We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Six Bells

The Six Bells
Ranked #10 of 35 Restaurants in Thame
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

A decent beer garden and consistently good food in a beautiful building. The service can be a little slow at times, but the quality is always pleasing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    81
    28
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food was ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

service was generally good but they forgot to bring us our bread that we ordered as a starter and then when i mentioned it on the way out to check it had not been added to the bill the waitress just confirmed she had not added it to the bill and no apology or remark as to why we didn't receive it.

Homemade burger was huge and very nice , a spicy or garlic version would be nice to see on the menu,-

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank essexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good pub and garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Six Bells is a little way out of the centre of Thame and on a recent Saturday lunchtime it was quieter than other pubs in town so we stopped there for lunch. Good choice of beers and wines by the glass. We both had sandwiches which were freshly prepared, well-filled and came with a small side order of fries which was fine for lunch in our opinion.

The beer garden out back is very nicely decorated although unfortunately it started raining quite unexpectedly and the staff had to dash out and remove all of the cushions etc to prevent them being drenched. Luckily we had finished eating before the rain so ducked inside the pub to finish our drinks. Will certainly return if in Thame in future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

hi all me and my family went there for a birthday dinner the food was very good the staff very helpful .the menu is new as they said they have a new chef we booked to eat in the restaurant but as it was hot we had our food outside .we would defiantly go back they even make there own ice cream

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doreen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“over priced/tiny portion”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Myself and a friend decided to eat at the Six Bells as it has a lovely outdoor seating area and wanted to make the most of the good weather, we ordered our food which was a starter Ham Terrine at £6.75 each quite pricey for pub grub, however thought it would be delicious at that price. Unfortunately it was a great disappointment when it arrived my freind voiced " You did say that you were not that hungry" A very small ramekin dish which consisted of small pieces of ham!! not compressed, 2 very small round melba toasts and a very small portion of piccalilli and a small handful of lamb's lettuce. Definately will not be eating here again ( 2nd Visit) First visit 2 years ago Same problem over priced for quality/quantity. Nice for a drink in the pub and garden in the summer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aylesbuduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Six Bells also viewed

Thame, Oxfordshire
Thame, Oxfordshire
 
Thame, Oxfordshire
Thame, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Six Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing