We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star golf course 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“5 star golf course 4 star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed recently with my wife and another couple (boys golf/girls spa).
Golf
This course has long been on my list of courses to play, having regularly played Dale Hill and Chart Hills (from the same Leaderboard group) which are both excellent too. The golf course was in excellent condition, fairways lush and the greens not only looked good but putted well. It seems its always windy there, so a few challenging shots into the wind. As others have said holes 8, 11 and 17 are pretty spectacular with lots of water in play. First time we've played there and would love to go again. Very enjoyable resort course with generous fairways and with the exception of the water not too much trouble (unless very wayward!).
Also appreciated our tee time being brought forward before a large society went out.
Spa
The girls enjoyed their treatments but felt that calling a small pool, hot much and steam room a spa was a little ambitious.
Hotel
Our room was plenty big enough, bed was comfortable and we had a partial view of the field. The bathroom was big enough with a large walk in shower and separate bath. There were some marks on a couple of walls but nothing to get excited about and over all found the room comfortable. Clearly would need to tidy up if they wanted to push for being a 5 star resort.
We stayed on a DBB basis and enjoyed the dinner at the Sakura restaurant. My wife had decided she wanted creme brulee for dessert from the main menu and the waiter kindly obliged. Excellent service.

Over all a very enjoyable break and recommend it.

Room Tip: If you want early check in call reception 5pm the day before you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    245
    95
    28
    38
See reviews for
75
304
10
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

First the golf course:

Great course and a good 8/10 for fun, the 8th and 17th are great. Played in both windy and non windy conditions and in the wind it can be a killer.

The hotel:

Sadly lets this place down, the staff were great but for a hotel built 10 years ago it's already showing signs of disrepair. Not only that but the best part of the building is ugly as hell,made of concrete and looking like a 1970's council estate. This place could have been so much better but it just looks ugly from the outside. The rooms are small and really don't show any of the huge countryside and where we ate had little to no view. Why this is as the location is spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank depicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stansted, essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just arrived home from our annual golf trip. Stayed at this hotel from Tues-Thurs and could not fault this hotel one bit. Only downfall was the cold, wet and windy weather :(

Arrived on Tuesday, Had a nice lunch followed by a nice refreshing beer (little pricey, but normal hotel prices I guess, £3.90). Played 18 holes of golf on the championship course, was very impressed with the course and with only losing 1 ball (very good for me) !!.
Dinner was very nice, a very tasty pate with toast, followed by chicken, pots, and veg for main. and a delicious cheese cake for dessert.

The rooms were very nice, I stayed in room 106, very nice comfy bed with tv, nice furnishings, and nice spacious bathroom with walk-in shower and bath.
Hotels pool and spa was nice, the pool was a good size. Steam room and sauna were also nice after a long round of golf on the 2nd day to relief them aching joints and pains.

I would give this hotel a 8/10 and would defiantly go back if I had the chance, and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We booked to stay at the Oxfordshire as part of a mini-break to the area. We arrived two hours before check-in started but were able to check in to our room, which allowed us to change for a lunch reservation at a nearby restaurant. The front desk also booked us a taxi which arrived promptly and with a very pleasant driver.

The rooms are large and airy; and the beds big and comfy. Our room had both a bath and shower in the bathroom, it was nice to have the choice of one or the other, without the shower being over the bath! Overall the rooms are nice however they are lacking any information about the local area and they aren't particularly well sound proofed.

Breakfast was sufficient. The staff were attentive and the stock of food on the buffet well plenished, the elevated view over the golf course was an added bonus. If we were visiting the area again we would consider this hotel before looking anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickym27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Oxford Golf & Spa Resort
Stayed for one night in March. The hotel is set in the middle of and looking down over the golf course with lovely views all around as far as the eye can see with no road noise or other disturbances apparent, so top marks for setting. The car park is a good size but on a level above the hotel entrance, so whilst there are steps and a ramp it is not as convenient to wheel bags to and from your car, although you can drop off at the entrance too.
The reception was attractive and well staffed. We had booked through Expedia and there was a slight worry when they initially couldn't find the booking, but all was sorted after a little wait. The receptionists were reasonably friendly.
The hotel layout is more complex than the norm, and our room was some way away along several corridors, around a few bends and up a staircase or lift. This is a consequence of the hotel being laid out around a courtyard, and leads to the other disappointment in the room being the view. A good proportion of rooms look inwards to this area which whilst not untidy is a shame given the hotel setting.
The room itself was a standard size and well equipped, with a modern black and silver theme. The bed was comfy and large, the bathroom nicely laid out with a bath and shower and plenty of storage for clothing and suitcases, and a balcony looking out onto the courtyard. All quite decent.
The swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were nice, although the swimming pool is just too short for any proper swimming, further compromised by the jacuzzi projecting into it, making the full length only available to one swimmer. 3 people is really the maximum it can accommodate, although it was never that busy during our stay. The other facilities were a good size, and the lady on the spa reception was exceedingly friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was served in one of the large suites overlooking the golf course. There were plenty of staff on duty and the buffet counter was kept well stocked with a good selection of the usual continental and cooked food. Teas and coffees were brought to the table on demand and the waiter even smilingly obliged with a nice hot chocolate upon asking.
We had a nice walk around the course along the marked footpaths, and had some lovely views around sunset, although the going varies from asphalt to grass so sensible shoes are advisable.
The hotel has a coffee/tea room in addition to the restaurant and bar so there is a nice choice of refreshments available although the tea room is only open until 5pm.
Overall a very pleasant hotel, but compromised in a few discrete areas so nearer 4/5.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vodnici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Played 18 holes yesterday as the guest of a member and found the really strong winds made the course incredibly difficult. However it was in excellent condition and plays like a proper championship course. The thing that really spoilt it though was the ridiculously slow play of numerous 4 balls in front of us. It took 4 hours to get to the 12th and with no sign of a course ranger I phoned the clubhouse to complain. To their credit somebody appeared very quickly to try and resolve the issue. My advice would be play this course if you want a real challenge (We lost 14 balls between 3 of us!!) but check how busy it is beforehand, otherwise it's a full day on the course

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
britain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great Halfway spot to meet our friends from Bristol. Friendly & helpful staff at both hotel and golf course. Rooms extremely comfortable and well appointed. We had good choice of menu for our evening meal again with good service. Happy to recommend this venue to friends and anyone who is looking for a good weekend break.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellisdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
1.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
9.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.4 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
10.7 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel

Property: The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Address: Rycote Lane, Milton Common OX9 2PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxfordshire's hotel & Spa offers 50 en-suite contemporary guest rooms, 6 flexible conference rooms, accommodating from 4 to 190 guests, the new Sakura restaurant, luxury Tempus health & fitness spa and an 18-hole championship golf course. Located just outside the vibrant historic, university town of Oxford, the hotel is perfectly located for a city break, golf weekend, business or private event and being just off junction 7 of the M40, it is easily accessible from all major airports and local rail links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oxfordshire Golf Club Hotel Milton Common
The Oxfordshire Golf Club And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing