We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Mill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Kingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Lovely hotel in great location staff could not be more friendly our room had great view of small river and grounds although I eoud put room at 3 star rating the rest of hotel is 4 star plus including the restaurant where we had two
great meals two evenings running the breakfast was the best standard ive had in a long while well done to the hotels owners and all the staff for a great stay

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul190784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Reception at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your break. We are refurbishing our rooms as quickly as we can so hopefully they will all be up to standard soon. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mill House Hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    128
    48
    27
    26
See reviews for
79
239
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have visited the mill house on several occasions over the last few years. At first it was very good, then it seemed to go off the boil a bit, was getting rather dated and tired looking. We gave a miss for a while. Then last October we decided to give it another go as it's in an area of the country we like very much, and we'd had an e mail telling us that it was under new ownership. We were delighted to find how much work had been done and how much was going to be done. The bar and lounge areas have swapped places and been given a makeover, and the entrance has been transformed, all very tastefully done.The new owner was very friendly and we had a lovely meal on both evenings,well presented and served. The breakfasts too were excellent. We are looking forward to returning soon to see what progress has been made!

Room Tip: As the bedrooms are all undergoing a makeover they should all be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Receptionist at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We have now refurbished the dining room as well and are working our way through the rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Have just returned from a wonderful few days in The Mill[our 3rd stay],in a beautiful room overlooking the Cornwell Brook,the grounds really are beautiful.Every request we made was answered with a 'yes'...we had breakfast in the room[as I am disabled,and ill in the mornings],we sometimes exchanged the evening meal for lunch,we ate in the comfy lounge,an extra mattress topper was provided to help with my back problems etc etc.Maria,the owner is very hands on and I must also mention James her son,Kayley,Sophie and all the staff who are courteous and helpful.
We had a long power cut one night which did not phase Maria and Co........in fact it was a little adventure!....no-one went hungry and t lights and little torches were handed out.
The only thing that was missing was our green woodpeckers,but we have already booked to return with my mother in law in the summer so we'll see them then!........can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: overlooking the Cornwell Brook is very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hectorzaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Receptionist at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments - we are just happy to be able to accommodate your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer and hope the green woodpeckers will appear for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous 2 night break, and felt immediately at home, and thoroughly spoilt, the owners and staff could not have done more to make us feel welcome, the food was exceptional and we loved the surroundings, had the weather been more amenable then we would have explored more.
It is so refreshing to find a hotel that readily accepts well behaved dogs without putting them and their owners in the worst room they have, as has been our experience in the past, we specifically requested a room near an exit door for those quick doggie needs, without having to disturb other residents and our request was fully met. Our room was lovely and over looked the gardens, on arriving we had the cream tea which was heavenly, taken in front of the roaring log fire, with the dogs at our feet.
We would highly recommend this hotel, and are looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: If travelling with dog's rooms 16 and 17 are the best for access to the outside, without disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Receptionist at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Just lunch out with my mother and my 99 yr old Nan...but second visit for them ..Lunch was fantastic from lovely tender chicken to great pudding..Great job of refurbishment and looking forward to visiting again when back in UK again..

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank alid_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Receptionist at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your lunch and look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Had a great couple of days here with a group of friends. It's a lovely hotel and in a very good location for exploring the Cotswolds.
The food was delicious and the staff at the hotel without exception were really friendly and helpful. We were made to feel very welcome.
I'm really looking forward to returning!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank loverealale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of the Mill House. I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked the new year break with our friends as group of 6 couples. The hosts and staff of the Mill House good not have been more friendly and helpful toward us. We were warmly greeted and the needs for two individuals of the group who have mobility issues were more than met, the wheelchair access to the upper level did require a quick external tour of the garden to reach the upper level via the bar door. The food served over the two day period was first class. The property is a converted watermill with some additional room extensions added, some of the bed rooms bathroom facilities were a bit tired, but the new owners have already devised a plan to their refresh the bedrooms and bathroom facilities, which has already commenced. I will be recommending this hotel to all friends as a must place to stay.

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaxmanwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Many thanks for your fabulous review of the Mill House. I'm delighted to hear that your group enjoyed their stay with us over the New Year period.
As you mention, work is now underway on the bathroom refurbishments and 2 have been completed already. We hope it won't be too long until they are all up to a high standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingham
4.3 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,062 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,161 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
316 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Hotel

Property: Mill House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House Hotel is one of the last independent family owned hotels in the Cotswolds. Nestling in 10 acres of lawned gardens this converted flour mill is steeped in history dating back to the Domesday Book of 1086. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel And Restaurant
Mill Hotel Kingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing