We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Break in Cotswolds”
Review of Mill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Kingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Winter Break in Cotswolds”
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Overall very pleased with our choice of hotel. Stayed in better bedrooms but then you can't have it all and the character of the place was lovely. Food was excellent but we were slightly disappointed that the dinner menu was not changed nightly. Staff were brilliant. Didn't sleep well but thats a problem I find with the hard beds that are supplied nowadays so that is just a personal grumble.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    126
    46
    27
    26
See reviews for
77
237
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Booked this hotel for a romantic break in the Cotswolds. As soon as we were shown our room, I felt disappointed. The decor was very tired and dated, it really needs an update. The sink in the bathroom had a crack in it, the towel rail was hanging off the wall, the shower curtain looked dirty and there was no loo roll. Overall, it has a very 80s look about it. Dead flies in the picture frames and cheap ugly furniture in the rooms.
The food, on the other hand, is actually very good. I couldn't fault the service, which is a shame, because the decor is the easiest thing to fix.

Good location, good food, but terrible, terrible room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentShepster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mussidan, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Having dined at this wonderfully located hotel on several occasions my husband and I booked for the three day Christmas package as advertised. Included within the offer was a suggestion of a bonanza Christmas experience but regretfully it lacked seasonal cheer and ambiance although the restaurant upheld its reputation.

On Christmas Eve, Christmas night and Boxing Day night all other residents had 'retired' by 9.30pm from a SILENT lounge and restaurant devoid of any festive music or atmosphere. The promised candle lit suppers and carol singers failed to materialise (apparently table lights now substitute candles!) - unfortunately the carol singers were beaten by severe weather.

The rooms are from a bygone age and positively shabby and the bathrooms very much substandard with a total lack of expected amenities. If your expectation is a luxurious bathroom with a decent shower and a well appointed bedroom give this place a miss. Likewise, I would seriously consider staying at this hotel for a Christmas package if you are under the age of 65 and expect a fun and hearty experience particularly in the evenings.

When the Manager was challenged on the lack of atmosphere etc we were met with an unwillingness to accept any criticism coupled with positive rudeness/confrontation. Altogether an expensive and very disappointing Christmas experience - the blow being softened by good food, an excellent restaurant manager, chef and staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milliemackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We stayed for two nights on a deal with Travel Offers. The weather was freezing but our room was wonderfully warm and welcoming. In spite of previous comments on T.A the room and bathroom were clean and perfectly adeqate. My only complaint was that the bathroom radiator required bleeding, which I reported to reception after the first night, but nothing was done so the bathroom was quite cold ( a minor complaint ). The food was excellent and well presented and the service was very good. Overall my impression was of a very friendly, comfortable hotel which could only be improved by a slightly more "hands-on" management.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisbo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Excellent hotel, good food, good service, good value. Very friendly staff, especially in the restaurant. Only complaint was that our room was not ready on the day of arrival, until around 3.00.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in freezing conditions, using it as a base for exploring the cotswolds. They have an aspiring first class cheff who provided michelin star quality meals on both nights. With some parts of the hotel dating back to the 11th Centaury it has cozy bar area with wood fire, comfortable lounge and dining room. Service is 1st class. The rooms are comfortable rather than grand, and some are in the process of being re-furbrished but comfortable, clean and and well equipped. Loveley views over cotswold country.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ancientsubmariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

I stayed here for one night at short notice and only one night it will be. (If I could have accessed trip advisor that day I would not have stayed as the previous reviews tell a tale)

The staff were brilliant at their jobs and the food I thought very good. The room however tells a different story; very tired with a thoroughly antiquated bathroom. A previous reviewer described the bathroom as dire; yes dire describes it accurately. It may have been modern in the 60’s 70’s but not anymore. I was pleasantly surprised that the bath was white (bar the lime-scale and staining) and not avocado taking into account the rest of the room. That was small and ‘fusty’. Some lights did not work and the furniture was a contender for a poor person’s antiques road-show. I hate it when two beds are pushed together to make a double, you know if it’s happened to you too; the ‘crevice’ that torments you! I could go on but there is little point in labouring on.

On a much brighter note, the food and wine are a completely different story. Great flavours, presentation and choice. I liked the belly pork and I thought the portion sizes appropriate. The serving staff deserve to work somewhere with better rooms. Breakfast did not disappoint either and once again it was really good.

Don’t be fooled by the inviting website. Come and eat here, but don’t stay unless you like old, tired, dirty and basic.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gowerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Director of Sales at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on the Mill House Hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food Head Chef Matt Dare is certainly very talented.
I was sorry to hear about your disappointment with regards the bedrooms. However i am pleased to be able to tell you we are in the middle of a re-decoration program which is set to see all 23 bedrooms having a huge face lift by February 2010. I hope that you will come back to see the difference. We do have Zip and Link beds in order that we can accommodate twin rooms when they are needed, mattress topper can always be provided if requested to enable you a better nights' sleep.
Thank you for crediting the staff with being brilliant they are certainly a credit to the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingham
4.3 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#1 of 1 in Shipton under Wychwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Hotel

Property: Mill House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House Hotel is one of the last independent family owned hotels in the Cotswolds. Nestling in 10 acres of lawned gardens this converted flour mill is steeped in history dating back to the Domesday Book of 1086. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel And Restaurant
Mill Hotel Kingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing