite a long time to check in as the only receptionist was off somewhere within the hotel. I pressed the buzzer lots of times before he eventually returned. I had to ask for extra pillows and I had to wait again as he had disappeared once more.
The rooms are comfy and clean but basic of course. Certainly fine for an overnight business stay.
Food is available in the Little Chef next door - usual overpriced low quality standard of their dishes I'm afraid. Breakfast is served in there too and is cooked to order. As there is a petrol station on site there is a rather useful shop selling food and papers etc which can be handy if you have assumed there would be toiletries in your room! When I was last there, there was a very small Burger King next to the Little Chef too.
All is the usual Travelodge standard but the one massive drawback here is the location. It is within walking distance of Thame but, as a visitor with no car, I took my life in my hands trying to get to the hotel. It isn't on a motorway but there is a huge and extremely busy roundabout between you and the hotel which took me about fifteen minutes to negotiate last time and had my heart racing. It's fine for car drivers, but the hotel is more or less off limits for those on foot. Last time I had to pay for a taxi just to take me to a hotel that was within easy walking distance.
The hotel staff were entirely unsympathetic about this and there is nothing on their website to warn travellers about the accessibility.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be a similar style and quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomtara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Staff were plesent when checking in, room seemed clean and plesent enough when arived although windows were open and the heating on !

Turns out that later on after shutting the windows that a smell of sick started to get stronger from the floor at the side of the bed, while accepting that accidents do happen I would expect that the carpet would be professionally cleaned before ever offering the room to a guest.

Receptionis was appologetic but did not seem to grasp the total un-acceptabuility of this room being in use.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Service at Travelodge Thame Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We are sorry to learn of your poor experience at our Thame hotel Andrew T. We would expect our housekeeping staff to notice any unpleasant smells in a room and it should be aired out accordingly, if necessary this room should not be given to a guest. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The travelodge is located just off a roundabout near the town of Thame. It shares the site with an Esso fuel station and a Little Chef/Burger king. The fuel stn has plenty of provisions if you forget to bring anything & a Costa franchise. The Little Chef was giving 30 minute wait time for breakfast at 09:00 hrs, I think this was due to lack of staff. There are plenty of restaurants in Thame and we managed to get into Prezzo's, but you really need to book in advance. The travelodge is very good value for money, the rooms were clean & well maintained, we had number 38 which was located away from the fuel station & Little Chef and was great for me and my wife & daughter. Although my daughters bed was a z type bed & not quite as nice as the king size we had. We stayed here in order to visit Oxford Brookes university, and it worked well, being about twenty minutes away.
We were impressed with the travelodge & would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thame
0.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thame
60 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
612 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
4.1 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Thame Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Thame Hotel

Property: Travelodge Thame Hotel
Address: Long Crendon Road, Thame OX9 3SB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Thame Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelodge Thame Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Oxford
Travelodge Oxford
Oxford Travelodge
Travelodge Thame Hotel Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing