We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slick operation”
Review of The Oxford Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oxford Belfry
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Slick operation”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at the Oxford Belfry Hotel for 2 nights for a friend's wedding after flying in from an overnight flight.

The check-in staff at reception were welcoming and efficient and, despite the high occupancy rate due to 2 on-site weddings that weekend, the level of service and attention to detail were maintained throughout my stay.

Two things worthy of particular mention: (i) my friend's wedding reception was most adeptly handled with everyone's individualised meals arriving promptly and all the various parts of the evening seamlessly co-ordinated; and (ii) the reception staff went out of their way to find surplus toiletries from the spa when the item I wanted wasn't available from housekeeping.

I stayed in a superior room which was very spacious despite the slightly non-standard lay-out. The wiring of all the switches in the room could be consolidated, but that's a minor niggle. The decor and quality of furnishings were comfortable for a 4* hotel standard and the complimentary WiFi is a useful bonus.

The catering is also well executed, both at the wedding reception and during a dinner in the lounge bar. I was initially apprehensive that a venue of this size would serve by mass-catering, but was pleasantly surprised. The breakfast selection is perfectly respectable and, despite the high number of guests, there was always enough food and seating for everyone.

All in all, it's not a hotel I would have chosen myself due to its less-accessible location (as I don't drive - otherwise it's just 45 minutes from Heathrow), but am glad my friend had chosen the Oxford Belfry Hotel for her wedding as it would have been a shame to have missed out on this hotel's hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiCheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear DubaiCheuk,
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay here and in particular your friend's wedding! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the event as well as the facilities of the hotel. We are in an ideal location for guests flying in to Heathrow as it is such a short transfer to here and I am glad that it all worked out well for you.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    596
    243
    106
    63
See reviews for
243
654
38
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I attended a business meeting at The Oxfrd Belfry and found the care and attention fron the staff to be exceptional. The room was a beautifully furnished and decorated, the bed comfortable and the bathroom was a great size and clean. The food was excellent, both in the restaurant and the buffet lunch provided for th meeting room.I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Steve B,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review; I am pleased to read that your stay with us for your business meeting was a success and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked at the very last minute and the price was far better booking through the hotel and was very fast and efficient. We arrived approx 21.30 and were greeted by two receptionist who were both very friendly and efficient. We were given our room key and then the layout of the hotel was explained to us and we were asked did we require a snack if so not a problem and also shown where the bar was. We went to our room which was very clean and a good size and also had a safe which was great and tea and coffee making facilities. We unpacked and then decided to go to the bar. The bar staff were both very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our drinks.
We had booked for breakfast the next day and the breakfast was very good, lots of choice and the hot table was hot and the staff again very helpful and friendly.

Overall we had a great stay and would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. The price was excellent for two sharing

Room Tip: we were allocated a room on the ground floor which wasnt a problem but next time would go for a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel1698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Hazel1698,
i am pleased to read that you found your last minute booking direct with the hotel was best value for you and that the team looked after you well. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. It is always worth letting us know your room preferences and we will do our best to accommodate them!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I decided on Saturday evening to go away on Sunday for a night. We chose Oxfordshire and stumbled upon The Oxford Belfry. We were greeted by very friendly, helpful staff, and pleasant clean surroundings. Although we dined elsewhere that evening, we had a satisfactory breakfast on Monday morning that ticked all of the boxes. Two minutes from the M40 it was in the perfect location and we would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Frances B,
I am delighted to read that your last minute decision to have a night away resulted in you discovering The Oxford Belfry; thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our daughter had her wedding here a year ago and we returned for a night for our own wedding anniversary.
We came back because we had been so impressed before, although have been disappointed in the past when returning to previous good experiences elsewhere, Not so here . . . It was truly excellent.

Sometimes it's just the simple things that you don't always think of . . .
Plenty of easy, near the door car parking
Free WiFi throughout the hotel and in room
Good Coffee at the bar and in the room

We had a fantastic meal in the restaurant and cannot thank Liam enough for such personal and professional service.

We will definitely return again and would recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting/needing to stay near Oxford.

Room Tip: QStar rooms are Great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Brian R,
Fantastic review, thank you so much. I am delighted to read that your return stay was a success and that Liam looked after you well. Happy Anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achterveld, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is conveniently situated close to exit 7 of the M40. It's about a 20 minute drive to Oxford itself. The hotel advertises with being situated on a 17 acre estate but don't let yourself be fooled by this: there is nothing estate-like about it, it's almost on the M40. Rooms are OK, but ours was smelly. Reception staff was friendly but clearly not from the area (we asked for directions to Garsington which they had never heard about, although the hotel is recommended on the Garsington website). Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PvLAchterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear PvLAchtervelt,
Thank you for your review; I am sorry that a couple of issues arose for you but hope that overall the hotel suited your requirements for visiting the Garsington Opera events.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here last week, and really could not fault it. Staff are efficient, helpful, friendly and cheerful. Nothing was to much trouble, and although there was no lift , the porter helped my husband who was injured. The room was spacious ( although brown is a bit dismal) and very clean. The leisure complex is nice and a good warm pool.

The food was the highlight though - we had a Greek sharing plate and it was excellent. The breakfast was great with good choice. Nice surroundings to sit and relax. Can really recommend this one

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinternwexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear tinternwexford,
Thank you for your comments; I'm delighted that your stay was an enjoyable one and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
7.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.9 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
1.6 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
8.3 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,763 reviews
10.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Property: The Oxford Belfry
Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
The Oxford Belfry Oxfordshire/Milton Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing