We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch out”
Review of Mill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Kingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Just lunch out with my mother and my 99 yr old Nan...but second visit for them ..Lunch was fantastic from lovely tender chicken to great pudding..Great job of refurbishment and looking forward to visiting again when back in UK again..

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank alid_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Receptionist at Mill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your lunch and look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 488 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Had a great couple of days here with a group of friends. It's a lovely hotel and in a very good location for exploring the Cotswolds.
The food was delicious and the staff at the hotel without exception were really friendly and helpful. We were made to feel very welcome.
I'm really looking forward to returning!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank loverealale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of the Mill House. I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked the new year break with our friends as group of 6 couples. The hosts and staff of the Mill House good not have been more friendly and helpful toward us. We were warmly greeted and the needs for two individuals of the group who have mobility issues were more than met, the wheelchair access to the upper level did require a quick external tour of the garden to reach the upper level via the bar door. The food served over the two day period was first class. The property is a converted watermill with some additional room extensions added, some of the bed rooms bathroom facilities were a bit tired, but the new owners have already devised a plan to their refresh the bedrooms and bathroom facilities, which has already commenced. I will be recommending this hotel to all friends as a must place to stay.

Room Tip: Ground Floor rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flaxmanwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Many thanks for your fabulous review of the Mill House. I'm delighted to hear that your group enjoyed their stay with us over the New Year period.
As you mention, work is now underway on the bathroom refurbishments and 2 have been completed already. We hope it won't be too long until they are all up to a high standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Maria and Paul have worked so hard to make this hotel a very friendly and welcoming place. The staff are pleasant, helpful and approachable, nothing is to much trouble for them. We stayed for three nights over New Years Eve, which was excellent. The food is always superb, and as I have problem with eating, the Chef managed to always find an alternative for me. The whole ambience of New Years Eve was really great, the dining room looked lovely, and the whole effort on everybodys part to make it a wonderful and happy occasion worked. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, so we will be back again . Look forward to seeing you soon.
Thank you. Rita and David

Room Tip: We had a room facing the garden lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Rita & David,

Many thanks for your wonderful review of your stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your New Year with us and approve of the changes made to improve the Hotel so far. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Booked to go to the mill house hotel over a year ago for a mini break after our wedding. Could not have chosen anywhere better. To start with, the atmosphere was superb, with a live band playing in the bar. The room was spacious, exceptionally clean and modern. And the food- phenomenal!!!! Would definitely book to stay again, absolutely wonderful

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you so much for your review of the Mill House. I'm so glad you enjoyed your honeymoon break with us. It was a pleasure having you to stay and we look forward to seeing you again, perhaps for your anniversary?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I went to Kingham on a one day trip with my friend and we had dinner at The Mill.
We both had a steak and it was really tasty and tender. The place was lovely and the staff were really nice.
Definitely a place I'd come again if I return to Kingham.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprilialarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Many thanks for your review of the Mill House. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed and brought some friends this time.What a lovely time we had, the staff are very friendly and helpful, lovely gardens, beautiful house and so peaceful. The food was excellent, there is not an extensive menu but what they served was pipping hot and a treat to eat.
After a trip to Blenheim Palace we returned mid afternoon for a bar snack and cream tea, hot scones, pot of jam and cream in the lounge of this lovely old converted mill, makes me smile recalling. Rooms were a good size with large comfy clean beds. Our friends agree we will all be back again.

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms have big windows facing the gardens lovely to look out with morning coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Many thanks for your review of the Mill House. We are so grateful to receive such a lovely review and we are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingham
4.3 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
975 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
737 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
355 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
569 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kingham
Price Range: $188 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House Hotel is one of the last independent family owned hotels in the Cotswolds. Nestling in 10 acres of lawned gardens this converted flour mill is steeped in history dating back to the Domesday Book of 1086. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel And Restaurant
Mill Hotel Kingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing