We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very satisfied customer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Thame Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very satisfied customer”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Thame Travelodge is perfect for overnight stays. It is clean, comfortable, warm and welcoming. I cannot fault it. The staff were very polite, the room was immaculate as was the bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and I had an excellent nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    82
    50
    23
    23
See reviews for
84
74
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarratt
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights over Christmas as our Son did not have room for all the family.

Comfortable for sleeping but disappointed that the bedroom had no service on Christmas Day - people in the hotel industry like our son in law do have to work on Christmas Day and beyond.

Also disappointed that the Little Chef on site was not open for breakfast on Christmas or Boxing Day.

It will be Premier Inn next time !!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuirSSarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Thame Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review MuirSSarratt. It is regrettable that our housekeeping team were unable to provide a full service on Christmas Day and we would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused. Our reception staff would be happy to provide our guests with new towels and extra tea/coffee if needed. We would also like to apologise that the Little Chef next to our hotel was not open on Christmas or Boxing Day, whilst we do not have any affiliation with Little Chef we will try to keep our website up to date with any changes in service from nearby facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thame hotels

Wroughton, Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel was in a good location for us to stay over Christmas whilst visiting family. The disabled rooms were already taken, but we were put in a room close to Reception, and the staff helped carry the bags in as my partner walks with a zimmer frame. The room was devoid of drawers for storage, and bedside tables, so we used the two plastic chairs provided for this. We asked for another chair and this did appear. The lighting was good, it was clean and quiet. No breakfast available on Christmas day as the Little chef was closed, so we bought the breakfast boxes at £4.95 each. These were perfectly adequate for Christmas day and Boxing Day when food is plentiful anyway. The bed was lovely and comfortable, We slept very well, plus a lake had appeared outside the window (flooding).
If you take your own hairdryer, soap, shampoo etc you have everything you need in this hotel. Excellent value at less than £50 a night at Christmas.

Room Tip: a room at the back is quiet facing fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were very impressed, the hotel was warm and welcoming and the staff were wonderful. the young lady and man who looked after us during our stay were fab. Helped us with everything we needed, the room was spotless and the bed was very comfy.
We recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank emmarichards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Booked into this travelodge for one night for a wedding. Wasn't expecting much other than a clean room to sleep in.
We arrived at the hotel at 12.30 to drop off our bags and go on to the wedding. We weren't allowed to leave the bags (hotel policy) so that was fine, we went to the wedding and took them with us.
We then returned to the hotel 12 hours later to check in, and arrived in our room which absolutely stunk of cigarette smoke. There was a sign on the back of the door saying there is a £150 fine for smoking. Clearly no-one had stopped the previous occupants.
We went to sleep (no point asking for a new room as the hotel was full and it was 1am). On checking out I informed the reception staff about the less than pleasant stay, got an apology and left.
Although this was cheap, I would rather have paid twice as much and stayed somewhere nicer.
On the bright side, there was a burger king and a little chef directly opposite the hotel and little chef did us a very nice breakfast after the wedding.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahArchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We needed somewhere close to a wedding venue near Thame. The hotel was ideal and the cost very reasonable. There were no frills (shampoo, shower gel, hairdryer) but the hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff we encountered were helpful and efficient No catering in the hotel but the adjoining Little Chef was fine for breakfast. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank RattyShowdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

we stayed at the travel lodge for one night as we were attending a 50th birthday party at the new football club, on arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist.

we booked a family room, which was big, spacey, and fine for us, it had tea, coffee, kettle and a few tiny little milk tubs, standard stuff, tv with minimal channels, nice and clean .

We had a fairly good nights sleep, although the neighbors were showering at 0630am!
My only complaint would be that the maze of carpets!! they really did smell very musty.... like they have never been cleaned,

we were offered a breakfast package, at just over £5, ( orange juice, small box cereal,cereal bar ) but decided to pop next door to little chef and have a breakfast there, 7.99 for a HUGE breakfast well worth the money, and it included coffee!

considering this is a service area, on a main road, with busy traffic, you do not hear any traffic at all, it was ok, better than I thought it was going to be.

check in is after 3pm, and check out is mid-day, so plenty of time to sleep in if you dont have any noisy neighbors keeping you awake!

Overall, yes cheap and cheerful, yes I would recommend.

Room Tip: family rooms are nice and spacey, although the do face the fuel station
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thame
0.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#3 of 3 in Thame
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
5.2 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#26 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#3 of 6 in Aylesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Thame Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Thame Hotel

Property: Travelodge Thame Hotel
Address: Long Crendon Road, Thame OX9 3SB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Thame
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Thame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Thame Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Thame Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Oxford
Travelodge Oxford
Oxford Travelodge
Travelodge Thame Hotel Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing