We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely retreat in Oxfordshire countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Certificate of Excellence
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat in Oxfordshire countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Spent a lovely week staying at this very nice hotel. It is set in beautiful countryside with its own golf course. It also has a spa for those not interested in golf. Rooms are very spacious, with luxury bathrooms. Very quiet as a long way from main road. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    245
    95
    28
    38
See reviews for
75
304
10
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Staff are really friendly and helpful. The room was fine, nice shower, little bit mean on teabags, but was enough in the end. Food was really good - had the squid and the salmon, husband had the woodland mushrooms and the lamb. Service was excellent.

The sauna was good, steam room a bit too smelly and the pool was lovely - all very quiet. Changing room even had GHDs which was quite helpful!

All in all a little bit on the pricey side but couldn't fault the location and the service, didn't get to play golf but maybe next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceblueLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had a very enjoyable one night stay at this hotel last Saturday. In general we thought that it was very good overall however there were a few "buts" that stopped it from rating as excellent.
On arrival my first thoughts were that the hotel had a drab feel to it. It certainly is not dirty or scruffy but a clean of the eaves and a bit of paint here and there wouldn't go amiss.
Internally it's much better, a mixture of old and new with very few signs of tiredness.
The check in was pleasant and our "superior" room Nr 305 was good but there were a few largish scuffs on the wall paper, a small stain on the bed throw and only one regular tea bag, It was clean and pleasant enough but you do have to expect a little wear and tear.
The view wasn't particularly great and perhaps a little plant screening would improve the vista.
Obviously it is very much a golfers hotel and at meal times the room was was full with many groups of men complete with polo necks under shirts, little books and pencils. On occasions the golf clap trap can get a bit too loud and therefore be aware that the restaurant isn't a place where I would choose for a quiet romantic meal. The restaurant was also a little dim, so dim that I struggled to read the menu and had to ask for the lighting to be turned up a fraction. What was surprising was the fact that although reasonably full, there were very few people in the restaurant. We saw only 4 other tables occupied on the night and unbelievably there was no one at all in the bar. Probabaly this was because the room was quite cold so unfortunately we too decided not to bother with an after dinner drink. Surely this lack of use of these areas must be telling the management something. In fairness I don't think it was anything to do with the quality of food or drink as what we had thought was very good although my IPA ale was warmer than the red wine.
The smallish leisure facilities just about do their job, the gym is adequate but the pool area is a little stark and compact, I would like to run a tape over the "15.0m" pool. There is a decent sauna, steam room and jacuzzi which are a good place to relax. We didn't use the spa.
Breakfast was served in the larger dining room. There was a reasonable but not extensive choice and variety of hot & cold options. Generally all seemed well cooked and reasonable quality apart from the baked beans that were a dried up mess and the fried eggs that could have survived the first tee. We pointed this out to the waitress who to her credit promptly had them replaced but I was surprised that no one else seemed to have noticed this.
All the staff we encountered were very efficient, pleasant & courteous and I have no buts.
So overall a pretty good experience but we were expecting just slightly more for our money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurryholicDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, has good quality rooms, but...the food is just terrible. First : panini in the bar was just awful (really tough piece of ham); dinner was worse (re-heated duck, disgusting inedible beef, tasteless sticky toffee pudding). And as for breakfast : the sausages, bacon and tomatoes were completely dry and devoid of taste. All served cold. The eggs were fine. How difficult is it to get basic cooking right ?!? Such a shame, because otherwise this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I had booked the tranquility spa package and had expected high standards having seen pictures on the website. I sent an email to the hotel following the telephone booking but received a response. Upon arrival we were informed that a booking hand not been made and given that we driven from london we we clearly disappointed. We were told that someone had blocked treatments for 2 hours but nothing else. It was assumed that whoever booked this had intended this booking to be for us and so we were offered a 45 minute treatment instead of the 4 treatments we were expecting.

I was however very pleased with the massage. The treatment rooms were relaxing but there were too few treatment rooms for any real group package.

The facilities were very basic and I had expected them to be better for the price paid. The swimming area, sauna and steam room were very basic and the changing rooms were simple, as if you were at a normal gym instead a luxury hotel.

We had lunch at the restaurant and paid £18. The food choice was limited and there was nothing special about the food. The price of the food was too expensive as the quality of food was standard. However the dessert menu was more impressive and more enjoyable.

We had intended to stay overnight but were happy that we decided against this. There is nothing surrounding the hotel apart from tr golf course and we are not keen on the golf. The spa facilities are also not enough I keep you entertained for more than half a day.

During our half day the spa there was not enough staff. We were in a rush to visit Oxford at the of the day but had to wait for 20 minutes to make payment as no was was at the reception. We were required to call the main reception who had to find an employee to assist.

Overall my experience was poor. The spa did not respond to my email prior to booking and there as no conformation I booking. although the spa had tried to fit us in there was no subsequent client care. I will not be returning and would not recommend this for a spa day/retreat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cynthia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has excellent facilities. The staff were all very friendly, and polite on all occasions. I had a executive room, which had everything that I would expect, very clean, excellent facilities, lots of little extras. The only problem that I had was the private balcony had two cigarette stubs on the floor, and a large cobweb that looked as if it had been there sometime, by the amount of flies and bugs on it.
I would strongly recommend this hotel, and as it is a very high standard, the drinks are expensive with a small bottle of beer at £4.40.
The golf course is in excellent condition, is very well designed. The green keepers are a credit to the the Oxfordshire, with some very challenging holes, the 17th is a very special.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire,England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

No complaints. Friendly efficient staff, food in restaurant good. Good sized exec bedroom with comfortable bed and soft pillows. Pool deep and spar and gym very clean. Cool in gym as air conditioned, as was the room, which is unusual for
This price of 4 star.
Will stay here again

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank robert i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
1.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
9.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.4 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
10.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel

Property: The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Address: Rycote Lane, Milton Common OX9 2PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxfordshire's hotel & Spa offers 50 en-suite contemporary guest rooms, 6 flexible conference rooms, accommodating from 4 to 190 guests, the new Sakura restaurant, luxury Tempus health & fitness spa and an 18-hole championship golf course. Located just outside the vibrant historic, university town of Oxford, the hotel is perfectly located for a city break, golf weekend, business or private event and being just off junction 7 of the M40, it is easily accessible from all major airports and local rail links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oxfordshire Golf Club Hotel Milton Common
The Oxfordshire Golf Club And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing