We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Mill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Kingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Enjoyed 2 night stay. Food was excellent as were the very friendly staff and owners. Outside area is perfect for leisurely lunch. Rooms very warm due to hot spell and perhaps would have benefitted from a few extra fans being made available. However, this did not detract from the excellent stay.

Room Tip: Room 9. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunkofin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review of our Hotel. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. This warm spell of weather has certainly come as a bit of a shock, especially when trying to sleep in the evenings.
We have purchased some new fans so have plenty to provide people to use in their rooms to help make sleeping more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    131
    48
    27
    26
See reviews for
79
243
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely hotel set in beautiful grounds. We noted that dogs were allowed in certain areas. Their owners dined either in the bar or on the terrace. This was fine with us - but unfortunately we noted one owner let their black labrador gallop around unwatched - and did not 'pick up' after it. There's always someone to spoil things, it seems!

Food was very good and presentation was exceptional. The staff were friendly and accommodating.

Clearly a great deal of effort and money has been expended on the hotel recently. There's a long way to go to bring the rooms up to a higher standard, but hopefully that will happen in time. This visit took place on what were the hottest days of the year - and we suffered somewhat in our room which had only one opening window and no air-conditioning. We shall be visiting again hopefully later in the year when this is not likely to be a problem!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revilo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of the Mill House. I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are indeed a dog friendly hotel, and are very fortunate to have our extensive grounds for the dogs to exercise in. I'm sorry to hear of someone not picking up after their dog. This isn't something we have had problems with in the past so very much an isolated incident thank goodness.
This long stretch of beautiful summer weather has been somewhat of a shock to the system, especially in the evenings when trying to sleep!
We do have some fans which we can offer to try and cool the air a bit, however it has been a very warm past few weeks indeed.
We look forward to welcoming you back again later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We've just returned from a 1-night break in the Cotswolds staying at this super smallish hotel. (22 rooms I think?). Kingham is a typical lovely Cotswold village and ideally placed for touring the area.

It is clear that much work has already been done to upgrade the property and an on-going programme is in place in particular to improve the bathrooms. The setting is beautiful with large areas of open grounds surrounding the property to explore. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the patio/grounds outside the bar and outside dining area which was ok. On a slightly negative point as the weather was beautiful the noise from the evening diners/drinkers was a bit annoying but not too loud and as soon as the bar closed was very quiet and a good nights sleep was achieved.

Food was excellent, good choice, value and well presented/served. Breakfast was available until 10am which was great if you fancied a bit on a lay in. The whole attitude of the management and staff was very friendly and efficient with nothing being too much trouble.

We would highly recommend the Mill House for a stay in the Cotswolds, but would suggest you request a room not overlooking the patio area. Not sure if there were any function rooms, but the venue itself would work well for wedding receptions

Mike S & Justine W

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking the main patio/outside dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review of the Mill House. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have just replied to another post mentioning the rooms overlooking the patio area. It is a matter that we are taking very seriously and looking how we can improve this for our guests going forward. As we are having such a long beautiful stretch of summer weather we have noticed an increased number of people dining Al Fresco, which is lovely to be able to do but we are conscious of keeping noise levels to a minimum for our guests comfort. I'm glad to hear that as soon as the bar closed it was no longer a problem.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mill House again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a beautiful little hotel on lovely grounds. Our room (#3) was spacious and comfortable, if a bit warm. Too late, I realized it overlooked the patio where people were dining outside. Since it was mid-afternoon, the noise was minimal and I thought little of it. We enjoyed a delightful cream tea outside ourselves. We returned to the room to rest before dinner and woke to a totally different scene. Our peaceful country inn was full of people on the patio and in the yard. So many people and screaming children that we could not enjoy a dinner outside and had to eat in a warm and stuffy dining room. Unfortunately, the partying outside went on until quite late in the evening and we needed earplugs to sleep. Hotel staff never inquired or apologized for our experience. Food was good, staff was okay, property is beautiful but not the idyllic stay in the country I was hoping for.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Very many thanks for taking the time to leave a review about the Mill House. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us in most part.
I'm very sorry to hear of the disturbance you had from people outside on our patio area in he evening.
It is fairly rare to have such a long period of beautiful summer weather, therefore, people have certainly been making the most of Al Fresco Dining this summer.
We are grateful for you pointing this out as it is something that we are taking very seriously and looking into how we can prevent this happening in the future. Room 3 is a lovely room so it would be a shame if people started to avoid it for this reason.
We certainly want guests to feel well rested after a stay at the Mill House, so please accept my apologies that this wasn't the case for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A lovely little hotel in a beautiful location. Food was first class. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room was comfortable and quiet but got very hot in the evening due to it being west facing. However, the hotel provided us with a couple of fans which helped.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review of the Mill House. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, this hot weather is certainly a shock to the system. I'm glad that providing the fans helped to cool your room down a little for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed on business for 2 nights at this beautiful country hotel and found every aspect of Mill House to be excellent. My room was very pleasant; the public rooms very attractive, the grounds superb and the food excellent but what made it for me was the excellent, friendly and motivated staff all ably managed by the owners Paul and Maria. I understand from local people that Paul and Maria have transformed what was a second rate experience to a first-class one - well done and many thanks for making my stay so comfortable.

Denis Noel-Smith

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Paul and Maria have worked incredibly hard since taking control, and have managed to bring out the potential of The Mill House to great effect - the outside looks so much more inviting, the staff have smiles on their faces and presentaion of food is top class!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HalAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful review of the Mill House. I'm really glad you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingham
4.3 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
963 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,426 reviews
6.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
551 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
333 reviews
6.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Hotel

Property: Mill House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House Hotel is one of the last independent family owned hotels in the Cotswolds. Nestling in 10 acres of lawned gardens this converted flour mill is steeped in history dating back to the Domesday Book of 1086. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel And Restaurant
Mill Hotel Kingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing