We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mill House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Crown and Cushion Hotel(Chipping Norton)
$99
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lamb Inn(Shipton under Wychwood)(Great Value!)
$168
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
$157
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stow Lodge Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa(Stow-on-the-Wold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stag Lodge(Stow-on-the-Wold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Old Stocks Inn(Stow-on-the-Wold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosse Manor Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Unicorn Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveler rating
256
131
49
27
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
131
49
27
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownerscream tealovely hotelthe ground floorbar areabeautiful groundscooked breakfastexcellent foodset menulooked lovelywinter breaklovely settinghigh standardboth nightspeaceful locationlog fireexploring the cotswolds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 489 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2007

We stayed for two nights in a superior room, which, I gather means a single bed can be fitted in for a child, how!! The room was very outdated and the bathroom was really not very pleasant there was black damp mould in the bathroom between the cistern and toilet bowl and there was a faint smell of stale urine which we did not like.

The hotel has the potential to be good but really needs a refurbishment to bring it up to date. The staff were excellent especially the waiting staff, the food was good but we wouldn't want to stop for more than two days as the menu was always the same with no daily specials offered.

We did mention that we were not impressed with the black mould and smell in the bathroom when we checked out but the only response was we will make sure a cleaner sorts it out. We said it would take more than a cleaner to sort as it really could do with a refurbishment, but the receptionist only shrugged!
We paid and went home - we will not be back.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DominoSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2007

We stayed here on a Saturday night while driving round the Cotswolds looking for a wedding venue. The idea was to stay somewhere nice and have a quality meal. Quite a lot of hotels in the Cotswolds won’t allow just a one night stay at a weekend, so we settled for the Mil House because they would and the place looked very nice on the website. I noted some comments on here about uncomfortable beds – but I thought they couldn’t be any worse than say a travelinn – how wrong I was!

First of all, the photography on their website is very good. They have chosen some very clever angles and close-ups that in my opinion make the place look much nicer and more modern than it really is. They also show much nicer bedding and curtains that our room had.

Our room was on the ground floor and was basically old, grotty and smelled stale. The bed was absolutely awful. The bedding was about 10 years old and it was unbelievably uncomfortable. The bathroom wasn’t much better and the hairdryer fell apart when you picked up the nozzle.

We took one look at the restaurant menu and cancelled the reservation. It was described as “A La Carte” – but was actually a fixed price for three courses. They desperately need a visit from Gordon Ramsey to explain that a gourmet menu really doesn’t need to be so complicated. They had some of the most unappetizing combinations I’ve seen in a while. Instead we had a lovely meal at a little gourmet pub just down the road (sorry don’t remember the name but they had a very nice dog called Guinness!).

Overall this is a typical overpriced Cotswolds hotel that’s tired and worn down. Luckily we’ve found some much better places to get married in!

Stayed: December 2007
Thank rlpb13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

This hotel is situated in a lovely village in the heart of the cotswolds.First impressions are positive well laid out and kept grounds by a fast running stream.Check in was effecient and friendly and our dogs welcomed.Superior room suprisingly spacious,nice view with a very comfortable king size bed.Bathroom could use a makeover however and loose flush on the toilet an unnecessary irritant.
The hotel was full for the weekend and the restaurant struggled to keep up.Service was very willing but the combination of guests and non residents on the saturday led to frustrating delays.
Cooking overall pretty accomplished ,canapes, chefs amuse and starters spot on(great fishcake) but some erratic delivery in main course (perhaps due to pressue at the busy time).A main course of red mullet was very fresh and well cooked but was spoiled by being placed on a base of pea ,broad bean and saffron potato that had clearly been sitting around for a while and had lost its texture.Nice range of English cheese and fluffy souffle for desert.
Reasonable choice of wine and not over priced.
Similar stress on the kitchen was evident at breakfast but buffet OK.

Overall a positive experience but this hotel could be very good with a little money spent on bathrooms and management sorting the bottlenecks in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank second row
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

We stayed there for 1 night whilst we were visitng friends and family. I rang the hotel direct and they had availablilty but a standard room was expensive so I did a websearch and booked though a website and got a "luxury" room for a cheaper price than the hotel quoted for a standard room!! Would have loved to have seen a standard room to compare quality.
The hotel is very picturesque from the outside with lovely gardens and a river running by it.
However the rooms themselves are quite tired and dated, very clean but very "chintzy" and what you would expect from a country hotel. If flowery patterns are your thing then this is for you.
We did not eat there in the evening so I can not comment on the dinner menu, we did have breakfast the following morning which was very nice, I can recommend the smoked haddock and poached egg, however the waiting on staff did not speak great english and the service was little slow.
We ate out in Stow on the night of our stay and were advised that taxis were very difficult to arrange, however I asked the receptionist who advised she would do what she could and by the time we walked up to our room the phone was ringing and it was booked, she was very helpful indeed.
I would go back again and would recomend the hotel

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2007

I'm afraid we don't agree with most of the reviews on trip advisor, particularly regarding the food. Having read the reviews we didn't expect the rooms to be great but we moved within half an hour of being allocated our room due to the paper thin walls which allowed us to overhear the people next door. The second room had no heating in the bathroom as both the radiator and the towel rail were not workng. Both rooms and the hotel as a whole were not as clean as they could be. There was definitely no attention to detail as far as the cleaning was concerned. The meal we had was very average indeed considering the reviews given by The Good Food Guide and the AA rosettes it has. They have a new chef since January who clearly does not have the same skill as the old one.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j.fordham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillHouseHotel, General Manager at Mill House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2007

Whilst we would never comment on the content or style of a review such as that submitted by Mr and Mrs Fordham we would like to correct their factual error. Our Head Chef and his brigade have been in place for the past 18 months during which time they have retained our two AA Rosettes. No changes have been made or are planned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews