We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Luxury!”
Review of The Oxford Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oxford Belfry
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Me and my Fiancee booked this hotel on a spa package after stopping at 3 other Q hotels around the country before, so we knew what kind of standard we should be getting and i'm pleased to say we wasn't disappointed, from the minute we walked into the hotels reception to the minute we walked out the following day we were nothing less than 100% happy with everything!

Our first port of call was the restaurant for a spot of light lunch, the restaurant rooms are large and decorated to a high standard, and the choice of food on offer was great, even better than the light lunch options at other Q Hotels we've stayed in, The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble!

After Lunch we went to the spa reception where we changed into our robes and had an hours treatment each, I had a back, shoulder and head ritual massage which was done by a therapist named Naomi, a lovely friendly young girl who was very professional and knew exactly what she was doing, I left an hour later feeling de stressed, refreshed and vitalised, would highly reccomend this treatment, and certainly Naomi.

We used the leisure facilities for an hour or so afterwards, sun loungers, heated seats, the steam room and of course the pool,

After checking into our room, the St Edmund suite and been greeted with a bottle of pink fizz on ice and a box of truffles we enjoyed the room for the afternoon, everything was again to a very high standard,

Dinner that night was by far the best food we've both ever enjoyed from a hotel, 6 different courses between the 2 of us and each one was exquisite, the steak I had was one of the best steaks i've ever eaten, and i've had many, the fact that it came in under the allowed cost with no extra to pay aswell was unbeliveable!

Theres plenty of places in the lounging area to sit, chill and relax with a drink, again the staff work very hard to ensure your ever need is taken care of,

We had a fantastic nights sleep in a very comfy bed, and the breakast the next morning was again a very high standard, buffet style breakfasts can sometimes be a bit tasteless, bland and cold, but here there was hot fresh food been brought out on a regular basis and a vast array of food to choose from,

We'd like to thank everyone at The Oxford Belfry for a wonderful stay and for looking after us, the staff we encounted throughout our stay are a credit to the hotel and the chain, I wish I could remember more names but many thanks to Naomi and all the rest of you, we'll certainly be recommending this Hotel to family and friends!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_evetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear chris_evetts,
What a glowing review! Thank you so much and I am delighted, as always, to read that the team looked after you and your fiance so well. I have been pleased to share your comments with everyone here and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Every single aspect of this hotel is great. Great spa, lovely food, good wine, friendly staff etc etc. But when it's the middle of summer and it's 30 degrees outside, sleeping in a room with no air con is horrendous. Worst nights sleep I've ever had at a hotel- especially when the idea of a spa break is to feel rejuvenated! I don't personally look for this room feature on websites as hotels in 2013 SHOULD have air con!!

Room Tip: Don't go in summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Rob A,
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that your stay was affected by the hot temperatures we have been experiencing; it is unusual for us to have such consistently hot days and I do appreciate your frustration.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We found this hotel on the recommendation of a spa company we have used previously and booked it because of its proximity to Blenheim Palace which we were visiting. Being so last minute we were only offered a standard double room. No need to worry, the room was excellent and very well equipped with a brand new bathroom and a very comfortable bed.

At first glance the restaurant seems a bit "fast food" but again, no need to worry. The food (and we tried dinner, lunch and breakfast) was really excellent, fresh and of a very high quality. The breakfast was amazing. Considering the hotel was heaving this weekend, with a ball, a large wedding party and a 50th birthday too, as well as Spa guests, they coped fantastically. All the catering staff were fantastic and so cheerful.

Ths spa too has wonderful treatment rooms, not seen at first when you go to the pool, but a very welcome surprise.

The only thing is the bedrooms do not have aircon, which in this heat is a slight problem, but they do give you a fan. As one lady said to me, when we visit Manoir aux Quatr'Saisons we stay here as it is so reasonable.

My husband and I would definitely stay here again and hope that all Q Hotels are as good. Very very good.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 200, all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etruria_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Etruria_13,
Many thanks for your kind comments; I am delighted that you were able to enjoy all of the hotel facilities and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future. If you are considering staying at other QHotels, please do take a look at our Breakaway Club on our website where you will find there are many benefits for our loyal regular guests.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Staff are very friendly and helpful. The information pack provided was really useful. Our room was excellent although not easy to find for the short while that the lift was inactive - just a small blip. The restaurant was good although the potatoes were, to our taste, consistently just under-cooked. The grounds were excellent for a quietly sitting in the sun or shade. Access to Oxford was easy using the local Park and Ride. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_drinkwater51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear j_drinkwater51,
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of our proximity to Oxford and use the park and ride into the city. We highly recommend this as the most straightforward way to get into the centre of Oxford and enjoy all of its delights!
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Although the hotel was in a great location and had nice green views, we were let down by paper thin walls. The neighbouring room had a wake up call at 6am, and it felt like it was our own phone ringing.

I mentioned this on check out and the reception staff just laughed it off. Shame really.

If you can over look the chance of a poor nights sleep, then it's well located and not bad value.

Room Tip: Not room 112!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotswoldfoodblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear pikerloo,
I'm sorry to read that not everything met your expectations, but thank you for your positive comments regarding our countryside location and value for money.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a stop over between a long stay in the South of England. I only wished we had booked longer we really didn't want to leave. We had two rooms on of them being the St Christopher Suite which had great facilities, air-conditioning being a major advantage in the U.K at the minute. The bathroom is huge, as is the lounge area ( which we had two further single beds in). We ate at the restaurant and the food was tasty, with a good choice of wine to compliment it.

The other room we had booked overlooked fields and we spent a great deal of time watching Red Kites from the window, which for us was a real treat.

All staff members were pleasant and happy to help.

Room Tip: St Christopher Suite is worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dringster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear dringster,
Yes, I could sit and watch the Red Kites all day if I could..they are magnificent aren't they? We are very proud of them in this area and I can see them from my office, which isn't a bad view either! Thank you so much for your kind comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had booked the hotel with the location to suit dinner at Le Manoir for our daughter's 21st birthday. Upon arrival the reception staff were really attentive and welcoming and went the extra mile by checking if we had a dinner reservation and upon hearing of our plans immediately organised a taxi for the evening. We were very well informed of all the facilities on offer and our rooms were very clean and spacious.
We returned to the hotel with a melting chocolate cake (due to the hot weather), which the night reception staff immediately offered to hold safe in the kitchen fridge ready for our departure the next morning.
Breakfast was very good and again the staff very helpful since we turned up late!
The staff were marvellous at check out and kept our cake/wine and chocolate items in the fridges whilst we visited Oxford, so that we could just call in prior to our journey home.
Thank you to all for making it such a pleasant stay. We would recommend the hotel over most of it's more expensive rivals.

Room Tip: rooms at the back, side or courtyard are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Patricia C,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review; I am delighted that your daughter's birthday celebrations were a success and that the team looked after you well. Thank you for the recommendation!
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
7.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.6 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
1.9 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
8.3 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,825 reviews
10.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range: $127 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
The Oxford Belfry Oxfordshire/Milton Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing