We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, friendly, tasty and charming”
Review of Mill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Kingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Cozy, friendly, tasty and charming”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a charming rural hotel. There is a nice stream running in the yard. Very nice grounds of the hotel, cozy lounge in rural style, very tasty food in the restaurant downstairs. Rooms are basic, but beautiful. There are tea and coffee making facilities with extra bonus - cookies in the jar! There was no mini bar, no bathrobe or slippers. Towels are big and nice. Everything very clean. Nice smelling toiletries with funny duck. Shower works fine. Radiator works good, but very noisy, so I had to turn it off in the middle of the night (room 11). It might be problem in winter time. By the way, there are different rooms that are sold on the same price. So I guess, you can ask the receptionist to show you few rooms during check in. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very reach in options and very healthy - lots of fruits and nuts! Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: I liked the red room. Mine was number 11. Number 12 is a white one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kira_UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Many thanks for your glowing review of the Mill House. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was very kind of you to list the individual parts of your stay that you most enjoyed. I will ask maintenance to look at the radiator in room 11, thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    128
    48
    27
    26
See reviews for
79
241
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stumbled across the delightful spot while drifting around the Cotswolds. We stopped for a very good lunch, 3 course meal for 10 pounds!! Service exemplary and staff friendly.

Plan to return someday and stay for bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeboivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky L, Marketing Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words about your dining experience at the Mill House. Our 2 courses for £10 offer is extremely popular. I'm really glad you enjoyed it.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mill House for an overnight stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We booked here on a dinner, bed and breakfast break for two nights. The staff are really friendly and made sure that we had everything we needed. The food was absolutely gorgeous; a really high standard especially considering it was included within the price of our stay. A lot of the comments on here have mentioned the old fashioned/dated rooms but we are in our twenties and thought our room was lovely, it was in keeping with the character of the building and really clean so we were perfectly happy with it. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review about the Mill House Hotel. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We only had lunch but stayed 3 hours because it was so relaxing and felt as if we were on holiday. Took the 2 courses for £10 option and the food was to die for. Tomato and basil soup followed by twice backed cheese soufflé and liver and bacon. Told by the new owner that the hotel is due to be refurbished but the restaurant will not be closing. Great news, new favourite.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Zzzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Many thanks for your review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch stop with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

we arrived and had an enjoyable afternoon tea. the rooms are in need of updating but we belive these are under way. The evening meal and breakfast was of good quality.The location is good to travel around the local area.The only bad point was our toilet got blocked and we repoted it and upon our return a lot later on was not fixed we were given no other option of rooms this was not a good point of our stay,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant. The refurbishment of our bedrooms is underway as you mention. Unfortunately the blocked toilet incident occured after our maintenance man had gone home for the day. I believe it was in the evening. We were fully booked that night so unfortunately it wasn't possible to move you to another room. I'm sorry for any inconvenience this caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Mill House and all three couples in our party were very happy with the whole experience. The food was excellent, starting with the delicious warm home-baked scones we had for afternoon tea on arrival. The dinner was of a very high standard and beautifully presented and there is a choice of bar meals or restaurant menu, both of which offered a good range. The high standard was kept up at breakfast, with each order being being freshly
prepared.
This hotel would not appeal to guests wanting very modern, minimalist decor and the very latest bathrooms as it is an old building, being a converted mill house. Despite some creaky floorboards, we found the bedrooms warm and comfortable with large beds and perfectly acceptable bathrooms.
The staff are all extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with. We certainly
would recommend this hotel and hope to return ourselves sometime soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Many thanks for your glowing review of the Mill House - it is much appreciated. I am really pleased to hear that you (and the members of the group you travelled with) enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope you will be back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is an excellent location for seeing the Cotswolds. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and everywhere was green and lush. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming which was nice. We had Dinner in the Restaurant the dishes were beautifully presented and to a gourmet standard well done to the chef. The only downside food wise were the scones we had with the cream tea. They were quite large and probably because of this were under cooked, doughy and wet underneath. The room we were in was a good size but very shabby. There were NO bedside lights just wall lights halfway up the wall consequently reading in bed was not easy because the lighting was so dim. The headboards were very loose and creaked and groaned loudly when you moved about which made for somewhat disturbed sleep. The bathroom had a towel rail that was pulling out of the wall and at one point fell off towels and all. The rooms were spotlessly clean. A note on the garden there is an awful lot of bindweed which is smothering and killing the shrubs around the building especially the back. This is such a shame as establishing a good garden does take time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millhousesales, Owner at Mill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Many thanks for your review. I'm very glad that you enjoyed the most part of your stay at the Mill House. The hotel will be under new ownership as from 31st October and all the bedrooms are being refurbished. Thank you for your comments, which we will take into consideration when working on the bedrooms. Good lighting from a lamp to enable reading in bed is very important.

I will pass on the comments to Chef about the scones, I am sorry to hear that they weren't to the usual high standard, they are usually very well received.

Finally, I will speak with our Gardener regarding the bindweed, thank you for pointing this out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingham
6.4 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,074 reviews
4.3 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
961 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
198 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
328 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Hotel

Property: Mill House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House Hotel is one of the last independent family owned hotels in the Cotswolds. Nestling in 10 acres of lawned gardens this converted flour mill is steeped in history dating back to the Domesday Book of 1086. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel And Restaurant
Mill Hotel Kingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing