We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mill House Did It Again See You Soon”
Review of Mill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mill House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Kingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Another welcoming stay at one of our favourite hotels, 4 nights of comfort, great food, good atmosphere and wonderful surroundings. Thank you Gerald & Fidelma

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Mill House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 485 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for easy access to the Harvest Festival and it is very close. The Hotel from the outside looks beautiful but the rooms we were allocated were extremely dated and not that clean. They had lost my booking and only once I had provided copy of my receipt did we get a room. The hotel provided to z beds which were both set up but when my four year old and six year old got into them they collapsed. All in all very disappointing and the worse hotel I have stayed for a long time. The website does not reflect the room that my friends or my family stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maggie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed here with a group of friedns and have to say we had quite a nice time apart from one point - our room STANK of sewage. We complained and nothing was done about it. We were told to write to the manager of the hotel - whihc i did. But no response at all. Talk about awful awful service. Shame becasue it actually wasn't too bad otherwise.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank suzic128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Grounds & Building itself are stunning. This is where the good expereience ends.This was sold to us as a Boutique Hotel on a Red Letter experience. What a joke!
The latte I ordered on arrival, was not a Latte - it was disgusting. This should have been a sign of things to come.
My Husband ordered a Ham Sandwich at lunchtime, the bread was just simply 2 slices & was stale, in fact turning up at the edges. He sent this back. How can a Hotel serve this up & charge £6.50 for it? My Ciabatta was stale at the edges too.
- Our Room was most disappointing [Room 19 on Ground Floor]:
- Broken window latch - it had been broken with some force, by the look of it & felt very unsecure
- 6 hairs in the Shower area & 1 bug, none of which had arrived with ourselves
- Dirty carpet & walls in the room itself, a bag of rubish had been left behind the TV & half a smoked ciggarette was left in a drawer
- Really poor Decor & facillities with again 2 beds pushed together, as per previous review.
- The Sewerage smell in the Bathroom was horrific & was there constantly, despite the weather not being very warm at the end of August.
- TV had no signal
- Only 1 draght lager available, no Bitter - so Bar choice Very limited
- Staff were not particularly bothered & the Owner could not be bothered to come out to speak to us when we finally complianed. He was on a very urgent Phone call.
- Overall a grubby, stale outdated venue on every level. How they are still in business is quite beyond us! We empathise with other unsatisfied visitors.
- We did not have our evening meal there. We went to the Toll Gate Inn, up the road, which was stunning Food & Atmosphere, they had rooms too & wished we had stayed there instead! We would go back to the Toll Gate Inn!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie_a_011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Booked two night special offer break, offering champagne and strawberries on arrival which were never offered or received. Room was clean but small and not what you would expect for a superior room. The room did not even have a double bed, but two singles pushed together, obviously not the most comfortable. The bathroom was very poor and in need of a complete refurbishment. After complaining to reception, I was advised that they were aware of the state of the bathroom as someone had only complained about it the previous week! The food was ok but not enough of it and the evening menu was limited for choice, the same on both nights. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is well situated for exploring the Coltswolds.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Passing through the Cotswolds today we came across this delightful hotel and had a really excellent luch! It was served in a comfortable olde-worlde bar by a charming young man, and the food was really delicious. Modern English, high quality served on contemporary plates. Fantastic value, our two course lunch was £10 per head; we were too full for a third course. The whole bill for two of us with drinks and coffee (including a tiny strawberry smoothie and truffle) was just over £30. We must go back next time we're in the area!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Ms_Moggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Arrived early and was greeted straight away by members if staff we started with tea in the lounge area which arrived swiftly. We had our orders taken and shown to our table. The starters came and were presented beautifully, can recommend the carrot soup. The main course for the price was a steal, we had the pork which melted in your mouth, very tasty with fresh crunchy side vegetables. As we were celebrating a birthday the waiter brought to the table a present which was delivered impeccably to plan. We only ate there so cannot comment on the rooms however when asked about the rooms were offered by the manager a viewing which we took up, they looked lovely, clean and spacious. All in all a fantastic time spent celebrating a 40th birthday ! Thankyou

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingham
7.0 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
731 reviews
4.3 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
969 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
348 reviews
6.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
8.4 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Kingham OX7 6UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kingham
Price Range: $186 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill House Hotel is one of the last independent family owned hotels in the Cotswolds. Nestling in 10 acres of lawned gardens this converted flour mill is steeped in history dating back to the Domesday Book of 1086. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Hotel And Restaurant
Mill Hotel Kingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing