We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheer Relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Kingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sheer Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I have stayed for 2 nights at Mill House and found it to be an absolute gem in the Cotswolds area. The staff are very friendly, warm and welcoming. Our room was spotlessly clean, OK maybe a little dated in decor but it certainly did nothing to detract away from a very happy stay. The bed was extremely comfortable and the food in the restaurant beautifuuly cooked and presented. The cooked breakfast was in our opinion one of the best we have had in a hotel - so fresh and piping hot. We were down visiting friends so this was the ideal location to meet for a drink and catch up. We would definitely recommend anyone to book in here if youre wanting good old fashioned hospitality, great food and excellent location you can't look past the Mill House.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CountryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Mill House. I am so pleased that you had such a relaxing stay with us. We are currently working on refurbishment of the bedrooms and we do hope you will come back and stay with us again to see the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    122
    46
    25
    26
See reviews for
76
231
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have just stayed here on a three night winter warmer offer, we were attracted to Mill House by the reviews on this web site together with the special seasonal offer. On checking into Mill House we were disapointed with the condition of the bed room and especially the ensuite bathroom. We had paid for a superior room and it was certainly of a good size and clean, however, it was very tired and didn't include things like bath robes or face tissues for the ladies, in fact apart from the cookies in the jar the rooms are basic. The bathroom was very tired with taps encrusted with the calcium from the hard water, plugs that wouldn't retain the water in the basins for too long and lighting that was difficult to shave with let alone for the wife to put her makeup on!
The current owners have only just completed the purchase of Mill House in the last two weeks and have already started by refurbing the downstairs ladies toilets. Having spoken to one of the owners she confirmed that the bedrooms and bathrooms are programmed to be completely refurbished during January and February 2013. This will be their "quiet period" as the bathrooms especially need a complete strip out and re-configuration. The potential for Mill House is huge, it is set in 10 acres of grounds with a small stream running through it, the setting for a wedding venue would be hard to beat when all their plans are completed. The one big plus here is the food, amazing is a word that seems to be used a lot these days, but it certainly applies to the food that we had during our stay. The choice at breakfast was everything you could think of from cereals, pastries, dried fruit, nuts, figs, prunes, sun flower seeds, cranberries to the cooked including porridge with cream, bacon, eggs, smoked fish, sausages, mushrooms toast tea or coffee. That list is not complete by any means, the staff that serve and wait in Mill House are delightful and are attentive without being "obvious". The dinner menu was also good for me, a choice of several tasty starters followed by the choice of mains including beef, hake, monk fish, liver etc. My wife would have appreciated a vegetarian menu but was happy with the fish choices for our short stay. The location of Mill House is very handy for Stow on the Wold, Blenheim Palace and the other villages like the Slaughters around that area. Would I stay here again, yes, but after the refurbishment programme. We wish the new owners all the luck in their new venture in getting Mill House back to the condition that it should be.

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist for her advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Howie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are very grateful for any feedback that we can use to make improvements. As you mention, the refurbishments are now well underway and the work on the bathrooms will begin in the new year.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant so much. Our restaurant is indeed something we are quite proud of so it is great to hear such postive feedback.
We do hope that you will come and stay with us again in the future and see the wonderful improvements that are planned for the Mill House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a charming rural hotel. There is a nice stream running in the yard. Very nice grounds of the hotel, cozy lounge in rural style, very tasty food in the restaurant downstairs. Rooms are basic, but beautiful. There are tea and coffee making facilities with extra bonus - cookies in the jar! There was no mini bar, no bathrobe or slippers. Towels are big and nice. Everything very clean. Nice smelling toiletries with funny duck. Shower works fine. Radiator works good, but very noisy, so I had to turn it off in the middle of the night (room 11). It might be problem in winter time. By the way, there are different rooms that are sold on the same price. So I guess, you can ask the receptionist to show you few rooms during check in. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very reach in options and very healthy - lots of fruits and nuts! Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: I liked the red room. Mine was number 11. Number 12 is a white one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kira_UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Many thanks for your glowing review of the Mill House. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was very kind of you to list the individual parts of your stay that you most enjoyed. I will ask maintenance to look at the radiator in room 11, thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stumbled across the delightful spot while drifting around the Cotswolds. We stopped for a very good lunch, 3 course meal for 10 pounds!! Service exemplary and staff friendly.

Plan to return someday and stay for bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeboivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words about your dining experience at the Mill House. Our 2 courses for £10 offer is extremely popular. I'm really glad you enjoyed it.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mill House for an overnight stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked here on a dinner, bed and breakfast break for two nights. The staff are really friendly and made sure that we had everything we needed. The food was absolutely gorgeous; a really high standard especially considering it was included within the price of our stay. A lot of the comments on here have mentioned the old fashioned/dated rooms but we are in our twenties and thought our room was lovely, it was in keeping with the character of the building and really clean so we were perfectly happy with it. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review about the Mill House Hotel. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We only had lunch but stayed 3 hours because it was so relaxing and felt as if we were on holiday. Took the 2 courses for £10 option and the food was to die for. Tomato and basil soup followed by twice backed cheese soufflé and liver and bacon. Told by the new owner that the hotel is due to be refurbished but the restaurant will not be closing. Great news, new favourite.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Zzzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Many thanks for your review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch stop with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

we arrived and had an enjoyable afternoon tea. the rooms are in need of updating but we belive these are under way. The evening meal and breakfast was of good quality.The location is good to travel around the local area.The only bad point was our toilet got blocked and we repoted it and upon our return a lot later on was not fixed we were given no other option of rooms this was not a good point of our stay,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. The refurbishment of our bedrooms is underway as you mention. Unfortunately the blocked toilet incident occured after our maintenance man had gone home for the day. I believe it was in the evening. We were fully booked that night so unfortunately it wasn't possible to move you to another room. I'm sorry for any inconvenience this caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingham
6.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
4.3 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#3 of 7 in Chipping Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#1 of 1 in Shipton under Wychwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Hotel

Property: Mill House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House Hotel is one of the last independent family owned hotels in the Cotswolds. Nestling in 10 acres of lawned gardens this converted flour mill is steeped in history dating back to the Domesday Book of 1086. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Mill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel And Restaurant
Mill Hotel Kingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing