We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and service....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great rooms and service....”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here as part of a wedding party, i cannot fault anything about this venue!

The rooms are large, modern and clean and the beds are massive (and comfortable) all the fittings are fantastic quality, with nice thick blackout curtains!

The bathroom was large with lovely 'white company' products and a seperate shower and bath.

We ate in the hotel, i had a large steak which was delicious.... On the second night we ordered a sandwich and again it was fresh and a generous portion!

The breakfast didnt offer a great deal of choice (no continental option of cheese, meats, etc) but the hot bits (such as sausage, bacon, eggs, etc) were all good quality.

The service was also very good, friendly and welcoming staff who were all willing to help.

A lovely weekend, would certainly recomend!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    262
    106
    30
    38
See reviews for
85
331
12
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Apart from my Tom Tom letting us down. My phone app. was much better. Nice place for an overnight stay on Friday 30th November. Room was a good size and spotlessly clean. Staff were very friendly.

The breakfast was one of the best that I have had anywhere. Only sad that we forgot our swimming gear and could not avail ourselves of the Pool and Spa

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I spent a weekend here on 3rd November 2012 ,arrived in the afternoon and check in was very speedy. A lovely room with small balcony and great bathroom facilities. There is also a spa steam room and pool but I didnt use these preferring instead to go for a long walk around the golf course and enjoy the spectacular views.In the evening i attended a birthday party for a member oif my family, the room was lovely with views out over the golf course buffet food was very good . In the morning breakfast was served with a multiple choice including all cereals fruit tea and coffe and an extensive hot buffet aswell. Very comfortable room and bed lovely food and nice staff.The gol;f course also looked brilliant and there were lots of facilities there .All in all a lovely weekend only spoilt by the heavy rain on Sunday morning which stopped us going into Oxford or Thame for sight seeing but we know where this hotel is now and would go again.

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently for 1 night. The hotel itself was ok, quite nice decor... The room was nice and clean, However... our shower was faulty and did not drain...we approached reception regarding this on our way out to dinner (not in the hotel - too expensive!), the receptionist advised she would look at it!

On our return we stopped at reception to see what had been done...the girl looked annoyed we had interupted her conversation and advised that she had used a plunger! I asked if it was now draining, she said "i dont know, do you want me to check"...(I thought this would be the obvious thing to do!) but before i could answer, she advised that "there was nothing she could do now"...no room chage offer, no apology for poor service...

The breafast was ok, not amazing...

I guess it was all just a bit average and the shower issue and service we received was poor and disapointing. I wouldn't stay there again. Plus looking at Booking.com, some reviews refer to the drainage issue so it obviously is a problem they are yet to fix!

On a positive note, Thame is nearby and it is a wonderful little town, well worth a visit and some fab food including a Thai Restaurant (Red dragon) AMAZING!

Room Tip: 121 had shower drainage issues!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really comfortable room and splendid home cooked food. Spa well equipped with good sized pool. Tricky golf course but if you're long and a good putter then it's much easier than it looks. Staff were welcoming and attended to our needs efficiently.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordshireTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is quite simply a golf hotel; if you're playing golf at the course then it's a no-brainer, if, however, you were using the hotel as a place to stay for business elsewhere then you may need to think harder.

Room was reasonable and on a par with other hotels in the £100 price bracket. It was clean and well presented but uninspiring. Also, unfortunately the hotel had suffered a power surge and so there were no TVs working in the hotel which was a bit annoying but not their fault. Food in the morning was ok and the bar area was again ok although it feels like a golf clubhouse because it is a golf clubhouse!

Look back, everything was ok but I couldn't help but feel like I was staying at a golf club that had some rooms rather than at a hotel which had a golf course! Don't think I would stay here again as surely there is more to life than just being "ok"?....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodders546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Travelled with disabled friend ,disabled facilities were so poor we had to leave early as friend so distressed by inadequate facilities. Could not access shower as there was a threshold ,so could not get into shower. Toilets in wrong place for wheelchairs .Toilets to low , not enough hand and grab rails.
In our room it was cold,not very clean and the shower tray did not emplty quickly enough and leaked onto the floor . Which I notice has been mentioned in a previous review . Poor value for money and a traumatic experience for my friend .

Room Tip: Go somewhere else if you are disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton Common
1.9 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,701 reviews
9.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.4 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
3.5 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel

Property: The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel
Address: Rycote Lane, Milton Common OX9 2PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Milton Common
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milton Common
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oxfordshire's hotel & Spa offers 50 en-suite contemporary guest rooms, 6 flexible conference rooms, accommodating from 4 to 190 guests, the new Sakura restaurant, luxury Tempus health & fitness spa and an 18-hole championship golf course. Located just outside the vibrant historic, university town of Oxford, the hotel is perfectly located for a city break, golf weekend, business or private event and being just off junction 7 of the M40, it is easily accessible from all major airports and local rail links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oxfordshire Golf Club & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oxfordshire Golf Club Hotel Milton Common
The Oxfordshire Golf Club And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing