We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad points”
Review of The Oxford Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oxford Belfry
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good and bad points”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

GOOD -We stayed here for a spa day package to celebrate my hen night , What great value for money! £99 each based on 2 people sharing and we got lunch, dinner, breakfast the accommodation and 2 beauty treatments plus 2 days use of the spa. the rooms were lovely with comfy beds and the food was great, so much choice ! - you think paying so little you would get a sandwich and some chips for lunch but no it was a full buffet with so much choice, all of which was really tasty and dinner was great to - you get £26 allowance but the mains are £16 and starters and desserts are £5 each meaning you could have a 3 course meal, only thing we had to pay for was 2 extortionately priced bottles of wine!
Now for the bad points.
We read in our welcome leaflet that they would charge you per bottle corkage if you bought your own in, I think this is awful as the cheapest bottle there is £30 ! if the wine was reasonably priced you wouldn't feel the need to bring your own in ! Also when we met for breakfast my mum told me that housekeeping had knocked on her door at ten to 8 in the morning, I know they have a lot of rooms to clean but its very early to start knocking on doors, I cant imagine even people going to work for 9am would be out of their rooms by then. Also I think if I would go on a spa day again I would chose an actual spa rather than a hotel. very small pool with no hot tub or Jacuzzi There's nothing worse than trying to relax by the pool and getting splashed by someone who thinks they are training for the Olympics and having some lady in a wet suit teaching children how to swim. coming out of my treatments and laying on a lounger hearing 'now lets kick our legs more my ducky cant see how your moving' - zen feeling gone

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benners2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Benners2013,
Thanks for your comments; I agree that we offer great value spa breaks for our guests that are hard to beat. Our spa packages are priced according to the facilities we can offer here as a hotel with a spa and for this reason we are a popular choice.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    598
    245
    107
    64
See reviews for
247
657
38
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was my third visit to this Hotel (twice this year).Each occasion has been 1st class.All staff are very friendly and helpful. The dining area has been improved from my June visit and I was very impressed.Standard of food very good and well presented.Overall very good value for money, as are other Hotels in the Q group.I noticed that the Hotel had an AA 4 Star 2013 certificate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTL301233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear BTL301233,
I'm delighted that you came back to see us once again! Thank you so much for your comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Although we only stayed one night the service and staff were amazing.

Everybody was friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

We had a standard room but it extremely comfortble, clean and well furnished. The breakfast and again the service was very good.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmikeprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear mrmikeprince,
Thanks for your kind words; I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed over at this hotel as I wanted to get away for the weekend and do some shopping at Bicester Village

The room I booked was a Suite with Full English Breakfast for the little one

First impressions of the hotel was great, lots of free car parking space, leisure club, nice bar, what more can I ask for

Check in was straight forward, although I was not asked if I needed help with my bags

I made the assumption I was in a large standard room, only to be amazed at the Suite I got.

The room was more then big enough for my small family of 3

Bathroom had a shower cubical and bath with jacuzzi function

The only thing I was dissapointed with was the cleanliness of the resteraunt area the following morning

Plates and cups looked like they had not been washed and were all greasy and marked with food items from before

So my advise is do not book with breakfast!

Apart from that the hotel staff were great and room was lovely

Room Tip: Book Superior Room and request Rm 153
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear jgohill,
Thank you for your review; I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel facilities. I am sorry that your breakfast experience was not up to our usual high standards; please be assured that this was a one-off and I would definitely recommend our breakfast.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just an overnight stay but the room was comfortable and well equipped, Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a good variety - hot and cold. I had bacon and eggs, they were good but a little on the cold side.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starfishsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear starfishsg,
Thanks for your comments and I'm glad the hotel suited your overnight stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed at the Oxford Belfry for 3 nights. A very clean, spacious and comfortable room. I do agree with other reviewers that the rooms are a long way from reception. I considered the hotel to be more of a conference centre with functions happening whilst we were there. Also a reception venue for weddings and special occasions, it is not a small intimate hotel. However, it was a very pleasant stay and have no issues with the service we received. We enjoyed breakfast each morning and I do agree that they need a new toaster! We had lunch twice in the bar and the first time had to wait quite sometime for our meal, even when there were very few people around, the second time there was a function in progress in the conference rooms and the bar was crowded with participants and we had difficulty finding a table. We had to wait awhile for this meal too. The meals were very nice when they finally arrived. I felt that the conferences took precedence over the other guests, just my opinion. I have given this hotel 4 stars because the rooms were very comfortable and spacious with appealing decor and fittings and the meals were very good. All the staff were very pleasant. I would recommend more signage on the way as we had difficulty finding the hotel and had to stop and ask for directions. The map on the web is not clear enough. I would recommend this hotel with the understanding it is not a small intimate place but a sprawling complex catering for all kinds of events.

Room Tip: Ask for one closer to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear LizzieMelbourne,
Thank you for your review; I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are absolutely correct, we are a large hotel with a great team offering flexible event facilities for conferences, meetings, weddings and other special occasions, catering for intimate up to large scale banqueting events, but leisure and spa breaks are also popular particularly at the weekends with individuals and special interest groups coming together for a weekend get-together. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel has some of the nicest staff I have come across in hotels, very helpful, cheerful and genuine exactly what you wish for in a hotel, so a good start. Unforunately that was also the best thing about the hotel. This hotel is in desperate need of some TLC, it is tired and worn especially in the communal areas. The rooms whilst a good walk from the reception area were clean and the bed comfortable except for the pillows which were so voluminous I got a headache and neckache from sleeping on them. Offering different size pillows would certainly help matters. The bathrooms are large but the dusty rose with beige and wood panelled decor is very dated which is a shame. The worst thing about this 4 star hotel is the TV offering, dreadful they just have 6 Freeview channels and those were totally pixelated even on a small 22" TV, I could not watch anything so this should be improved upon. The hotel need sports, movies and some decent channels to watch in room especially for female business guests who when travelling alone will not go down to the bar to watch sports on their own. The bar is very big and they could do with more clientele but it had just 1 TV in the corner which could only be seen by roughly 30% of the entire bar area. They did have Sky Sports but 1 TV in such a big bar is a shame and is not going to get people in and spend money in the bar. We had 2 UK football teams playing in the Champions League that evening and the 1 TV caused a bit of a problem and not everybody was happy. Breakfast was okay have had better in 4 star hotels for sure but they do have a hot buffet so could not complain. All in all if some money was invested in making the stay as guest friendly as the staff than this would be a hotel worth going back to, as it is I will probably go elsewhere next time I am in Theale on business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian W, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear RWPB,
Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to read that you felt that some of our facilities were lacking. The television in the bar is in one particular area so that those guests who do not wish to hear or watch it, have other areas available to them. Thank you for your kind feed back regarding the staff and I do hope that on second thoughts, this entices you back again.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
7.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.9 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
1.6 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
10.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
392 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Property: The Oxford Belfry
Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
The Oxford Belfry Oxfordshire/Milton Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing