We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with a great (but windy) golf course”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Faultless hotel - great staff, perfect rooms and a wonderful breakfast the next morning.

The golf course is spectacular with every hole a different challenge. But be warned - it always seems to be windy there!

Can't wait to go again :)

Room Tip: Always ask if a discount is available on the rooms - unless they have a big event there, they are li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobSki-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 840 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just returned home after a short break in this local hotel. Thank you to Ann for our very warm welcome when we arrived. We had a lovely warm comfortable room. The staff provide an excellent service and were attentive throughout our stay. We ate both in the Bar and dining room. The food is very nice and they have a good wine menu. A nice relaxing break where we also enjoyed the use of the indoor pool.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seabreeze88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here as part of a wedding party, i cannot fault anything about this venue!

The rooms are large, modern and clean and the beds are massive (and comfortable) all the fittings are fantastic quality, with nice thick blackout curtains!

The bathroom was large with lovely 'white company' products and a seperate shower and bath.

We ate in the hotel, i had a large steak which was delicious.... On the second night we ordered a sandwich and again it was fresh and a generous portion!

The breakfast didnt offer a great deal of choice (no continental option of cheese, meats, etc) but the hot bits (such as sausage, bacon, eggs, etc) were all good quality.

The service was also very good, friendly and welcoming staff who were all willing to help.

A lovely weekend, would certainly recomend!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Apart from my Tom Tom letting us down. My phone app. was much better. Nice place for an overnight stay on Friday 30th November. Room was a good size and spotlessly clean. Staff were very friendly.

The breakfast was one of the best that I have had anywhere. Only sad that we forgot our swimming gear and could not avail ourselves of the Pool and Spa

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I spent a weekend here on 3rd November 2012 ,arrived in the afternoon and check in was very speedy. A lovely room with small balcony and great bathroom facilities. There is also a spa steam room and pool but I didnt use these preferring instead to go for a long walk around the golf course and enjoy the spectacular views.In the evening i attended a birthday party for a member oif my family, the room was lovely with views out over the golf course buffet food was very good . In the morning breakfast was served with a multiple choice including all cereals fruit tea and coffe and an extensive hot buffet aswell. Very comfortable room and bed lovely food and nice staff.The gol;f course also looked brilliant and there were lots of facilities there .All in all a lovely weekend only spoilt by the heavy rain on Sunday morning which stopped us going into Oxford or Thame for sight seeing but we know where this hotel is now and would go again.

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently for 1 night. The hotel itself was ok, quite nice decor... The room was nice and clean, However... our shower was faulty and did not drain...we approached reception regarding this on our way out to dinner (not in the hotel - too expensive!), the receptionist advised she would look at it!

On our return we stopped at reception to see what had been done...the girl looked annoyed we had interupted her conversation and advised that she had used a plunger! I asked if it was now draining, she said "i dont know, do you want me to check"...(I thought this would be the obvious thing to do!) but before i could answer, she advised that "there was nothing she could do now"...no room chage offer, no apology for poor service...

The breafast was ok, not amazing...

I guess it was all just a bit average and the shower issue and service we received was poor and disapointing. I wouldn't stay there again. Plus looking at Booking.com, some reviews refer to the drainage issue so it obviously is a problem they are yet to fix!

On a positive note, Thame is nearby and it is a wonderful little town, well worth a visit and some fab food including a Thai Restaurant (Red dragon) AMAZING!

Room Tip: 121 had shower drainage issues!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really comfortable room and splendid home cooked food. Spa well equipped with good sized pool. Tricky golf course but if you're long and a good putter then it's much easier than it looks. Staff were welcoming and attended to our needs efficiently.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordshireTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
1.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#1 of 2 in Milton Common
1,796 reviews
9.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.4 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,405 reviews
24.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel

Address: Rycote Lane, Milton Common OX9 2PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range: $130 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxfordshire's hotel & Spa offers 50 en-suite contemporary guest rooms, 6 flexible conference rooms, accommodating from 4 to 190 guests, the new Sakura restaurant, luxury Tempus health & fitness spa and an 18-hole championship golf course. Located just outside the vibrant historic, university town of Oxford, the hotel is perfectly located for a city break, golf weekend, business or private event and being just off junction 7 of the M40, it is easily accessible from all major airports and local rail links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oxfordshire Golf Club Hotel Milton Common
The Oxfordshire Golf Club And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing