We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting for a proposal”
Review of Bluewood Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluewood Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for a proposal”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a lovely weekend at Bluewood Lodges, we booked a Cupids lodge and it was decorated beautifully with all the essential amenities, loved the layout and made full use of the hot tub especially when my boyfriend proposed to me in it, was perfect! Bluewood is well worth booking if you want a quiet and relaxing weekend away, would defiantly recommend and hope to return again in the future.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vics C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you we loved your review, did you say Yes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    92
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
98
272
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Myself and my husband spent our honeymoon at Bluewood lodges last October. We stayed in Cupids Lodge and it was perfect. The hot tub was great and it was a lovely relaxing 7 days. I made hubbie go for a walk...word of advice..stick to the road as we tried to follow a trail and ended up knee high in water wading through fields lost as anything and ended up having to walk through someones farm to get back to civilisation! I thought we were going to get divorced before we'd been a week married!! Everywhere around was amazing for food and the people so friendly. Will definietly try to go back again...maybe minus any country rambles!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you are still happily married, your review made us all smile and caused a debate between staff members as to who was reading the map!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Visited bluewood at the end of may and stayed in the norton lodge ...lodge was lovely and clean and we had a great weekend. The only thing I would say is the lodges are quite close together .. We had a lodge in the outer ring which was fab but if we would have been in the inner ring it wouldn't have been as good....hot tubs need screening around them and looking at other reviews the park is starting to do this but they had not done it on our lodge...this I feel is a must due the close proximity of other lodges.....having said that we had a great weekend and wouldn't hesitate to return

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevviecheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, yes we are listening to our guests and screening where necessary, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a lovely time here. Helped by the glorious weather we had. Stayed here in 2 lodges with a group of friends.
Plenty of space. Staff were helpful but not in your face. The decor was nice. Lodges were clean and comfortable.
Would have been bnice to have a slightly larger bed in the double room, it was quite a small double. Never the less, had an excellent holiday here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reporter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at cupids lodge for 3 nights, the pretty park was easy to find an in a great location. The lodge was clean an beautifully decorated :D you couldn't have asked for more.
We visited daylesford farm, kiftsgate court, stow, bourton on the water, an bicester shopping village. There is so much to do an even just driving around the area, it was just so pretty.
We had a takeaway on our last night which was lovely from cafe le raj an delivered easily and quickly.
The sauna, jacuzzi & hottub were great an we found the bed an pillows really comfy.
We wish we were still there!

Only tiny criticism was despite the filter the kettle could do with delimescaling (But that's just me being fussy)

Our lodge, and weekend was really amazing and we would definitely recommend and return.

Thankyou for a lovely weekend!
<3

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steflovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
<3 Thank you both <3 X X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Four of us stayed in a Kingham Lodge. There was plenty of room, it was spotlessly clean, beds were comfy, the hot tub was excellent. It is a lovely site and very well kept. The only criticism - the welcome pack was a bit poor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outer rim of the site as they have better views and a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrightndFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Sorry ladies about the welcome pack, we will do our best to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed in the cupid lodge which was lovely and as expected. Nice private hot tub, bath room with jet bath and walk in shower was great. Kitchen facilities were very good. Would recommend to others. Thank Mr & Mrs Munson

Room Tip: If you want private and good view combined with luxury Cupid lodge is the one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you very much Mr and Mrs Munson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingham
4.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
14.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewood Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewood Lodges

Property: Bluewood Lodges
Address: B4450, Kingham OX7 6UJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluewood Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluewood Lodges is superbly located near to the picture postcard traditional Cotswold village of Kingham. Nestled in a beautiful small bluebell wood in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, the lodges offer visitors a tranquil escape from the hustle and bustle of modern day living and the perfect base for exploring the many charms the idyllic Cotswolds have to offer. Relax on the deck of your own luxury lodge, take a leisurely walk to the local pub and enjoy great food and drink or venture slightly further a field to the historic market town of Stow on the Wold and popular quaint villages such as Chipping Norton, Moreton-in-Marsh and Bourton on the Water; there’s so much on offer and all conveniently close at hand. Newly opened onsite Tatty Bunting Café, serving Breakfast, Lunch & Afternoon Tea. All Our food is locally Sourced a cooked fresh on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bluewood Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewood Hotel Kingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing