We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Spa experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing Spa experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I had booked the tranquility spa package and had expected high standards having seen pictures on the website. I sent an email to the hotel following the telephone booking but received a response. Upon arrival we were informed that a booking hand not been made and given that we driven from london we we clearly disappointed. We were told that someone had blocked treatments for 2 hours but nothing else. It was assumed that whoever booked this had intended this booking to be for us and so we were offered a 45 minute treatment instead of the 4 treatments we were expecting.

I was however very pleased with the massage. The treatment rooms were relaxing but there were too few treatment rooms for any real group package.

The facilities were very basic and I had expected them to be better for the price paid. The swimming area, sauna and steam room were very basic and the changing rooms were simple, as if you were at a normal gym instead a luxury hotel.

We had lunch at the restaurant and paid £18. The food choice was limited and there was nothing special about the food. The price of the food was too expensive as the quality of food was standard. However the dessert menu was more impressive and more enjoyable.

We had intended to stay overnight but were happy that we decided against this. There is nothing surrounding the hotel apart from tr golf course and we are not keen on the golf. The spa facilities are also not enough I keep you entertained for more than half a day.

During our half day the spa there was not enough staff. We were in a rush to visit Oxford at the of the day but had to wait for 20 minutes to make payment as no was was at the reception. We were required to call the main reception who had to find an employee to assist.

Overall my experience was poor. The spa did not respond to my email prior to booking and there as no conformation I booking. although the spa had tried to fit us in there was no subsequent client care. I will not be returning and would not recommend this for a spa day/retreat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cynthia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    268
    110
    30
    40
See reviews for
86
339
12
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has excellent facilities. The staff were all very friendly, and polite on all occasions. I had a executive room, which had everything that I would expect, very clean, excellent facilities, lots of little extras. The only problem that I had was the private balcony had two cigarette stubs on the floor, and a large cobweb that looked as if it had been there sometime, by the amount of flies and bugs on it.
I would strongly recommend this hotel, and as it is a very high standard, the drinks are expensive with a small bottle of beer at £4.40.
The golf course is in excellent condition, is very well designed. The green keepers are a credit to the the Oxfordshire, with some very challenging holes, the 17th is a very special.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire,England
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

No complaints. Friendly efficient staff, food in restaurant good. Good sized exec bedroom with comfortable bed and soft pillows. Pool deep and spar and gym very clean. Cool in gym as air conditioned, as was the room, which is unusual for
This price of 4 star.
Will stay here again

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank robert i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

we were one of 4 couples that stayed here for one night recently. there is a nice spikes bar for use before and after playing on a good golf course, which the 4 guys played. the women could not have any spa treatments as they were full due to a wedding-although we did not see one on the Friday. we had contacted the spa some weeks previous and this is what we were informed.the restaurant food was good for dinner and the buffet breakfast was more than adequate. the staff for both meals were very good. it was the reception check in that was a carry on. first we were given one room, so that we could charge items to the room on behalf of all of us. several items that we all had before and after golf were never accepted by the cash register. our room was still not ready after 3pm so we were given another room. 2 of the other couples were given the same room! needless to say that when we came to check out, it was confusion all round. some items were on our invoice and some were on others. just as well that the Friday reception staff were not on duty Saturday as Rachel was a star in sorting it all out for us.

Room Tip: most rooms appear to have a car park outlook but you could always ask for something better-if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seesee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We were late checking in but David at reception was so friendly and pleasant. Our room was just lovely, clean and comfortable. We all slept well.
The toiletries and shower were wonderful. One thing however, I locked the bathroom door and was then unable to open it! Luckily hubby was able to open it from the outside. I did mention it at checkout and they noted the hotel room so I'm trusting that they got it sorted.
Staff at breakfast were very welcoming and we had a table overlooking the golf course. I was a little disappointed that there was no fresh fruit salad but I had some lovely Greek yoghurt with seeds. I then ordered boiled eggs with soldiers, hubby had cooked breakfast with poached egg and another member of our party had eggs benedict. Everything was lovely.
Check out was straightforward. We would like to go back to the Oxfordshire.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MajRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwent
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fantastic hotel and room for disabled perfect Had already asked hotel what rate for cab from oxford station- my daughter was charged £45 Me £30 so get price agreed beforehand Even single rooms booked had king beds and sitting area very spacious would recommend this and stay again

Room Tip: Asked for rooms without stairs really accommodating staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwentherbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The amazing views make a wonderful back drop for wedding photos. The service at the wedding breakfast was excellent. We were impressed with the waiting team and the maitre d'. Beautiful rooms and a secluded and cosy bar area.
Breakfast, the morning after, was faultless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
1.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,709 reviews
3.4 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
9.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
24.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
9.0 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel

Property: The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Address: Rycote Lane, Milton Common OX9 2PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxfordshire's hotel & Spa offers 50 en-suite contemporary guest rooms, 6 flexible conference rooms, accommodating from 4 to 190 guests, the new Sakura restaurant, luxury Tempus health & fitness spa and an 18-hole championship golf course. Located just outside the vibrant historic, university town of Oxford, the hotel is perfectly located for a city break, golf weekend, business or private event and being just off junction 7 of the M40, it is easily accessible from all major airports and local rail links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oxfordshire Golf Club Hotel Milton Common
The Oxfordshire Golf Club And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing