We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!”
Review of Bluewood Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bluewood Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

just returned from a 3 night break at Bluewood lodges, and this was our 2nd time. I will certainly be returning a 3rd. Wonderful location, wonderful lodges with wonderful hot tub. Lodges lovely and clean and has everything you need for a break away. Some beautiful villages to visit although I adore Kingham. The toll gate inn is just lovely with lovely food and wine. Highly recommend this place......wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you, we love reviews that start with wonderful, it genuinely makes our heart lift, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    101
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
104
288
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just back home after a brilliant few days at Bluewood. This was our 3rd time and will certainly be back next year. Everywhere was spotless. The hot tub was fab and relaxing. Our lodge was lovely and warm and we have no complaints. The Cotswolds are my favourite all time place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyshipHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you not only for writing such a lovely review but for coming back three times and choosing to stay with us. We very much appreciate your loyal custom. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was a "girlie" trip away and the first time self catering (we normally stay in a hotel) and cant wait to repeat it. Pretty easy to find but could have better signs - we overshot the entrance - and check in was quick and easy. They were however waiting for us and had phoned asking where we were - be aware, reception is only open from 4pm - 6pm which we were not aware of. Our lodge had a great position - try and get one on the outer rim overlooking the fields and watch the sheep watching you whilst in the hot tub! The lodge was really fab, beautifully kitted out, spotlessly clean and together. Three bedrooms (1 x double, 2 x twin) although the twins were small. Very comfortable beds. Two bathrooms were great for 6 women! Only criticism is that there were very few hooks so nowhere to hang wet towels or dressing gowns. Kitchen was very well supplied and of-course the hot tub is really great (maybe a curfew on the latest time it can be used - another group were having way too much fun after midnight close to our lodge). We did a lovely circular walk to the Kings Head in Bledington - about 4 miles round trip and also Kingham with several pubs is within walking distance. Stow on the Wold and Bourton on the Water are a few minutes drive away. Quite expensive if just booking as a family but was very good value split between 6. Would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the lodges on the outer rim overlooking the fields, not near the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank crabsallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I am glad to hear you girls had a good weekend, we do not ask guests to go in at a certain time because 99.9% of our guests respect the fact that other people are there to relax and unwind and we very, very rarely have complaints about noise, if however we do get complaints we do act on it, usually the noisy guest is unaware they are being loud, the park is so quiet and voices carry. We think if we asked people to be out of the tubs at a certain time it would spoil it for the majority of our guests who quietly and respectfully enjoy them. I hope you girls will be back again and thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our best man treated us to a long weekend break at Bluewood for our 25th wedding anniversary.
The lodge was cold and dark when we arrived. The bathrooms gave off the foulest of smells,best described as a cesspool. The fire in the lounge didn't work, there was a terrible smell of stale, oil fat in the kitchen/open plan area and unfortunately the bed was torturous as the springs could be felt in the mattress and the metal bed frame was so noisy it woke me when turning in the night and the windows in the lounge area were filthy dirty which completely distracted from the glorious sun rise. In fairness when reported they dealt with the smelly bathrooms, but little could be done about the bed and fire. Both of which are essentials in my view. I found the the spiders webs by the front door very uninviting. We were unable to use the hot tube as we felt exposed as it was next to the road linking the park together, with no additional privacy provided by the way of fencing like some of the other lodges.
On the plus the area was so lovely that it forgave the lodge. We will revisit the Cots wolds but not the lodges.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just had a great 4 night break at Bluewood lodges. Great location to get to cotswold attractions. Lodge was spotless and really well kitted out with quality stuff. Hot tub was fab and was a really relaxed break. The local area is amazing with some with lovely villages. Go and enjoy a great chilled holiday, I am sure my family will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Location - Easy to find, good quality driveway (Faweather Grange - Yorkshire take note !) and lodge number 5 highly recommended as it overlooks the fields. Good local restaurant / pubs (Kingham Plough, The King's Head Inn etc). Chipping Norton nearby worth a visit for local shops (inc your standard highstreet shops CoOp, Boots, Sainsburys etc). Indian takeaways nearby deliver for a small charge. Local attractions are also within easy reach.

Lodge - Good quality design and beats the 'norm' for lodge escapes. Excellent design, living areas, sauna, jacuzzi and hot tub. Ideal for couples and romantic breaks. The lodge contains numerous tourist leaflets with the manager more than happy to direct and recommend local facilities. The heating was also of note (especially for those going in winter) as the entire lodge heats ups very quickly !!

Service / Check in - Clear email / phone communications prior to visit with check-in an hour earlier than planned. The reception has chilled wine and beer at a reasonable price which was an added bonus.

A very relaxing break and one which I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
What a great review, we like this one. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for the weekend in a Norton lodge which was really nicely appointed, the decor & standard was exceptionally high with everything needed for a relaxing stay. The hot tub was brilliant and much appreciated after a day out exploring the Cotswolds. Bluewood is ideally situated for Stow, Bourton, Chipping Norton & Oxford. There is also a good choice of pub/restaurants in. Nearby Kingham which is walking distance away via a pleasant walk using a public footpath across a field.
I would strongly recommend this accommodation for a nice relaxing comfortable break.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel C, Owner at Bluewood Lodges, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
5 out of 5 on everything! Thank you very much, you have cheered us all up here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingham
6.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,219 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,080 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,914 reviews
4.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
965 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewood Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewood Lodges

Property: Bluewood Lodges
Address: B4450, Kingham OX7 6UJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Kingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bluewood Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bluewood Lodges is superbly located near to the picture postcard traditional Cotswold village of Kingham. Nestled in a beautiful small bluebell wood in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, the lodges offer visitors a tranquil escape from the hustle and bustle of modern day living and the perfect base for exploring the many charms the idyllic Cotswolds have to offer. Relax on the deck of your own luxury lodge, take a leisurely walk to the local pub and enjoy great food and drink or venture slightly further a field to the historic market town of Stow on the Wold and popular quaint villages such as Chipping Norton, Moreton-in-Marsh and Bourton on the Water; there’s so much on offer and all conveniently close at hand. Newly opened onsite Tatty Bunting Café, serving Breakfast, Lunch & Afternoon Tea. All Our food is locally Sourced a cooked fresh on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bluewood Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluewood Hotel Kingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing