We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good all round”
Review of The Oxford Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oxford Belfry
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
essex
Level Contributor
220 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Really good all round”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lovely Hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, good food, clean, nice rooms and beds, Has it all really. A short drive to park and ride gets you to Oxford quite quickly and conveniently. And nearby Thame is worth a visit, especially if you like kitchen shops of which there seem to be more than average. The big one is great. Pool is a bit small

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylover00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear holidaylover00,
I am delighted to read that all aspects of your stay with us were a success; thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    584
    235
    103
    61
See reviews for
236
639
37
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chigwell, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Absolutely loved my time here! Such a visually amazing hotel, great location, great friendly staff and best of all.... The best breakfast I ever had(3 helpings).

I stayed 1 night as I had a nhs event here early the next morning. Upon arrival the lively lady at reception did my check in super fast and directed me to my room. Room was in immaculate condition and was cosy and welcoming. Next morning woke up, had a shower then dug into the great breakfast of eggs, bacon, tomatoes andsome hash Brownies which was fabulous. Checkout was easy.

Next time I plan to visit Oxford I will definitely be staying here. 5/5 from a very happy customer!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Marcus G,
Thank you so much for your kind comments and I am delighted that your stay was such a successful one! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lovely hotel ideally situated to visit Oxford. A 5min drive to free park and ride (used our bus passes so no cost to us at all) The staff were pleasant and helpful , breakfast was a bit hectic on Sat morning with cutlery , teapots etc being in short supply . The girl doing the toast worked very hard under difficult circumstances with a not very cooperative toaster ,but apart from that no problems. I was impressed with the quality and decor of the bedrooms and the easy to use radiator/heater on the wall. Overall I was more than happy with my stay and would not hesitate to use the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HemingwayEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear HemingwayEastbourne,
Thank you for your review; I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and made the most of our convenient location to visit Oxford. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed hear whilst attending a business conference. I was upgraded on check in to a Q Suite which was a lovely spacious room, the staff were all friendly and helpful and the food at lunchtime and breakfast was good quality, well cooked and tasty.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Q suite well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Jude H,
Thank you for your comments; I am delighted that your stay with us for a conference was a successful one!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I travelled here for business and the company had not let them know in advance that I would need dietary requirements, yet they immediately catered for me, providing separate platter for me at the buffet, that if you are a coeliac- was not just a ham salad!! I was there tues- fri and will be there again for the next two weeks. The rooms were comfy, the gym and pool are a bit small but big enough for the amount of people, I did not have to wait to get on any machine and could swim easily. Would recommend for business and if visiting the area as not far from the M40.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Emma1503,
Thank you so much for your comments and I am pleased to read that your special requirements were catered for so easily. We look forward to welcoming you back next week!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife & I would like to thank all the staff of the Oxford Belfry for an excellent weekend. The most friendly staff at any UK hotel, we have ever stayed in. We ask for a room in a quiet location and they certainly complied. Room / food were all 5 star. Thank you everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Peter J,
This is praise indeed! Thank you so much for your kind comments and I am delighted that you were looked after so well. I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend for two nights and got a very good deal including all meals and two spa treatments. We had a twin room of a good size. Plenty big enough for us. Room and bathroom very clean, the only negative comment I can make is that the bathroom could do with an update as it is a little dated.
The food was excellent with a huge selection. My friend is a vegetarian and had a great choice to choose from. Our highest praise has to go to the waiting staff who were friendly and happy to help with any requests. A special mention to Alice, our waitress on our first night, and to Liam, the restaurant manager who had the measure of us and were happy to laugh and joke with us with makes for an all round happier experience.
The spa treatments we had were good and the spa facilities are ok given the small space they have.
The reception staff were helpful and friendly.
All in all I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TheAdamsFamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear TheAdamsFamily,
Thank you for taking the time to note your comments. I'm delighted to read that you were looked after well; we aim to please! We hope to welcome you and your friend back again soon!
Kind regards,
Julian White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
7.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1.9 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
8.8 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
1.6 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
8.3 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#10 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Property: The Oxford Belfry
Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
The Oxford Belfry Oxfordshire/Milton Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing