We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. 20 mins drive from Oxford or Bicester. The local village Thame is handy. Not far from the Morse Tv series places of interest and similarly for the Midsummer Murders local places of interest. So, good location. We stayed in an Executive Room. Good size, spotless and ideal. Breakfast room service was reliably on time. All good. Spa facilities handy too.

Would recommend. One very minor issue. Had a balcony but the view was over a car park. As the hotel was adjacent to a golf course seemed odd not to have rooms overlooking the grounds.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Petrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 806 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We did not use the hotel to stay in but did turn up for breakfast which was very good and available until noon.
I have played this course some 100+ times since it originally opened even joining briefly as a member until the slow play that be-devils many golf courses with hotels got the better of me.
The golf course is still in pretty good shape although the greens are not as fast as they have been in the past and the fairways were full of divots showing that at sometime in the last few weeks its being over-played and by people that have little etiquette, again a sign of hotel guests, as most members would care and replace and repair!
In my previous visits I have also never seen so many un-repaired pitch marks on the greens. May I suggest a repairing fork is given out FOC with every card? Considering the green fee payable this might just jog a few peoples memories?
I just don't get this place................when we booked for a Sunday round we were told they were very busy, we accepted a tee time later than we ideally wanted due to a two tee start earlier only to find ourselves with no one in front of us pretty much all the way round? We had the whole back nine to ourselves, we were not complaining as this made for a quick round but surely on a Sunday this is not ideal as a business?
In the bar afterwards we were the only people, how can that be on a Sunday? When I went to order a second round there were no staff?
In the totally empty bar they even have a long, large table " reserved for members"................. are they living in the Dark Ages? This is not a great way to ingratiate to hotel guests and green fees. Maybe its a way of frightening off potential new members?
As always the staff we met were polite and friendly but surely they need to inject some life into this place?
Shame as a lovely course with a very very soulless clubhouse.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Was taken for birthday treat by my boyfriend as had wanted to play course for long time. Unfortunately weather was poor with rain and driving wind which was so bad that my brolley blew into lake and sunk without trace - lost for ever! The course was great and in excellent condition. Disappointing that pool was out of action so didn't try spa which was a shame. Dinner and breakfast were good. Want to come back in better weather to play course again!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jax1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Visited the Spa today with 3 friends for a Groupon offer. We had a lovely day! The treatments were very good. Pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were really clean and we had them to ourselves for a lot of the time. Lunch was delicious and the restaurant looks out over the golf course and the Ridgeway in the distance.
Sometimes you feel a bit like the poor relations when you take up one of these offers, but that was not the case at all today!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

A lovely location and was pleased on arrival to get an early check in. The room was a good size with a massive Samsung TV and White Company toiletries in the bathroom. Massive queen size bed, a power shower and decent breakfast topped things off. Only observation is that the room felt a little tatty round the edges - a minor point but a star knocked off for this.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank davehelen1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I requested an early check as I was attending a wedding, actually arrived a hour before official check in but there were no rooms available so had to get changed in the locker room.

The room was lovely but there was only a patio door and no window that could be opened so ended up leaving the door open all night. No phone reception either.

I paid quite a bit of money for the room but on reflection, I feel it was too much.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed recently with my wife and another couple (boys golf/girls spa).
Golf
This course has long been on my list of courses to play, having regularly played Dale Hill and Chart Hills (from the same Leaderboard group) which are both excellent too. The golf course was in excellent condition, fairways lush and the greens not only looked good but putted well. It seems its always windy there, so a few challenging shots into the wind. As others have said holes 8, 11 and 17 are pretty spectacular with lots of water in play. First time we've played there and would love to go again. Very enjoyable resort course with generous fairways and with the exception of the water not too much trouble (unless very wayward!).
Also appreciated our tee time being brought forward before a large society went out.
Spa
The girls enjoyed their treatments but felt that calling a small pool, hot much and steam room a spa was a little ambitious.
Hotel
Our room was plenty big enough, bed was comfortable and we had a partial view of the field. The bathroom was big enough with a large walk in shower and separate bath. There were some marks on a couple of walls but nothing to get excited about and over all found the room comfortable. Clearly would need to tidy up if they wanted to push for being a 5 star resort.
We stayed on a DBB basis and enjoyed the dinner at the Sakura restaurant. My wife had decided she wanted creme brulee for dessert from the main menu and the waiter kindly obliged. Excellent service.

Over all a very enjoyable break and recommend it.

Room Tip: If you want early check in call reception 5pm the day before you arrive
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
1.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,746 reviews
9.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.4 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
624 reviews
10.2 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,810 reviews
24.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel

Address: Rycote Lane, Milton Common OX9 2PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range: $141 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxfordshire's hotel & Spa offers 50 en-suite contemporary guest rooms, 6 flexible conference rooms, accommodating from 4 to 190 guests, the new Sakura restaurant, luxury Tempus health & fitness spa and an 18-hole championship golf course. Located just outside the vibrant historic, university town of Oxford, the hotel is perfectly located for a city break, golf weekend, business or private event and being just off junction 7 of the M40, it is easily accessible from all major airports and local rail links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oxfordshire Golf Club Hotel Milton Common
The Oxfordshire Golf Club And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing