We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and exceptional service”
Review of Mill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Kingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
southampton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and exceptional service”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice this year and loved it both times. The hotel is just what you want for a weekend break away with friends or family. The staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble and the food is very very good. We stayed the first time with friends on a special summer deal with dinner included and it was outstanding value. We were lucky to have wonderful weather both times and so saw the hotel and grounds in a fantastic light but it would be equally lovely in the winter as I can imagine it would be very cosy inside with a roaring fire. Refurbishment is gradually being done, our room was not modern but very clean and comfortable with lovely touches such as home made cookies. It also had great views across the lawns to the stream. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. All in all a fabulous hotel and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vfpsouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Many thanks for your fabulous review of the Mill House. I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us so much.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    128
    48
    27
    26
See reviews for
79
241
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is not a cheap hotel and for the price you pay the whole experience is awful. The rooms are out of date and the owners completely out of touch- rude / surly, just terrible. We ate at the Wild rabbit down the road and immeditately regretted staying here. Don't make the same mistake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We are very saddened to receive your abrupt review of our hotel, which doesn’t really give us much detail to comment on. We are very surprised to hear that you found the owners quote “out of touch –rude/surly, just terrible”. This seems to be the complete opposite of our more recent reviews.

Our bedrooms & en-suites are in need of refurbishment (never something we have denied since the new owners took over last October) and this work is commencing next month and will continue in to the New Year until the point when all rooms have been completed to a very high standard.

We would encourage travellers who are planning on visiting us at the Mill House, to take the other recent fabulous reviews we have received into account, and therefore see this negative review as a mere aberration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for the weekend as part of a wedding party and were most impressed. The hotel and grounds were of a high standard and the staff were exceptional, as was the food. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mudloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Many thanks for your review of the Mill House. I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed the Wedding last weekend, and indeed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay t this hotel. Beautifully refurbished building in well maintained grounds with stream running through. We were able to eat on the terrace in front of the hotel, and also in the restaurant itself. Excellent, well served meals in spite of the restaurant and bar's popularity with the local villagers. This does speak well of the quality/value. The room, though on the small side, was very comfortable with country views from the window, no other house visible. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcigriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review of the Mill House. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Booked this on an Autumn Midweek Break deal

Cracking value in a great location and a nice welcome in the afternoon with a cream tea. We were very lucky with the late summer weather and this meant we could appreciate the surrounding grounds and walk across the local fields
Our labrador certainly enjoyed herself

The big draw here is the food which surpasses many a London City restaurant. The dinners (2 of them) and breakfasts were included in our package and I cannot rave highly enough about the quality of food and fantastic service from all staff
The bar area, outside terraces and restaurant area have obviously been subject to a refurb over last few years. Which brings me onto...

Unfortunately our room was extremely dated and needed a deep clean. Many would call this rustic charm but a shower almost unusable and bathroom furniture which resembled 1980's offices were a drawback. The bed was HUGE, clean and quite comfortable as very firm so that was fine. I don't know if all rooms are the same as ours and we may have had a lower standard as we did need a dog friendly room. Notwithstanding that IF that is the case I'd like to think us dog owners don't get downgraded!!! That aside the hotel being dog friendly is another bonus
A makeover on the room(s) and this place would sweep the board with top marks

We would revisit this hotel but may be swayed elsewhere if a dog friendly hotel offered same food standard and more luxurious rooms

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review after your recent stay at the Mill House.
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your wonderful comments about the food. I have to say I do agree with you, we are very lucky to have such a good Chef & his team.

I am sorry to hear about the disappointment with your room. I can assure you that we do not downgrade guests with dogs. We have 5 dog friendly rooms and these are allocated due to the ease of use for dogs.

Indeed all of our bedrooms need refurbishing and the new owners do have this high on their priority list but with 21 bedrooms to do it will be quite a task. The plan is to start working on one corridor at a time and this work is due to start before the end of this year.

I do hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future to enjoy the changes to the rooms that the owners have planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston-le-Walls, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We booked a room for the 4 of us, that is for my wife and I, dog and 4 month year old!! The hotel is set in a lovely 10 acres with a public pathway off the edge for further walking so ideal for those keen on a stroll or with dogs or kids who want some exercise.

Beware there is a stream through the garden, being a former Mill, which you will need to supervise your kids with.

Outside their is a lovely terrace to sit on, should the weather be warm enough.

A lot of the hotel is quite old in terms of decor and condition. Our room, was cosy and quite out of date. It was fit for purpose for needs a new bathroom suite as it has ingrained dirt and seemed to be on its last legs. The shower was a dribble at best.

A cot was provided and we found a suitable corner for our dog. The room was boiling and we turned off all the radiators when we arrived. Their is no sound insulation as at night I could hear the someone snoring above us and also whenever they went to the toilet we could hear everything! I guess they could hear our baby crying as well....

The restaurant is quite dated, but the lounge and bar are not and have been renovated well and this is where we based ourselves. Dogs are allowed everywhere except the restaurant which was great.

The food was good and the added extras of chocolates or cookies were much appreciated. For breakfast they put us in the bar, despite having to get it ready for lunch was appreciated so our dog could join us too.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

All in all, if they refurbish the rooms and restaurant, when they have the finances it will go from good to excellent.

It was amazing value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review the Mill House. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you mention, we have refurbished the bar & lounge area already and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed using these spaces. The restaurant & the rooms (including bathrooms) are most certainly the next on the agenda but as you can imagine, to refurbish the rooms will take some time. We plan to do one corridor at a time.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future so you can see the further improvements we have planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and i stayed over 4 nights at this hotel.
The food was excellent and the staff very friendly.
The only let down was the Room felt was a little dated we also had a problem that staff
would come out to have a smoke and it would waft up into our room so most of the time we
had to keep the window closed, also had problems with clicking radiators at night...
I would recommend this hotel for the excellent food and friendly atmosphere and if the
other problems are addressed it would be perfect break.

Room Tip: avoid room 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mivvie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of the Mill House. I'm really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food during your stay and felt the atmosphere was friendly.
As you may have read on previous posts, we are aware that the bedrooms need refurbishing and this is the area we plan to do next. The new owners took over at the hotel almost 12 months ago and they have made significant improvements to the public areas and intend to start the refurbishment of the bedrooms one corridor at a time.
I am sorry to hear that you were affected by the smell of cigarette smoke in your room. It is helpful for us to know these things and we will look in to how we can prevent this happening in the future.
I do hope you will come and stay with us again in the future to see the further improvements planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingham
6.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,074 reviews
4.3 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
961 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
198 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
328 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Hotel

Property: Mill House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House Hotel is one of the last independent family owned hotels in the Cotswolds. Nestling in 10 acres of lawned gardens this converted flour mill is steeped in history dating back to the Domesday Book of 1086. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel And Restaurant
Mill Hotel Kingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing