We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff. Lovely stay.”
Review of The Oxford Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oxford Belfry
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here with a friend for two nights and got a very good deal including all meals and two spa treatments. We had a twin room of a good size. Plenty big enough for us. Room and bathroom very clean, the only negative comment I can make is that the bathroom could do with an update as it is a little dated.
The food was excellent with a huge selection. My friend is a vegetarian and had a great choice to choose from. Our highest praise has to go to the waiting staff who were friendly and happy to help with any requests. A special mention to Alice, our waitress on our first night, and to Liam, the restaurant manager who had the measure of us and were happy to laugh and joke with us with makes for an all round happier experience.
The spa treatments we had were good and the spa facilities are ok given the small space they have.
The reception staff were helpful and friendly.
All in all I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank TheAdamsFamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear TheAdamsFamily,
Thank you for taking the time to note your comments. I'm delighted to read that you were looked after well; we aim to please! We hope to welcome you and your friend back again soon!
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,178 - 1,184 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Yet another QHotel Success. OK its aimed at the buissness end of the market, with conference rooms etc, but is does it so well.
I have a suite in this hotel, being the far end of the hotel (with a great view, and Red Kites outside) the only downside was the waning Wifi signal, but this was mainly only in my main room and was good in my bedroom. The hotel is clean, with very helpful and friendly staff, the food is good, with a bar area style menu and a restaurant menu, depending on your mood. I did complain about the size of my Fish in the Bar menu and I received an immediate apology and the pate was whisked away and a more satisfactory plate full replaced in no time.
I was working in Oxford and found the location to be great, and I had a really good nights sleep, on both nights.
I did try to go to the Spa/Gym and found it too busy ... ok so it probably didnt take too much negative persuasion to cut straight to the bar rather than a gym. I would definitely be staying here again. You can always rely on QHotels for quality sleep, great service and food!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dillbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Dillbert,
Thank you for your kind comments; I am delighted that we provided everything you required for your stay whilst working in Oxford. As we're located outside the city itself, as you mention, a quiet night's sleep is guaranteed, yet we're near enough to easily go back again! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

See my other review of the weekend. We were celebrating our 18th wedding anniversary and booked the hotel at short notice paying a small fortune for a large Suite with a bathroom, separate toilet and lounge area. It was excellent. the room was very lovely, overlooking a quiet beautiful garden. The bed large and comfortable and all spotless. Mini bar included int he room rate and papers delivered.

We went down to the little spa and pool which did the trick in the morning before breakfast. We did have to walk through the lounge to get to it so that was a worry, us in our white toweling robes and people looking up from their breakfast table.

The breakfast is buffet style and the waiter brings you tea and coffee. The breakfast was hot, very clean area, and very tasty. They had a wedding so it was a full house and it didn't phase any of the staff and the breakfast was plentiful for all. For the price I would recommend this hotel to anyone and in particular the catering. After a rubbish experience at Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons it was such a relief to get what you are expecting at a decent price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear collyb,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review; I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you at short notice and that we offered everything you needed in order to enjoy and celebrate your special occasion.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

From the warm welcome at reception to friendly maid service we couldn't fault our stay. All areas were clean and tidy and the changing rooms for the pool were the best we have experienced. Excellent pool and sauna. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from reception or go for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Ian O,
Excellent, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back!
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a 2-night dinner, bed and breakfast package thanks to the QHotels Breakaway Club that was really good value. Dinner on the first night was much better than the second, for me, although my companion was content with his meals. Staff tried hard, and we had a larger than average room with everything we needed. It was a bit gloomy though due to the position of the window. Our 'complimentary' newspapers had to be taken off the bill at checkout. We used the spa and gym, pleased with both. All in all, a relaxing and pleasant stay at a hotel we would be happy to revisit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snailrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear snailrunner,
I am pleased to read that you had a relaxing stay with us and I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Thank you for your review!
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I are just back from a 3 night stay (our first at this particular Q hotel). All the staff we encountered were very professional, friendly & helpful. Check in was efficient and upon learning that we planned to go into Oxford over the weekend, the receptionist was very helpful giving us details of times & fares of the nearest park and ride and a map of the city centre, marking out the route that the bus would take.

Our room, at the back of the hotel was clean, spacious, & with a good size bathroom. It was very quiet and peaceful enabling us to sleep well.

We dined in the restaurant on Friday & Saturday evening and were impressed with the choices on the menu for the inclusive tariff. We were pleasantly surprised to see that Saturday's Menu differed slightly from Friday's one (usually they are the same on both evenings at other Q hotels we have stayed in). The food was delicious, nicely presented and the portion sizes were very good indeed.

Breakfasts on all 3 days were lovely, in plentiful supply and there were plenty of staff on duty to keep up with the demand.

Checkout was smooth and efficient and we will certainly book this hotel again the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthamptonRicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear NorthamptonRicho,
Excellent review, thank you! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. We have some fantastic breaks available for the Summer months, so do take a look at the website.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good location easy to find and large car parks, excellent rooms and facilities, good choice of food for our group and well managed timings. Effecient service, comfortable beds and great bathrooms.
Breakfast was a little ordinary.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the spa it is well run, some sooms have been refurb'd and are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBjwhite, General Manager at The Oxford Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Lynne S,
Thank you for your feed back; I am pleased to read that we offered everything you required during your training conference and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Julian White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
1.9 mi away
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
1.6 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
7.5 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,861 reviews
10.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
570 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#26 of 44 in Oxford
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxford Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Belfry

Address: London Road, Milton Common OX9 2JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range: $121 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 17 acres of beautiful Oxfordshire countryside, yet within minutes of the M40, The Oxford Belfry, with 154 luxury bedrooms, is the perfect venue from which to explore Oxford and the surrounding area. The hotel offers bright, modern public areas including Terrace Bar, Restaurant and Lounges, Leisure Club and Spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room, 7 spa treatment rooms, tennis courts, and outstanding conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oxford Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Oxford
The Oxford Belfry Oxfordshire/Milton Common

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing