We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Cotswold Hotel”
Review of Mill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Kingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Stayed at the Mill House Hotel recently and had a wonderful and relaxing time. The food is excellent, the staff friendly and courteous, and the hotel itself comfortable and tastefully decorated in an understated way. The gardens are lovely, especially by the river and since dogs are allowed, a great place to exercise them before dinner! All in all we had a most enjoyable time and hopefully will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDCLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 489 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2010

Was really impressed with this hotel. Had a great shorty stay recenlty. In particular the staff were friendly and efficient even though the hotel was busy and the food fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Just got back from two nights at the Mill House Kingham on their special two night deal.
It was very good value for money. We eat out a lot at home and the food at the Mill House
was excellent. The staff were all very pleasant and nothing too much for them. Lots of people there had been before which is always a good sign. One of my friends had recommended this to us having visited in November. The location is good as you can visit the various villages in the surrounding area. We loved Burford and also the Slaughters. We had a very enjoyable two nights stay and would recommend this hotel.
Perhaps not for youngsters as the clientele is mainly senior citizens.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleenmetcalfe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for our anniversary, hoping to have a bit of luxury for the special occasion. The food was good quality but the restaurant lacked any kind of atmosphere. Despite having lots of room to play with the waiting staff seated all the diners painfully close together and you had to whisper to have a private conversation, leaving the place with an awkward church like feel. The bedroom and views were nice, however the bathroom was just dire. It stank of cigarette smoke despite being a "no smoking" room and had a dirty shower curtain and generally dirty feel. There was no hot water pressure to the shower, just a trickle of ice cold water. I was very disappointed as it would not take much for this hotel to be really nice and it felt like they were trying to cut back and save money on essential things. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackieOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

This was our second visit to the Mill House and we had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and the service was great. The hotel is comfortable and homely although could do with a bit of freshening up as the room we stayed in was a little tired but clean and comfortable. A very relaxing venue set in some beautiful countryside. The food was excellent and the wine choices were good and reasonably priced. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekendsAwaySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We stayed here for a weekend and must say the staff were all very friendly and helpful.Service in the dining room was excellent as was the food, couldn't be faulted. Lovely gardens and views.
BUT the bedrooms were simply awful, very tired, cold and shabby.Not very clean either especially the bathroom.
Furniture was circa 1960's. Beds rock hard and lumpy pillows. The bathroom was just dire. Large crack in the sink and every time I showered the very inadequate shower head fell off the wall. Very poor toiletries.
Such a shame because with a minimum of investment and care this hotel could be lovely, as it is I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G.GREENWOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We went to view Mill House earlier this year as a potential venue for our wedding. The website makes it look cosy, modern and almost like a boutique hotel - don't be fooled. The bedding is tired and outdated, nothing seems clean, the communcal areas smell like an old folks' home, they woman showing us round made us wait on our own with no drinks or information for a good 20 minutes and there seemed to be no other staff in the whole place.

If I'd booked into the hotel based on the website I'd have been extremely disappointed and would probably have asked for my deposit back, as other people on here have. There are some lovely little hotels in the area, this is not one of them!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankieP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingham
5.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,332 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kingham Plough
The Kingham Plough
#3 of 5 in Kingham
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bluewood Lodges
Bluewood Lodges
#1 of 2 in Kingham
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kingham
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House Hotel is one of the last independent family owned hotels in the Cotswolds. Nestling in 10 acres of lawned gardens this converted flour mill is steeped in history dating back to the Domesday Book of 1086. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel And Restaurant
Mill Hotel Kingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing