We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome and Comfort hard to beat”
Review of The Oxford Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oxford Belfry
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Yeovil
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Welcome and Comfort hard to beat”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was my second visit to the Belfry and despite it's size and coroporate feel, it is a very comfortable and welcoming hotel. The helpful staff definitely make your stay a pleasant experience and we also discovered to our delight that there is an indoor pool and a spa. Because the weather was hot, we were very grateful for a swim. We ate in the restaurant and the the meal was reasonably priced and although not 'fine dining', it was well cooked and well presented by helpful staff. The breakfast is excellent. The beds were exceptionally comfortable and the room was cool, despite no air con. We had to turn off the heated towel rail in the large bathroom as it was 80 degrees outside! The only minor disappointment was the same comment as I made last year. The rooms are clean - but not spotless - I found an open but uneaten chocolate bar at the bottom of a cupboard and my sidelight bulb needed replacing. If this element was sorted, the Belfy would be outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to get a view over the gardens and it's cooler in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YeovilSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear YeovilSarah,
I am delighted that you came back to stay with us and thank you for completing a further review. I will ensure that your housekeeping comments are relayed to our Housekeeper and we hope that you are able to come back and stay with us again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    582
    235
    102
    61
See reviews for
234
639
37
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I visited this hotel last weekend 13th and 14th July, I really enjoyed the weekend. I went with my husband and met lots of friends there which made for a pleasant weekend.
Whilst we were there a wedding took place, there was a 50th birthday party of females who were great fun, a couple of hen nights, the atmosphere was very friendly.
I didn't get chance to go in the pool and saunas but two of our friends did, although quite small it was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirls2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Shirls2346,
I'm glad that you and your friends enjoyed the time you spent here and enjoyed the friendly and lively atmosphere generated by the various celebrations we had here over the weekend of your stay. We are ideal for gatherings of families and/or friends, suitable as we are for the young, and the not quite so young, alike and our central location is ideal when guests come from all different directions!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the good - The staff are the stars at this hotel. Their balance of professionalism and friendliness was just perfect. Thank you Ali for taking time advising us on a choice of restaurants and travel directions. We just loved Lymington and the New Forest which were the next stops on our UK tour.
We were given Room 358, which was enormous and very well appointed, beautifully decorated and had a huge bathroom.
Secondly, the not so good - There is no air conditioning in the rooms at The Belfry, and with such high temperatures it was a bit uncomfortable at times.
At breakfast you had the usual choice fruit, bacon, eggs and sausage etc., but where the savoury bread was concerned, you only had sliced bread to make toast. There were no rolls or croissants. There was a small selection of sweet pastries.
All in all we enjoyed our break very much here and would definitely recommend The Belfry if you don't mind not being within walking distance of the nearest pub or restaurant!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie_Wilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Annie_Wilks,
I am always delighted to read positive comments regarding the team here, because, as you say, they are the hotel and the experience they offer our guests is ultimately the most important part of your stay. Thank you so much for your review and I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your tour!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blanes, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here as we were attending a family wedding.
We had two adjacent rooms, which were spacious and comfortable.
Positively surprised with the spa - the massage was very relaxing!
Staff and breakfast were also great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear AnnaMoran,
Thank you for your comments and I hope that you enjoyed the family wedding you attended. I'm delighted that you were able to take some time out for yourself and indulge in a massage - heavenly!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed with 3 friends, we had 2 very spacious and comfortable rooms for an exceptionally good price, it included breakfast and dinner - which, as with other Q hotels was very good.

Staff were very accommodating and everything requested was dealt with immediately.
Wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Only downside was the spa was very expensive and it is really hit and miss on how good the beautician is.

Room Tip: Rooms 247 and 249 where quiet overlooking a small courtyard and nice and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindahutchings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear BuntyNorwich,
I'm pleased to read that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and wouldn't hesitate to return. Perhaps I can recommend a 'spa break' next time which can include some treatments and spa lunch so you may find this a more affordable way to come back and stay and make use of the spa?
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

An overnight Spa stay at this lovely hotel with my best friend, can recommend it, the very helpful and friendly staff really looked after us to make it such a lovely stay. The room was spacious, very comfortable with everything to hand, a huge and very clean bathroom. The food excellent and so much of it, with good choices on the menu. The pool area was on the small side, and hot just like being in the sauna. Excellent value and would definately go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear travellingirl123,
Thank you for your kind comments; I am delighted that the team looked after you and your friend so well and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Recently visited for a spa day with my sister. We could not recommend it highly enough. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The lunch was lovely. The spa was good and the massage was very relaxing. Will definately be booking again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimethy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Kimethy22,
Praise indeed! I am delighted that you and your sister enjoyed a relaxing spa day with us and we look forward to welcoming you back; do keep an eye out for our spa offers on our website.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
7.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.9 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
1.6 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
8.3 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Property: The Oxford Belfry
Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
The Oxford Belfry Oxfordshire/Milton Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing